Ratings based on 211 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Cozy but needs an update

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Cozy feels like some granny's house and the smell too. Needs some update. No double lock. Too pricey. I could get a better hotel for the same price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outdated but cozy.

Posted Mar 7, 2015
Stayed for 2 nights in a lodgete which was outdated but cozy. Had plenty of room for 2 adults and 2 kids.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: The location is close to Truckee and about 1/2 hour from Squaw and Northstar.
Cons: Very tired and needs an update.
Location: Good location, near Truckee and fairly close to ski resorts.
The hotal was like stepping back into the 70's and doesn't look like it's been updated since. It was clean but worn and tired. We were givena room and the noisier street side of the building and tried to upgrade. The desk person was accomodating but the price to upgrade was too steep. You don't get a room key but rather have to use a lengthy code to get into your room...inconvenient! The front desk and access to the building has limited hours so if you need help at 9:00 PM you're out of luck.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Beautiful view

Posted Mar 6, 2015
Pros: The view of donner lake.
Cons: The room was tiny and smelled like urine. The staff was not available to us.
Location: No restaurants near the hotel. There were better hotels near the town.
We planned a four day ski trip but were delayed a day by the airlines. We tried to contact the hotel to alter our stay and add a day. The hotel refused to apply the missed day to our stay and charged us for the night. When we arrived at the hotel on Friday, we asked again if they would consider applying our missed Thursday reservatiion to a Monday night. They said they had to look into it and finally told us on Sunday that they wouldn't help us, so we left for another hotel for our last night. Don't go to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great spot close to skiing

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: Location, in room amenities, price
Booked this mid-week for a weekend trip to North Tahoe. The studio room was perfect for our family--two adults and two kids under 6. The fully equipped kitchenette was a fantastic amenity. We came prepared with our own food so having a fridge and microwave meant less time finding a restaurant and more time skiing. The only drawback was the set of thin double doors that can be opened between adjacent rooms as we could easily hear the noisy family next door. That said, we will definitely stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay, beautiful setting.

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Setting, room accommodations, the kitchenette was wonderful, the bed was great, it was all great
Location: Northstar snowboarding/skiing
The only complaint was our next door neighbors who cooked fish and yelled along with the screaming of their children.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom North California

Clean & comfy hotel right next to the lake

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Clean, A lot of practically amenities in the room, nice view
Cons: No not too much... maybe a slightly bigger room would be nicer if for a family of 4 (like in my case)
Location: Close to the lake and Boreal, Truckee
At first, the holiday season price tag made me already grumpy when I booked the hotel, because I was only expecting something between Residence Inn and a Motel. However this changed more positively every hour while I stayed there (1) the chalk blackboard used for the doors of the closet was a nice welcome gift for my kids (2) first night when my kid locked the bathroom and the staff helped out very kindly (3) the in-room complimentary DVDs and board games was a nice way to make ourselves "at home" (4) and while the kitchen equipments are not necessary lux style, it had all the detail kitchen ware that you might miss at a place away from home. With the beautiful view to the lake and the clean rooms I would definitely recommend the place for others also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on the lakefront 15 min from great skiing

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: Much better than most ski hotels in this price point.
Very accommodating staff. Very good restaurants in the area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great view of Donner Lake

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: Close to the slopes. Comfortable for family.
Room was nice. Included mini fridge and microwave. Pleasant stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Diego

Needs an update quick.

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Furnishings
Location: Donner Lake
Bed, tv, bath and table in room were about 20 years old.