Ratings based on 487 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor Housekeeping

Posted Jan 23, 2015
Saw evidence of poor cleaning (bathroom hair, stains on bedcover, floor not vacuumed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Rockville MD

uncomfortable bed

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Beds were very uncomfortable with a huge crater in the middle. The bed also made loud creaking sounds every time you moved. I was told by the front desk clerk that all the mattresses were budgeted to be replaced in 2015. Hopefully this will happen for future guests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, comfy, & courteous

Posted Jan 13, 2015
No complaints! Front desk staff was very nice. The hotel and room were clean, comfortable, and as advertised. I would definitely stay here again if I'm in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good Location

Posted Jan 10, 2015
This hotel was in a good location in Tuscaloosa, close to stores, restaurants and University of Alabama. The staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was always clean and comfortable. The only drawbacks were the small sized closet and the bathroom design that had no counter tops to put your bathroom items on. It would be helpful to have the sink area separated from the shower and toilet. The walls were also a little thin- you could sometimes hear your neighbors. They had a hot breakfast available which was decent and offered at a good hour range.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Slidell, Louisiana

Overnight stay

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: The cleanliness
The room was just like the online pics! Very clean and up to date. The Continental breakfast was great too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tuscaloosa

Holiday stay

Posted Dec 31, 2014
The staff at check in was really nice and professional
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Montgomery, Al

Dirty bathroom

Posted Dec 28, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Housekeeping staff
The room yourself seemed pretty clean but the bathroom left much to be desired. When getting ready for a shower I noticed oil, dirt and body hair in the bathtub and on the walls of the bathtub. It was disgusting. It looked as though the housekeeper did not clean between guests. The next day when housekeeping came I asked her to just do the bathroom. When we returned the bathroom was the same. She had not wiped or cleaned anything she only changed the towels and took out the trash. The bathtub remained filthy throughout our stay. We ended up only sleeping there and showering at a friends house. I was highly disappointed and will not return.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom RI

THE BUGS IN MY THE TUB.

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: The front desk staff was friendly. Clay especially was very kind.
Cons: Cleanliness in the rooms needs to be improved.
Location: Anything and everything the UA has to offer. The area offers lots of shopping malls. Great food and drink experiences on the strip.
I was very disappointed in this hotel.. I stayed here for two nights. On the first night I saw a couple of small bugs in my tub. I killed them and went to bed. I had checked in late and was exhausted from traveling all day, The next morning I told housekeeping about the bugs and a few minutes later she showed up with an insecticide spray. I left her there to take care of things (the problem had grown over night) when I returned back to the room late that evening. There were several (maybe 30 dead bugs in the tub) and the smell in the bathroom was awful. Early the next morning I told the hotel manager (who was very nice and apologetic) about the problem. I most admit I was expecting a little more than an apology. I didn't press the issue, just needed to get home to my own clean shower.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 24, 2014
beds a little to soft, maid service could be better but overall a good experience, would stay here again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tulsa, OK

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 20, 2014
Pros: Cleanness, location, staff
Cons: I have nothing to complain about
Location: Very close to Univ. of Alabama. Plenty of places to eat.
Never have stayed at Microtel. Very pleased with the facility. Pretty basic, but very clean. Staff was very helpful and went out of their way to oblige us. Will stay there again when we return to Tuscaloosa.