Ratings based on 717 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canton, Ohio

Beautiful beach and Friendly People

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Cons: Better pillows
Location: We did go snorkeling and shell and iguana hunting on a 4 hour excursion, which was fun. We tried to go on a scooter tour, but there were none left.
We were so pleased with the whole experience at Royal West Indies. The staff couldn't have been nicer, the room was very clean and comfortable (except for our pillows), the grounds were lovely with the pools and lush, tropical landscaping. The beach was white sand and turquoise water with chairs and umbrellas provided for free. The food was very good, too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Massachusetts

Returned after ten years!

Posted Dec 10, 2014
Pros: Amazing beach right in front of the hotel, lush tropical grounds, extremely clean and staff very helpful.
Cons: Towels near the pool instead of having to get them near the beach.
Location: Super close to the grocery store which was great. Graceway Gourmet has everything you could need for provisions.
My husband and I recently returned to the Royal West Indies and were thrilled that the resort was just as lovely and well maintained as we remembered. The grounds are very lush and since it only has three floors it feels intimate and cozy unlike some of the other bigger resorts. The pool and hot tub are wonderful and we appreciated the quiet pool area for adults only. When we checked in the room we were given on the first floor had a strong chemical smell due to the cleaner used by maid service. The staff at the front desk quickly moved us to a better room on the third floor which was perfect. We met many other couples who keep returning to the resort which I think says a lot about the place as well as the island!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place for a Low Key Stay

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: The gardens are beautiful and it's populated but doesn't feel over-crowded.
Cons: Dinner at the restaurant wasn't so great but that is the only meal we had there.
We like this resort as it's a manageable size and is relatively quiet. The walk to the beach from even the buildings furthest away is short. There are not a lot of organized, drink-fueled activities so things stay pretty calm. The location is close enough to shopping and dining that we did not need a car for our 4 night stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location. For the price the hotel is perfect

Posted Dec 8, 2014
AmaZing vacations. We received very good service and the hotel was well located and helpful to get around
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Honeymoon Vacation

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Location and the gardening staff were wonderful!
Cons: The attitude of the staff down there and to also teach them some professionalism.
Location: Lots to do near by. If location is all that matters to a person, then stay here.
The lack of professionalism or care by the front desk staff was mind blowing. When I say they were down right ignorant, no exaggeration. They made many errors when it came to booking our room for an additional few nights, even after the manager was there and provided us a discount to stay longer, this still didn't count. We checked out and checked back in, to no booking/room for us. This was a shock as we provided our credit card to the front desk while three of them were working on the extension. Long story short, the stay was horrible, torn, stained bed sheets, dead bugs on light switches, hair in the bathtub from prior guests still and a fridge that ran every half hour that was so loud, we didn't sleep through one night. We were not impressed on how this was handled as we weren't even asked at final check out how we were or how our stay was! If you want a relaxing experience, with the a resort that isn't unprofessional and has cleanliness as a high standard, stay at another location. Due to our experience, we were refunded the entire three nights - this was by us emailing the general manager to explain our experience. From here, make a wise decision on where you stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Enjoyed the hotel and location

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: nothing at this time
Location: the hotel was about a 1/2 mile from shops, restaurants,grocery store
Had fun and really enjoyed walking on the beach and sitting by the quiet pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom virginia

Clean, spacious, friendly resort on the beach

Posted Dec 1, 2014
This is a great hotel, particularly for families. No real complaints. Staff is very helpful and friendly. Rooms were spotless, spacious and very comfortable. Kitchens are well-equipped. In addition to the restaurant at the hotel there are several restaurants a short (10 minute or less walk away) but they tend toward the expensive side. The cheaper options are in town which is about a 20 or so minute walk. Grocery store (which is very well-stocked) and ATM and coffee shop are also about a 20 minute walk. Hotel has bikes you can borrow which cuts the trip to 10 minutes and there are sidewalks you can ride on all the way there. My only complaint is that you can't use the bikes until 8 in the morning. Would be nice to be able to get to the store, etc. earlier in the morning. Cab ride from the airport is $20 per person (cash only) so if you are a big group you might think about renting a car.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

We had a great time staying at RWI.

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Pros: The low keyed atmosphere, happy hour, hot tub and the use of the bikes to ride into the village every day for breakfast and lunch.
Cons: They could rake the beach more frequently.
Location: The village is a short bicycle ride away. They have a very nice grocery store that is well equipped and close by. Excellent restaurants.
The studio room was spacious and I loved the washer and dryer. I would have packed way less for my husband and I. We thoroughly enjoyed the hot tub and quiet pool. The restaurant was very good. The housecleaning staff did an excellent job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice quiet location.

Posted Nov 27, 2014
This hotel would of received better had it not been the rudeness from a couple of the staff. We did not have working air conditioning and didn't call until the next morning. Just slept with fan and opened the door during the day. The maintenance man informed us three times to keep the door shut. I guess he was to stupid to realize that it was cooler outside than in the room. We had to call a second time to get a different room when they couldn't fix the AC. They tried the next day to move us back to the with the non working AC, which we refused. Other than that the place was great. Food to pricey for the quality, but good restaurants within walking distance . Drinks are watered down as usual. IGA store about 6 blocks away. Housekeeping and grounds staff were great, very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

2nd time at the resort

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: better signage at the quite pool
Location: wonderful
my experience was very great, the grounds were showing improve upkeep as well as the staff