Ratings based on 711 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chattanooga, TN

Pet friendly

Posted Jul 6, 2015
We stay here on our trips back and forth between Louisiana and Tennessee. We travel with our dogs and stay here because they allow pets and it is right off the interstate. Rooms are clean and comfortable.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel is right next to highway.

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Room was dirty and no mini fridge. Too close to highway, you can here every car passing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dirty bed linens

Posted Jun 17, 2015
Dirty sheets, duvet covers and quilts, complete with blood and "brown" stains.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mtn Home, AR

3 Night/4 Day Stay

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: The pillow top bed was very comfortable. The breakfast items were good.
Room was not cleaned the second day and had to ask to have it cleaned the third day. Room Keys didn't work the second day and again the third day and had to ask to have them digitally corrected each time. On the good side, the beds were very comfortable pillow top. The road traffic was very loud inside the room at night, we were on the interstate side. The pool was small and located on the parking lot next to the hotel as an addition to the hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from dfw

Rooms smell like smoke

Posted Jun 10, 2015
The room was supposed to be nonsmoking but it smelled like smoke. TV reception kept going out. Needs major updating. Very loud being next to interstate
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Cucamonga, CA

First time stay at La Quinta and it was wonderful.

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: The room and accommodations were perfect for my needs.
Location: Didn't have much time to visit local attractions.
Unfamiliar with the area, La Quinta in Tuscaloosa was a random pick from a number of places to stay. With little to go on, I read the reviews to the hotel and was pleased to discover that it was true. Thank you for making my first stay in Louisiana comfortable and a pleasure..
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta, GA

Sleep in an ashtray if they can find your rez

Posted May 20, 2015
I called 6 hours prior to my arrival to request a fridge in my room. Front desk confirmed my reservation and said no fridges without 24 hour notice. When I tried to check in I was told my reservation was canceled with no details provided. Eventually I got a room at same rate but now have two charges on my credit card. Room smelled like an ashtray. I debated sleeping with the door open but feared for my safety. When I got home my clothes my clothes stunk like the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a Good Experience

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Most everything.
Location: Not great. Have to access thru a back alleyway.
The major issue was that I reserved a non-smoking room thru Expedia. When I got to the hotel, I was informed that, although I had "requested" a non- smoking, all that was available was smoking. Unfortunately, we had no option but to stay (graduation weekend and no other available rooms anywhere). Took a lot of air freshener and vinegar to make it livable. Also, there was stuff in the drawers from a previous guest-guess the cleaning staff does not check drawers. The electrical plugs did not all work, however, upon request, the staff did supply us with a power strip. My husband requires a CPAP and it was the plug near the bed that didn't work. Could have been a much worse problem. Will not be staying at this hotel ever again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight trip to attend Graduation ceremony

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Front desk staff was wonderful.
Cons: Overall cleanliness.
Staff was wonderful, very courteous and helpful. Rooms/hotel are older and somewhat rundown; we rented two rooms and found flies and mold in one and a cockroach in the other.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gave away my room! Spent the night in SMOKING room

Posted May 2, 2015
We arrived late after moving daughter out of dorm. Staff reported only smoking rooms available. I told her that was unacceptable. Searched for another room in Tuscaloosa without success. It was graduation weekend. Very kind staff member came to my car and told me they had a non smoking handicap room available. Regrettably, room was NOT non smoking. Room was smoky; tv did not work. Room was otherwise clean, however. Motel style room faced highway and was noisy. It was 1130pm and we had no other choice... If you have another option in Tuscaloosa - take it.