Ratings based on 39 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Used hotel as stop over back to UK

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: Standard hotel - large room, clean and tidy
Cons: Room service should be made available
Location: In a national park - dark country roads at night - didn't see much - lovely looking villages
Arrived at hotel about 10pm after a journey up from Italy - country roads from the motorway were very dark and a good drive from the turn off - not surprising given that it's a national park. No room service was available - just one sandwich and one salad left at the bar - ok but not brilliant. The room was without breakfast (a nice extra) - this was a very expensive stay at a hotel which was really just a standard Best Western - nothing spectacular. Didn't have chance to take in the spa or golf facilities so maybe it's all in that.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wonderful place.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
We have arrived in the night, the road is dark but when you arrive to the hotel All the lights were turner on. Nice golf course. Confortable room for 4.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DH

Nice hotel close to Troyes and the nearby lakes

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Ideal stopover destination or for a longer break lots to do - great for families and golf addicts
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sureey, UK

Excellent hotel

Posted Aug 18, 2014
We stopped here for one night to break up the journey from Nice to Surrey. Excellent facilities, staff and service. Highly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Winchester, England

Beware of "family" rooms

Posted Aug 18, 2014
Pros: Well positioned for stopover on the way down. About four hours from the chunnel on pretty empty autoroutes.
Cons: Inclusive breakfast would be nice, as would a less formal option to the pricey (if nice) restaurant evening meals that were on offer when we stayed.
Location: For us, the thing to do nearby was leave...
We booked one-night stays as stop-overs to and from Provence. The hotel is quite well located for that, but worth researching the way from the autoroute in advance, as it's off the beaten track and not well signposted until you're quite close. Being out-of-the-way meant the evening options were a long drive out or the hotel restaurant, which was nice (though frustrating on the Saturday not to find availability until 8.15) but quite pricey when something cheaper and cheerful would have been perhaps more appropriate. The big problem came on the way back, when we turned up to find a "family" room with two double beds - that didn't go down at all well with our teenage sons. The hotel explained that our "booking" for a room with a double and two singles was in fact a "request" and Expedia didn't give them details to contact us to explain that the rooms with two singles were gone. The hotel staff did provide a portable single bed (at no extra cost), which worked OK if leading to intense argument about who got which bed... Having read others' reviews, I was prepared for having to pay extra for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north yorks

Nice hotel with golf course, near leisure lakes.

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Stayed at this hotel many times, always had a good stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Disappointing

Posted Aug 8, 2014
Pros: Room was spacious
Cons: My experience sets out the issyes
We booked through Expedia 2 adults, 2 young children however on arrival were given 2 rooms apart from each other (no family rooms available when we booked) Receptionist insisted it was Expedia's fault as they had advised 4 adults... In any event they couldn't give us 2 rooms next to each other. One room was right next to the vending machine so I had to listen to kids/adults using the machine at all hours of the night... For a "4 star" hotel, why wouldn't they have a mini bar in the room? Room was functional, bath towels were small and very thin - poor quality. Breakfast was a disaster. No bowls for cereal (had to ask), hot food was finished when we arrived at 8.45am and not replenished in the 30 minutes we were there (even though I asked twice), no water (had to ask twice) and worst of all, no coffee!!!! Both coffee machines were out of order - they had both run out of coffee! It took about 4 staff members to work out how to refill the machines and when I questioned why they don't refill them before the breakfast sitting, a rude staff member insisted it was just a busy day (restaurant wasn't full). Not one member apologised to any of the guests in the (long) coffee queue. A total disaster.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cambridge

Good Stay

Posted Aug 6, 2014
We used this hotel and restaurant for an overnight stop while travelling to Switzerland. We were extremely satisfied and enjoyed the forest location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Convenient stop-off on way to Nice from Calais

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Family room. Pool. Location.
Cons: See above - trained restaurant staff and a better clean in the lounge areas.
Location: Not applicable.
We booked a family room at €174 1.60 tax. The hotel is slightly 'faded glory' and lounge furnishings are somewhat worn and dirty. Overall the stay was comfortable, although a bit pricy for what it is. We used the outside pool which was clean, but changing facilities non-existent. The biggest let down was the restaurant - remember Fawlty Towers. The Maitre'd was rearing his hair out as the serving staff appeared clueless. We asked for water, a wine and a beer. The wine only came; then we asked again and 2 beers came at once; we asked again and eventually some water. The cheese plate was dumped in front of me with no bread. I had to ask for some after a wait. We were laughing in the end the service was so poor. Overall this hotel is OK but it needs a general manager to take some pride in the place We are staying there again on our way back to Calais but will not be using the restaurant!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Anne from West Sussex

Excellent stay here

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stayed overnight, not too far from the motorway and lovely location in the forest. Drove past the lake the next day and realised we should have stayed longer, the area is very pretty. Lovely rooms, very clean and comfortable, good meal in the evening, helpful staff. Would stay again.