Ratings based on 97 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tx

Convenient

Posted Oct 25, 2014
My only issue is poor Wifi performance in the room. You can go to lobby for DLink. but that is inconvenient.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi

Average hotel with excellent location

Posted Oct 12, 2014
Rooms are tiny but clean. Don't count on "wifi in the rooms" as I was able to catch it just once from the farthest corner of the room. However you might get lucky in canteen or lobby. Breakfasts are disgusting, couldn't eat though I'm not a foodie at all. This hotel needs to rethink sound-proofing, maids start shouting and slamming doors from 8am. Best thing about it is location - city's main avenue, walking distance to all touristic attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect Location

Posted Oct 6, 2014
No complaints. Everything was fine, the staff was most friendly, and the location was great.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Hotel near the Medina

Posted Oct 2, 2014
Pros: The location being close to the main action.
Cons: Be careful of taxis waiting outside the hotel. Generally, do not take a waiting taxi at any location. Stop one that is moving to have a right price.
Location: Near the Medina.
The hotel is in the thick of things, across from Africa Hotel and near the Medina. Don't expect much from this budget hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location close to Medina and cafes

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Pros: Room was spacious and looked nice. Staff were not intrusively friendly but efficient. Location ws convenient for meetings and evening shopping
Cons: Pillows! Water in the rooms on arrival. Fruit at breakfast
Location: Medina shopping. Out of the hotel turn right and walk. Stop for delicious fresh juice at a cafe on the way
Very short business trip. Excellent value for money although beds were a bit uncomfortable (breakneck pillows) and the breakfast a bit limited.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Devon

Room not available. Transferred elsewhere.

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Arrived late in evening as expected,and told that the whole floor that we were booked into was not available.Told that we would be taken to a nice hotel . Driven to Hotel El Oumara,42Bis, Rue Ali Dargouth. Not an equivalent standard, but too late to do anything else but accept it as it was close to midnight. Staff very pleasant,but room carpet so filthy that did not walk on it in bare feet.fly screens torn,black mold in bathroom.Having paid for the Carlton,then to have to move,one does not expect an inferior standard and no offer of any refund. I am very dissapointed with the whole experience. There was no point complaining to El Oumara,however The Carlton let us down and they made the decision on where to send us.We were not told what was wrong with our room,except that the whole floor was not available. I had expected to be protected from this sort of experience,having booked through Expedia.Tunis is currently bursting with Libyans escaping their problems and many of the hotels are full. However,this should not affect bookings made online prior to travelling. The Carlton have taken our booking and payment,but not delivered. After a long day travelling ,leaving at 6 am, we were looking forward to the comforts of a business hotel,before travelling onto El Kantaoiu the next day.Not being dumped in a back street hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geneva, Switzerland

Center city in Tunis

Posted Aug 5, 2014
Pros: Modern and comfortable room and bathroom. Very clean in room. Helpful and courteous staff.
Cons: The common areas have not been renovated. It looks like the hotel suffers from lack of clientele.
Location: Center city location in the popular part of town. Lots of cafes and restaurants and nightlife.
Hotel has been recently renovated so rooms are quite modern and comfortable. Very nice bathroom, comfortable bed, flat screen TV. Very polite and correct reception staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from hong kong

nice and clean hotel near medina

Posted Jul 18, 2014
Good location!! The hotel is on the main street, really easy to find, just across from the five-star hotel -- hotel Africa. There are many restaurant and cafe nearby. Also, walking to medina is about 10 to 15 minutes. Clean room!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from paris

conveniently locayed hotel in the center of Tunis

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: breakfast was poor
Location: the old arabic city (medina) is less than 10 minutes away on foot.
very goog é location on colonial Tunis main avenue. modern hotel behind an art deco front. rooms lack a bit of charm but are very clean and well apointed. excellent price for quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Centrally located hotel, nice staff

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Really good location, very quiet for being next to a big road. Very nicely renovated rooms, super clean. My room was really dark and small but my sense was that the more expensive double rooms might be bigger and had a balcony. Breakfast was included but I ended up not going b/c it was not tasty at all, especially the coffee. Really well working internet connection for free.