Ratings based on 149 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Hamilton NZ

Perfect honeymoon sanctuary

Posted Feb 27, 2015
Pros: Private and spacious luxury
Location: Visit the market, great restaurants and cafes, monkey forest
Royal Kamuela is beautiful, the villas are very spacious with a surprisingly large pools and a very relaxing vibe throughout. The staff were great and very attentive to our needs with lots of nice touches to a special honeymoon cake and the bath filled with flower petals, I paid a small amount extra to et the pool filled with petals which was great, over the top luxury that was well worth it for the look on my wife's face. We also used Kamuela to take us on a tour which was travelling in comfort and made seeing Bali very easy. It's also a good location if you're in Ubud, close to the monkey forest but near enough the busy market and all the great eateries without being right in the action. The only 'problem' we had was when having our breakfast one morning and a couple of monkeys decided they liked the look of our food but after a few photos and some umbrella waving they got the message - most enjoyable breakfast for ages! We had a great visit here and I'd recommend it to anyone, especially if you're looking for a romantic getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

カップル向けの高級ホテル

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: スタッフのホスピタリティーが素晴らしい。こちらがのんびり出来る環境をつくるように心掛けている感じがした。ホテル内はどこも清潔で、かならず誰かが掃除あるいはメンテナンスをしている。
Cons: 特に無し。
Location: ウブドの中心にあり便利。近くにはレストラン、スパがたくさんあり、モンキーフォレストもすぐ近く。王宮までは徒歩15分位。
カップル向けの高級ホテル。ハネムーンあるいはリタイアされた高齢のカップルにもおすすめできるくつろいだ雰囲気。スタッフは多少日本語ができる。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney Australia

Beautiful private oasis

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: Staff service impeccable. Breakfast and afternoon tea (actually all meals) Amazing! Super comfy bed and huge bath tub.
Cons: Building needs refurbishing. Better control of the nearby monkeys, also the rubber tree constantly dropping leaves into pool should be replaced.
Location: Eat,at one of the beautiful resturants, shop for homewares etc, have a massage, facial etc take a yoga or cooking class, all very reasonably priced.
My husband and I booked our 7 day visit to UBUD to celabrate our wedding anniversary and chose Royal Kamuela because of the beautiful private villa, with our own private pool. Perfect for a romantic getaway, of which it truely was. We had many day trips, with our private driver, visitng many amzing places, however also spent many hours wandering the streets of UBUD, shopping, stopping for coffee, a meal or drink. Then droppingin back to our villa for a swim, before heading out again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

A Dream Cometrue

Posted Jan 23, 2015
From the moment we arrived up until the last day, we received nothing but excellent customer service. Everyone working there were highly attentive, friendly and helpful (Katut, Booty, Eerie are super nice and great ppl to tour Bali- all work at the hotel). They always made sure we received the best service and were happy along the way. Their breakfast was phenomenal. I was happy thinking I would be receiving a complimentary bagel with tea every morning, so to come across a full breakfast menu with omelettes, belgium waffles, fresh juice AND the expected bagel with tea PLUS a yummy cappucchino, was beyond words. I miss it so much that I find myself back home in LA waking up every morning with a " awww my breakfast". But the Bali experience does not end there; there was great cheap shopping just right outside hotel, scooters and bikes to rent for $2 for 3hrs, 1hr massages for $5, great authentic cuisine (I recommend Cafe Wayan). For more fun cheap shopping, Bali Market Place is just a quick 7 to 10min walk from hotel. To exchange money, I recommend the place right next to the Monkey Park, which is a quick 5min walk- the lady who works there her name is Catud and she's super sweet. As for places to visit, monkey park is a must, as well as the Bali Marine Safari where you can also ride an elephant ( I recommend paying for the $100 ticket whick includes all you can eat lunch and a 1hr show very well worth $100 alone- it's as great as a cirque de soleil show). Have fun and enjoy!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Incredible experience

Posted Jan 19, 2015
Fantastic location. Staff is exceptional. Very helpful with any questions or requests we had. I grew accustomed to their amazing breakfasts every morning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom 日本

