Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had a great time

Posted Dec 30, 2013
Pros: Privicy
Cons: The internet service. It did not work while we were there
Location: Great place to rest and enjoy nature
We enjoy the fire place de most.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Angie from Nashville, TN

Wonderful Getaway!

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful!!
Cons: Bed could be a bit softer :)
We stayed in a studio cabin and it was wonderful!! The fireplace and jacuzzi were so great! The room was clean and very comfortable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by David from Maryland

I would stay here again

Posted Aug 31, 2013
I stayed 4 nights in June and found the room to be very nice - working a/c, a very comfortable bed, and no cigarette smoke odors. Aside from the wireless internet, which was very reliable, I can't comment on the pool or other amenities since I didn't actually spend much time at the hotel. The key cards were a little unreliable and there isn't a refrigerator in the room.
1 out of 5
by Carrie from KY

Extremely disappointing even with low expectations

Posted Jun 24, 2013
Pros: not much
Cons: Please see note about experience - tons - but basically the need all new rooms
Location: There is not a lot to do nearby.
While my expectations were not high, my recent stay at the Smokehouse was very disappointing. The motel needs a complete makeover. The rooms have mildew, smell, and everything in them is damp if you are using the A/C which is necessary in the summer, including the sheets and carpet. The a/c units do not cool the entire room. The actual bathroom is tiny. The pool did not look like it had had any chlorine in it in days. I stayed for two nights, and the housekeeping staff just pulled up the comfortable on the bed, and id not make it on my second stay. Overall - it was a very disappointing stay, and I could not wait for my trip to end.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lara from Orange Beach, AL, USA

Loved it!

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Exceeded our expectations! Restaurant was also awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by spitoon from Banbury, Oxfordshire, UK

OK hotel,great smokehouse next door...

Posted Jun 3, 2013
Good,well situated hotel for breaking your journey (as we did) or base for exploring. Room was ok (no fridge or microwave,but had coffee maker) Smelt of dogs though & bed very soft. Clean & tidy though,shower & aircon ok etc. Best part though is its situation next to Jim Olivers Smokehouse- a real madcap emporium of gifts & foods and the excellent restaurant that goes with it. Great food & friendly staff. Cracking!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by susie

Weekend visit for Sewanee graduation services.

Posted May 13, 2013
Pros: Location, location, location. Very close to Sewanee, Univ. of the South.
Location: This hotel is easy to find as it is located close to the exit. It also has a unique gift shop and restaurant attached to the hotel.
We reserved two rooms for the weekend. We received courteous reception at check-in and attentive service throughout the stay. Room was clean. Usual amenities except no fridge. Mattresses were a bit hard for my taste. One of our rooms was located street side. The other was not. I would definitely recommend the one that was not since the traffic noises were quite loud. We turned on the AC unit to muffle the noise so we could sleep.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Great getaway

Posted May 9, 2013
Cons: Fridges in the rooms
It was fantastic! There is a great winery right at the footstep of this hotel and the staff is really amicable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never again!

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Staff was not friendly. The rooms were old and outdated with uncomfortable linens, matresses and pillows. The toilet had issues and ran constantly. I will not stay here again. I will stay farther away from Sewanee before even considering another stay here.
3 out of 5
by Brad

Hotel too ordinary

Posted Apr 25, 2012
Pros: price
Cons: read my review
Location: it was convenient to our reason for being in the area
Room was ok, clean and neat. But that is all they have, no hot tub, no indoor pool, no emenities to make it stand out. connecting restuarant was too pricey.