Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Good budget option for the Midnight Sun Marathon

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: Location, Breakfast, Coffee and Tea, Wireless, Staff
Cons: Fit-and-finish, Cleanliness
In short, not a bad hotel to stay in for a relatively big event in a relatively small town. I read other reviews and knew what to expect. I took a calculated risk staying here versus much more expensive options, and I'm happy with my decision. Based on the other reviews, the hotel exceeded my expectations -- none of the known issues (noise, outdatedness, cleanliness) bothered me much at all. I would stay here again and would recommend the hotel to other "value" travelers. Location is excellent, convenient to everything. Staff is friendly, helpful, and professional, and everyone speaks great English. I enjoyed the full Norwegian-style breakfast, and especially the self-service coffee and tea available in the lobby all day long. The wireless connection was strong and fast. The rooms are not the most up-to-date, nor the most clean, but I had no specific concerns or problems. I did experience some isolated faint bass noise from the nightclub downstairs, but only sporadically (certain songs) and not enough to keep me awake. Based on previous reviews, I packed earplugs, just in case, and did not need them. I also did not need the sleeping mask I brought; the curtains were adequate, although it was quite foggy during my stay with no true "midnight sun" (sadly for me!).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, well located and nice enough

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Great location. Breakfast bouffete was absolutely wonderful
Cons: More storage in the room.
Location: Right in the heart of the island, 5 min walking distance to most amenities and collectoon points for the trips
Rooms are really small with not storage space, however we managed. When the room was cleaned, it was at good standards. However one day cleaners turned up at 3 pm while we were having a nap, so we did not have them in. Staff are either really nice and helpful, or a bit rude. The majority being lovely and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Rica Grand Hotel is fantastic, very clean and modern and in a great location. The family room was one of the biggest we have seen and was perfect for our family of four. I recommend a room on the 6th floor to be far enough away from the noise of the nightclub. The only negative comment I have is about the noise of the lift, however the staff are aware of it and turn the lift off at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, dated rooms

Posted Feb 22, 2013
Pros: Location, breakfast
Cons: Broken phone, dated room
Location: Good, in the heart of the town, short walk to everything
Fantasic locaiton, and helpful staff, the buffet breakfast was a highlight. The room was comfortable and spacious but dated. Phone did not work. "Do not disturb" sign was missing and reception staff didn't bother replacing it. Good free wifi internet.
3 out of 5
by Paul from London

Identity Crisis

Posted Feb 6, 2013
Pros: The free wifi was very reliable.
Cons: The extremely loud noise from the nightclub downstairs.
Location: Well located in the centre of town near to a lot of the nearby sights and marina area.
Whilst I enjoyed my stay in this hotel for the most part, it does seem to be suffering from quite a big conflict of identity as to whether it is a hotel or a night club. I stayed from Friday to Monday and got to experience the thumping tunes & vibrations from the hotel nightclub each night. The club is on the 1st floor & my room was on the 5th (out of 6) and even though I had put in a special request to be as away from the noise as possible, I was fully aware that there was a club beneath me each night of my stay by the vibrating walls & floors of my room from the music. The room itself was fairly good with most provisions meeting excellent standards, especially the free wifi which was very reliable & the extremely comfortable bed. It was a shame then that these were let down by the late night party downstairs, which went on to past 3am on Friday & Saturday. The staff were nice always greeting with a hello when coming in and they made me feel welcome. I did feel cheated by finding out that I had been given a room which had been subdivided into 3 tiny rooms (presumably because I was travelling alone) despite paying for a standard room. The room was miniscule and I had to shuffle round the bed and had to try to not knock the tv off the wall as I did so. Having said that, the room was clean and had nice provisions. The check-in & out was straighforward & the hotel is very conveniently located in town. It was generally a good stay if only let down by a few fairly big points.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Martin from Basingstoke

Great Weekend in Tromso

Posted Jan 9, 2013
Pros: Good Breakfast and friendly staff
Cons: Tea and Coffee facilities not available in room, had to go to lobby
Location: Centrally located in the Town
Stayed here when doing the Polar Night Half Marathon. Staff are very friendly and will accommodate most request. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the only slight issue is the tea and coffee (which is free) needs to be collected from the reception area rather than being available in the room. Breakfast was good quality and a decent range of foods available, which did differ slightly each day. Overall a great stay and I would recommend if staying a weekend in Tromso.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Atamer

Nice hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2013
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: Internet connection is slow
Location: Goof location
Where nice hotel with good location. And also amazing breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Colin

Perfect for a long weekend away

Posted Nov 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
The rooms have been recently refurbished, and are equipped to a very good standard. Also large by Norwegian standards. Located at the south of the town centre, it is within easy walking distance of the local attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Close and friendly

Posted Sep 26, 2012 on Hotels.com
Very friendly and helpful staff . Great range of food for Breakfast . Good for vegan travellers . Hope to come back and stay again !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Chris from Sydney Australia

A very convenient well appointed hotel in a great

Posted Jul 20, 2012
Pros: Position and breakfast.
Cons: Initial receptionist, thankfully she disappeared.
Location: In the main street,close to wharf, shops, bus station and museums
We stayed here waiting to join an arctic cruise ship. We had arrived by a Hurtigruten ship.it was in walking distance from the wharf but not as close as this chain's other hotel; poor town planning also occurs in Tromso.A little put off by the receptionist who obviously had a hard day. Her replacement was delightful and we dealt with her the rest of the stay.The breakfast alone justified staying there.Free internet available in reception area and in room.The luggage room was welcome.Free coffee and tea avaialble near reception.Our room was on the sixth floor which had a good view over the port. The service lift seemed to be in constant operation.The down button for the main lift did not work.These were minor matters.Hotel was very conveniently situated.The shower was great.