Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glazebury

Lovely hotel. Excellent facilities.

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: All staff were very pleasant.
Cons: There was a food tray outside of our room door at check in (5pm) and it was still there 20 hours later. Very poor.
Location: Great location to travel the South Coast.
Two day break to recharge the batteries. We travelled to many villages and towns across the south coast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

A warm welcome

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: Quiet; relaxing; friendly, helpful staff.
Cons: Better variety of bread for breakfast!
Location: Excellent as long as one's own transport. Close to Lewes . Golf course on site.
Fabulous location even though we are not golfers. We arrived very early having travelled from Gatwick and were greeted by a most helpful receptionist who, while unable to give us a room so early in the morning, organised a pot of fresh coffee while we relaxed in the lounge. The helpfulness and smiles continued throughout our stay and I would highly recommend this hotel for any who wish to have a quiet, relaxing break.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Judy from London

Excellent for opera lovers as well as golfers!

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: Somewhere to sit in the very large foyer out of earshot of the TV.
We were going to the opera at Glyndebourne on Sunday and stayed at the East Sussex National on Saturday evening. It was a gloriously sunny weekend so we saw East Sussex (and the Downs in the distance) at their best. The hotel is very modern and geared up for golfers with a magnificent view over the golf course. But there is plenty to do in the form of the health spa, swimming pool and gym if you are not a golfer. And it is ideally placed for Glyndebourne which is a 15 minute drive. The rooms are not luxurious but they are large, clean and comfortable, and the staff could not be more obliging. We had a meal in the restaurant on Saturday evening which was very good value.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ralph from Luxembourg

What a wonderful view

Posted Mar 12, 2014
Pros: Pretty much everything. Golf hotel but it is not in your face. Golf and fitness club activities kept separate.
Cons: Possibly a couple more staff on duty during breakfast.
Location: Lots to do from historic castles to the beach.
The hotel is beautifully positioned along a ridge with an unimpeded view across Sussex. The hotel public rooms all have balconies with this view. The staff were all very helpful and we were made to feel welcome. The overall feel was modern and relaxed. I asked to see all the room types and they are similar only really varying in size. There is lots of free parking. The next time we return to England we will definitely use this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant

Posted Mar 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Generally very good for the money, room nice, food we had was good. Able to use the spa the following day for as long as wanted. Only issue was disorganisation in the bar: beers off, food order got forgotten so had long wait. But minor issue overall. Staff were very helpful, polite etc, offered complimentary drinks when food order was forgotten. Would go again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely mini break.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
My partner and I have just returned from a lovely 1 night break here. The staff on Reception were very friendly and helpful! The room was clean, spacious and well decorated with a lovely view. Dinner was well presented and very tasty. We also used the gym and swimming pool, both very clean and welcoming. Would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Noggin from Kent

Never disappoints

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Clean, large rooms, nice bathrooms with great showers.
Cons: Not mad keen on the bar food menu, but each to their own ...
Location: I like this hotel and spa so much I don't want to go out!
Me and my partner have stayed at this hotel several times - the rooms are spacious and clean, and the pool/steam room etc lovely. The breakfast is perfect and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Drinks at the bar seem expensive, but overall, a stay at the East Sussex National is good value for money. Will be back.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bazinga from Manchester

Dark ages

Posted Feb 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
In today's high technology world I couldn't believe the tv in the rooms didn't even have freeview. I chose the hotel as it featured free wifi. This was only in the public areas and was so slow it was frustrating. Hotel was nice enough and the rooms comfortable but I wouldn't stay here again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ms V Merritt from Brighton

Posted Feb 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was lovely and the staff were very attentive and knowlegable.