Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sophie from London, UK

Great hotel and very good location

Posted Mar 16, 2013
Very nice hotel, the staff was efficient and helpful, very good breakfast and location. More international channels would have been nice when we had some heavy snow and couldn't really get out. I would stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good budget hotel

Posted Mar 11, 2013
Budget hotel providing better than budget comfort, service and convenience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from Hertfordshire, UK

Good position with everything you'll need.

Posted Mar 2, 2013
Pros: free internet factilities
Cons: had to stand by the door when using their computer
Location: central and near airport bus stop
Perfectly situated as walkable with case from ferry. Bus stop for airport bus just on the other side of the building. Free hot drinks in lobby and Egon restaurant within the building so no need to go out into cold at night. All good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Christine from Swanley, Kent, UK

Don't plan to arrive on a late flight

Posted Feb 20, 2013
Pros: Good choice at breakfast. Always free warm drinks available. Rooms clean and friendly staff
Cons: Re letting our room, even though we'd already paid for! Rooms a bit too warm at times.
Location: Very well placed in centre of Tromso, walking distance from everything.
Take an early/morning flight if you are staying at this hotel as they relet your room if you are late, for any reason. Tromso airport was shut suddenly due to fog and our flight was diverted to another airport, over two hour coach transfer from Tromso - which meant we didn't arrive at the hotel until the early hours of the morning. The hotel had re-let our room - but they did provide fold up beds in the staff room for us. The room was clean and warm but not a good start to a holiday as we had been travelling for 18hrs,very tired and were unable to unpack or wash properly (no towels provided). The night reception said he would inform all staff we were in there but about 8am we were woken up by a member of staff coming in! Apart from this bad start the hotel is very friendly, clean and warm. The hot drink dispenser in the reception is very good as is the complimentary breakfast in the adjoining restaurant. As a veggie I was a bit concerned about eating in Norway, but the hotels restaurant had enough choice for the six days we were there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Carol from Nottingham, UK

Great hotel for the cost

Posted Feb 19, 2013
Pros: The staff were really friendly, helpful and obliging. Good quality of food and service at breakfast.
Cons: The room was too hot during the night making it difficult to sleep.
Location: Tromso, Norway set in a valley and surrounded by mountains. Great to look at as covered with snow as we were there in February.
The hotel staff were really pleasant to deal with. The room was no different to that in a general hotel. The only issue that occurred was that we found the room too hot during the night even with the temperture gauge turned off. The decor of the restaurant was extremely pleasant. It had a good choice and standard of food. The hotel is in the middle of the busiest street and the restaurant/bar is open to the public and always busy because of the quality. At breakfast time there was always good quality food and service however there was regularly at least an hour wait on food when we ate there in the early evening. The staff were always friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sue from UK

Value fpr money

Posted Feb 3, 2013
Location: excellent location, centre of town
excellent value for money, friendly hotel. Good central location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from London, UK

Great value.

Posted Jan 24, 2013
The Thon Polar is a very good value hotel. The rooms are 'Premier Inn' level, but the breakfast is an outstanding buffet, better than many mid-range business hotels that I have stayed in. The location is ideal, slap in the middle of Tromso.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A great hotel at a good price

Posted Jan 22, 2013
Pros: Comfy beds Restaurant next door without going outside in the cold!
Location: Good location - easy walking distance of many key places within Tromso.
A great hotel at a good price - had everything we needed, and very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Excellent value and great service.

Posted Jan 15, 2013
Location: In the centre of town; easy drop off from the airport bus; near the tourist information; easy to get to all attractions from here.
We booked an offer through expedia and so did not expect any favours. They far exceeded our expectations. I had read trip advisor reviews and sent an e-mail asking for a top floor room facing north - just in case we could see the Northern Lights. Within minutes, I got a reply saying that one was reserved for us. When we got there, the girl on reception gave us a room facing south by mistake. It was a lovely room with possibly the best view in the hotel. However, when I realised it faced south, I asked to be moved. They were very apologetic and moved us immediately. It turns out that Tromso sits in the middle of the N. Lights belt and you are just as likely to see them from the south and so we could have stayed put! However, I could not fault the hotel. Breakfast was lovely and in nice surroundings. The staff could not have been more helpful throughout. Many thanks to all of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by norman from Portsmouth, UK

good location hotel

Posted Dec 12, 2012
Pros: the view, comfortable beds.
Cons: the hot breakfast could have been hotter
Location: excellent location everything within walking distance
hotel was basic but comfortable, clean and ideal for a short stay, good location, breakfast had a good selection with cereals, toast, rolls, cold selection, and hot selection, would stay there again.