Ratings based on 251 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from colorado

Beautiful property. Great commons areas and views.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Have stayed here many times. Only problem was we booked a balcony room and none were available when we checked in. We live the salud patio.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from orange county CA

Great hotel near city but feels like countryside

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Lovely hotel. Great setting. Beds comfortable. Very relaxing. Wonderful buffet breakfast. Staff very willing to please.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Excellent for families Will be staying here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Amenities

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The lazy river in the kids pool area was actually pretty nice. I don't know why the slide was closed.
Cons: Scrap the internet fees and the fee for parking so far away.
Location: It was a little far from the highway, so you should definitely rent a car if you are staying here. But the trail hiking right by the hotel is nice.
I liked the hotel and its pool, staff, trail hike, flavored waters, etc. You did feel a little nickel & dimed in that they made you pay a "resort activity fee" of another $30 per day. That covered your internet and self parking (which was pretty far away.)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Pros: clean, nice pool, beautiful views freindly staff
Cons: not that i could see
Location: great hikes, spa, relax by pool. other than our hike, we never left the hotel
the hotel was wonderful, clean and beautiful views.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Family Vacation

Posted Aug 10, 2014
The hotel overall was excellent. The staff was very courteous, attentive, and professional. Negatives would be that the guide for our 6AM hike never showed up and the Private cabanas were WAY over priced. This was quite evident in the fact that none of them were ever rented during our entire 5 day Stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Jul 29, 2014
Pros: Beautiful setting! The room balcony was very pleasing.
Cons: The staff at the pool and the reception/check-in area. They were absent or non-attentive. There should be light meals and drinks available poolside.
Location: The Desert Museum was amazing!
Great hotel in a beautiful setting! The gym, pool areas, and back deck were wonderful. The staff at the pool and the reception area were often absent and non-attentive. There was no service at the pool for light meals or drinks and this was disappointing. I understand this is offered on the weekends, but I don't understand why it wouldn't be offered during the week. The staff servicing the back deck area were very attentive and we were welcomed as we enjoyed sunsets, sunrises and fire pits to relax by.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tonya from Gilbert

Almost a disaster.

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I arrived at the JW Marriott with my family of 5 only to be told that the hotel was out of double rooms and that all that was available was rooms with king beds and air mattresses. The manager on site was very accommodating and offered my family an extra room complimentary. I couldn't imagine two nights with my teenagers sleeping on the floor. Disaster averted. The resturants on-site are very expensive.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice stay, but........

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Pools
Cons: Staff
The stay at Star Pass was nice, the grounds are beautiful and the amenities are nice. To check in is difficult with the gastopo valet service wanting to take your car. The problem is the staff seems to try to pull fast ones on the guests, for example when my husband went to check in no one told him he had a resort credit and how to use it, I made the reservation so when I touched base with my husband I had to proceed to the lobby and find out the situation. Once that was squared away, when we woke up on check out day to find our bill on the floor, we were being charged everything that was supposedly a credit, again called the front desk and the lady on the other end proceeded to tell us that if we didn't use the credit in full we would have to be charged the items( crazy). That ended up not being true but it made us feel someone was pulling fast ones. We did have breakfast at the Signature Grill and I have to say the hostess was quite pleasant and our waiter Max was the BEST, he must see people come and go but he treating our family exceptionally well. The pools are great and the food at the pool is also nice. It's is nice kid friendly resort!