Ratings based on 42 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Remodel nightmare

Posted Jul 2, 2014
This hotel is one of few in the center of town and so has the advantage of location, but we arrived for a wedding and at first had trouble with the toilet and asked to be moved. We were moved into a room that was in the section of the hotel that was being remodeled and so from 9 am until 7 pm there were jackhammers going and dust flying everywhere. You had the choice of staying in the room with the AC on full blast to drown out the sound or venturing out and subjecting your lungs to the dust everywhere. We had 4 different rooms for members of the wedding party and while the front desk did move us, the room we went to was poorer than the original. Although we asked for a reduction in the rate, the front desk staff didn't seem to have the authority to make that happen. All in all, a mediocre stay which could have been smoothed by one of the front desk staff asking if we were happy with the service or the experience and what they could do to make it better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2014 by Flavia Montesinos, Hotel Management
Dear guest: I did not want to leave your review without a response. I very much regret we could not meet your expectations on this stay. We will be ending our remodelation works on August, we sincerely hope to have a second opportunity to offer you the real Libertador experience. Best regards, Flavia Montesinos Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Barbara from Washington DC

Comfortable stay

Posted Jun 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located in the central plaza, so there are plenty of places within easy walking distance. The bed was very comfortable and the courtyard with the pool was very relaxing. My only real complaint was the carpeting. I would assume that it is on their list of renovations, but it was dirty and stained in many places in the hall and the carpeting in my room was in particularly bad shape. It was stained with threads pulled and just laying on top of the carpet. Very unattractive. For the price, I would have expected better. The food in the restaurant was fabulous and the breakfast buffet was incredible with a great variety of fresh fruits, cheeses, breads and others.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Flavia Montesinos, Hotel Management
Dear guest Barbara: Thank you for taking the time to share your comment. We are remodeling the hotel, this includes the carpeting. The remodelation works in rooms will end in two weeks. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best regards, Flavia Montesinos Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cate from Lima

Lovely Hotel located on the Plaza del Armas

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Pros: The inner courtyard was a great place to sit at the end of the day and enjoy a quiet recap of the day.
The Libertador was a great home base for our adventures in Trujillo. The rooms were comfortable and the staff very accommodating. The location provided walking access to the sites of the inner city and some very good restaurants. Although the hotel is presently under renovation, we saw very few signs of the construction and it in no way affected our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel

Posted Jun 6, 2014
Fabulous hotel on a perfect colonial square! The only issue were the renovations that the hotel is currently undergoing (June 2014).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, staff couldnĀ“t be more helpfult

Posted Jun 1, 2014
Pros: location, staff, comfort, food all great
Cons: nothing
Location: city sightseeing--hotel is onmain square where there are many activities and where it is easy to walk to museums
Very positive. Everything was perfect. Staff was very helpful, rooms spacious and well kept up
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Lee R. Chumbley from Seattle, WA, USA

Would Give 6 Stars If I Could

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location is across from the Plaza, large Statue and polished concrete all over the park.The room was to die for. It was large, totally stocked with drink, both alcohol and non-alcohol. The food was top notched, not to mention the pool and the coujrtyard. I will be staying there on my next trip to Trijillo, no doubt. There are not enough adjectives to describe the holel and grounds. We highly recommend the hotel!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Toronto, Ontario

Good hotel located on main square

Posted May 9, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, great location.
Cons: Hotel rooms are good, clean, comfortable but one half of the hotel was being renovated while we were there.
Good stay at this historic hotel that is currently being renovated. Renovations will boost the comfort and aesthetics of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Leslie from Danvers, MA.

great location

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved this hotel. Our window loooked out onto the beautiful Plaza de Armas. The staff was kind and very attentive. They were doing construction inside the hotel, which could have been disruptive. Aside from a little bit of construction dust in the hallway, the construction was barely noticeable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Wendy from Boston

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location! Helpful staff!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Juan from Lima

Confortable stay

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Free pisco sour
Cons: More types of drinks into the bar and many types of dishes into the restaurant
Location: In the main square of Trujillo, near the catedral, and many historic colonial monuments of the city
Pleasant stay, a good experience in my trip to Trujillo
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2014 by Flavia Montesinos, Hotel Management
Thank you Mr. Juan for your comment on Expedia. Best regards,