ショッピング、街スパに最適

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: 立地条件・ホテルの清潔さ・従業員の対応
Cons: 朝食がもう少しおいしければ。
今回、4度目のウブド滞在です。ショッピングと街スパをするのに便利な立地を考えてこのホテルを選びました。 ホテルは清潔で、従業員さんの対応も良く、快適に過ごせますがホテル内でレストランやスパはあまりおすすめではありません。せっかく街中に滞在するので、外のレストランやスパを利用する方が良いと思います。 雰囲気でいうと天蓋ベットがあるようなバリスタイルのヴィラとは違いますが、広さも十分にありますし、夜も静かでしたので、宿泊してよかったと思っています。 移動に関しては、レンタルバイクでしたので、何も不自由はなかったのですが、歩いて見て廻るには坂道も多く、暑いので結構大変ではないでしょうか? ホテルからタクシーの手配等お願いできると思いますが、この時期は交通量も多く、車での移動には結構な時間が掛かってしまいそうです。
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sydney

An awesome property

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Great rooms, private villa with own private pool, double bath, outside shower, double sinks and all the luxuries you can think of. Only one flaw in that the rooms are air conditioned and have no fan. I dislike sleeping with aircon on, and asked staff of they had a fan. There was none available. Friendly staff, who were very welcoming and courteous. Great free shuttle service, but it needs to be pre-booked. The in room dining was somewhat limited for an 8 day stay, and some healthier alternatives for breakfast would be welcome. A great place for honeymooners or couples who want privacy and seclusion, yet access to the centre of Ubud.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Hotel Stay

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Everything... location... size of the villas... the facilities in the villa.. the service from the staff..
Cons: The food... breakfast options were limited.... had dinner one evening (was raining very heavily) and was not fantastic...
Location: central... next to the main shops... there is cycling, landscape, monkey forest... can take day trips out..
Decided the trip to Bali at the last minute.. and decided on Ubud as my last trip, we stayed at Kuta and regretted it every moment. Looked at the various reviews on Expedia and only selected this hotel after my first choice did not have any rooms. And what a choice.... had no regrets... wifey was very happy... the whole experience was worthwhile... so close to the hussle and bussle and yet step away from the street and you feel like you are in a remote resort... the staff were excellant... the rooms were so private, extraordinary large and very well maintained... there was all the little touches.. like the staff turning down the room in the evening when we were out and when we came back the bed was prepared for sleeping, the lights were down, curtains closed... Now, my wife says only villas in future.. no more rooms, suites etc... its going to be heavier on my wallet but worth it... if we go back to Bali, certainly this hotel will be top choice... they only have 12 villas and its already almost filled up for the March holidays (its early Dec when I am writing this).... so choose early if you want to stay here..... N.B: if you are honeymooning, perfect choice ... there were, I think 3 or 4 honeymoon couples when we stayed there, but its so private, you only see the others staying there when you come up to reception.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Be Seen And Yet Not To Be Seen - A Rare Find

Posted Dec 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is accessible to many popular tourist attractions in the vicinity while pleasantly tugged away from their hustle and bustle. A real gem. Another thing I really like and appreciate about the hotel is its meal hour flexibility. Your complementary breakfast could be served anytime before 10pm, yes, 10pm so there is no need to compromise your tour, spa schedule. An important tip to share, whether you are a first-time or repeat traveller to Ubud - Bali is morphing too while you are gone: Don't shy away from private taxi operators as they still offer the best deal. Instead try to negotiate a (fixed, one-way) fare between 25k and 30k Rupiah if you are travelling from the airport to Ubud and back, which at the present rate, is 25-30 USD. It takes 1.5 to 2 hours due to the busy and undulating hilly roads so be prepared. Otherwise, enjoy Bali!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Krishnafrom Mumbai

A slice of paradise

Posted Dec 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The first thing I want to say about this place, is that it's better. Better than the pictures, better than any accommodation I ever lived in and certainly the best stay experience of my life. We stayed for 4 days in Villa 2, and it took our breath away the moment we entered. The pickup from the airport gave us the taste of hospitality which was to follow, and continued through our trip. The spa experience was divine, the privaťe pool was really cool and the oversized bathtub made us feel like royalty. The room itself is picture perfect. The complimentary drop comes in very handy and they organize tours for you at almost the same cost as you would organize from outside. And the location! You could walk to the Monkey Forest, the Ubud Palace, the Ubud Market, and the Hanuman Street (Kafe and Clean Cafe are recommended) But what blew us away is the hospitality. I could go on and on about the people of Ubud, but it suffices to say that they are the most genuinely nice people you will meet.