Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by UK business traveller from United Kingdom

Business use NO, tourist use - perhaps

Posted Mar 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Paid for 3 nights, stayed only the first night. Did not realise the hotel was in the middle of the winding road 'market' area where access by vehicle is impossible and the roads (paths) are broken, muddy or just rubble. The staff are very nice and polite, service is good but this hotel is not very comfortable. No TV in the room; bed very firm; one tiny wardrobe..sufficed for a single person staying no more than two days. Room was very clean. Claims to be 4 star - no way! Cheaper 2 star in centre of town much better value and better quality. Recommend hotel TIBA instead!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by H

Perfect

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Lovely place, excellent location, very helpful staff, wonderful experience, to be highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by H from australia

Perfect

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Oasis in Medina, beautiful building, lovely atmosphere, very kind staff. Felt at home and very happy indeed ! Highly recommended! Best boutique hotel I have been to in 50 years of worldwide travels.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Clare from Gloucestershire

Attractive Old Style hotel in the Medina

Posted May 6, 2013
Pros: Location and attractive courtyard and terraces. Friendly staff
Cons: Hard pillows and breakfast the same every day.
Location: Walking out of the hotel into the alleyways of the Medina was fun. Top Tip: Get the taxi to drop you at Place de la Kasbah and then walk to hotel.
The hotel is in a great situation in the old Medina and surprisingly quiet. Staff are friendly and helpful. The initial room we were put in was very small and the loo flush was broken and the window fell off its hinges! They moved us into a bigger room which was more what we were expecting for the price and everything worked. Beds and pillows very hard but the staff did try to find us softer pillows. Sitting on the roof terrace for breakfast was lovely looking out over the whole city in the sunshine. Courtyards were attractive and decor very tasteful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrew from London

Interesting and different

Posted Apr 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location in the medina is interesting but there is a lot of rubbish about and much of the medina does not look inviting at night. Our room was small with basic furniture and decoration although the decor in public areas is beautiful. Service was generally good and very friendly. Overall quite expensive but worth it for a night or two.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, England

Highly recommended

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Delightful, characterful hotel, in the centre of the oldest part of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chip

Great Location- Beautiful Hotel

Posted Oct 13, 2012 on Hotels.com
Located right in the medina it was perfect. One night was enough.. Tunis isn't the nicest city. Restaurant at the hotel is okay. Try the restaurant around the corner instead. Hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from London, UK

Great hotel and cafe/restaurant.

Posted Sep 26, 2012
Pros: Great food, atmosphere, friendly staff, great service.
Cons: No alcohol.
Location: Tucked away just within the Medina's walls, on a well lit road.
As a couple, we came to Tunis at night and got a taxi to the hotel. The taxi will drop you off by the 1st minister's house, as you cannot drive into the Medina. Don't be put off by the armed guards, they are always there. The hotel is only a short walk from the road, under well lit roads. We got there at night, when the doors were shut so had to knock to be let in. We were greeted by friendly staff and were given a glass of refreshing orange juice as we checked in. The hotel was very clean, with individual beautifully decorated rooms, with aircon. There are various courtyards and a roof terrace where you can sit with a nice glass of Tunisian tea. The food was excellent, possibly some of the best meals I had in Tunis. Whilst not all the staff speak English, they are very helpful if you want advice on restaurants or where to visit. If you leave the hotel for a wander after dark or even in the day, one of the hotel staff will walk with you and flag you a taxi to where ever you want to go. The only thing that I would have wanted was some wine with my dinner, but this is an alcohol free hotel. The hotel is well worth a visit though, even if it is for a spot of lunch of some tea.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cath from Brighton

lovely hotel in Tunis

Posted Sep 1, 2012
Pros: character and location
Location: perfect right by the medina
Lovely hotel lots of character. Staff very friendly and service good. would def recomend
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mandy

OK hotel in the medina

Posted Aug 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
Read rave reviews about this hotel but didn't see anything to rave about. We had 'executive' double room but it was just a double room. Nothing special, small dark bathroom. Friendly staff, patient with my schoolgirl French (they didn't have much English). Breakfast hilarious in a Fawlty Towers sort of way - both days they behaved as though they had never had breakfast guests before. The first day one family left after waiting 40 minutes for the boiled egg - and there were only 3 tables of people there so to as though they were busy. Day 2 we were not even offered eggs, coffee one rotii, jam and a cheese slice. But in a nice part of the medina with lovely roof terrace.