Ratings based on 691 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rancho Cucamonga, CA

First time stay at La Quinta and it was wonderful.

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: The room and accommodations were perfect for my needs.
Location: Didn't have much time to visit local attractions.
Unfamiliar with the area, La Quinta in Tuscaloosa was a random pick from a number of places to stay. With little to go on, I read the reviews to the hotel and was pleased to discover that it was true. Thank you for making my first stay in Louisiana comfortable and a pleasure..
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta, GA

Sleep in an ashtray if they can find your rez

Posted May 20, 2015
I called 6 hours prior to my arrival to request a fridge in my room. Front desk confirmed my reservation and said no fridges without 24 hour notice. When I tried to check in I was told my reservation was canceled with no details provided. Eventually I got a room at same rate but now have two charges on my credit card. Room smelled like an ashtray. I debated sleeping with the door open but feared for my safety. When I got home my clothes my clothes stunk like the room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a Good Experience

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Not much.
Cons: Most everything.
Location: Not great. Have to access thru a back alleyway.
The major issue was that I reserved a non-smoking room thru Expedia. When I got to the hotel, I was informed that, although I had "requested" a non- smoking, all that was available was smoking. Unfortunately, we had no option but to stay (graduation weekend and no other available rooms anywhere). Took a lot of air freshener and vinegar to make it livable. Also, there was stuff in the drawers from a previous guest-guess the cleaning staff does not check drawers. The electrical plugs did not all work, however, upon request, the staff did supply us with a power strip. My husband requires a CPAP and it was the plug near the bed that didn't work. Could have been a much worse problem. Will not be staying at this hotel ever again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overnight trip to attend Graduation ceremony

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Front desk staff was wonderful.
Cons: Overall cleanliness.
Staff was wonderful, very courteous and helpful. Rooms/hotel are older and somewhat rundown; we rented two rooms and found flies and mold in one and a cockroach in the other.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gave away my room! Spent the night in SMOKING room

Posted May 2, 2015
We arrived late after moving daughter out of dorm. Staff reported only smoking rooms available. I told her that was unacceptable. Searched for another room in Tuscaloosa without success. It was graduation weekend. Very kind staff member came to my car and told me they had a non smoking handicap room available. Regrettably, room was NOT non smoking. Room was smoky; tv did not work. Room was otherwise clean, however. Motel style room faced highway and was noisy. It was 1130pm and we had no other choice... If you have another option in Tuscaloosa - take it.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cullman, Alabama

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: The staff was nice. We felt like they were watching out for us when we walked our dogs. Although sketchy looking area, didn't feel afraid.
Cons: The entrances in all cases, the bathrooms need upgraded. Something to change the "old musty" feel of the rooms.
Location: Located behind old run down looking restaurant, not hotels fault but took away from the place for sure. Very close to restaurants.
Coming into the entrance of motel, we were suspect it was not what we expected as there was a dated vehicle with "The FBI killed my family" and something to do with rights on the other side painted on it. The entrance door was old and needed updated but he rest of the entrance was fine. The staff at all times were friendly and courteous. The room was not what we expected for the price. First of all we reserved the room on this site with a different price than what we were given. I have never had this happen so it is my fault ,I didnt actually check my receipt. Didnt notice I wasnt given the rate that was advertised until we were there. Wouldnt have been an issue but the room was not what we were use to. The doors were old and the bathroom was what you would expect in a very low rated hotel. The beds were nice and had nice bed clothes. The drapes were nice and the carpet was in good shape. There was splash marks of something left on the wall beside the bed from something we couldnt tell. The phone was close to antique and the room had an old musty smell. The old restaurants that are in front of the hotel gave it a very sketchy feel. We were there for the ADAY game so just rolled with it. We travel quite alot and if we had paid maybe half of what we paid, probably would have expected this level of hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Lexington, KY

Not quite to the usual La Quinta standard.

Posted Apr 21, 2015
I like La Quintas usually. This one was ok, I guess. The breakfast was less than I usually find at La Quinta (no fruit...just waffles, hard boiled eggs, and bagels). The motel had exterior walkways facing the interstate. There was a lot of noise from the traffic and seemingly a lot of foot traffic by the door. It wasn't great.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Fairhope, Al

I need a refund

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: not one thing.
Cons: You better improve everything.
Location: The location was terrible and in a very bad area.
The room was in deplorable condition and upon entering the room it smelled horrible like cat urine. The smell and room cleanliness was so bad we didn't even put down our bags. I am requesting a refund for this room as we were not able to stay in it. I have also reported this hotel to expedia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2015
ok,staff was great,b'fast was good,room was clean,good location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bama Bound

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Took 3 rooms to make us somewhat happy. Non smoking rooms stunk of smoke. Not very clean, but just a place to lay your head. Beds were comfortable. Definitely in need of facelift. Not planning on a return. I'm sure is OK for some people, not my family.