Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Meudon

Déception sur toute la ligne

Posted Jun 28, 2015
Pros: l'emplacement, au bord du lac Pichola, le restaurant La Terrasse aux airs de riviera européenne.
Cons: Il faut renommer l'Hotel pour toutes les chambres qui ne sont pas dans Fateh Prakash. Sinon, c'est de la publicité mensongère. C'est grave.
Location: Le city Palace, le lac Pichola, le centre-ville à pieds.
Premier contact, vous n'êtes pas accueilli dans le bâtiment auquel vous vous attendez, c'est à dire le Fateh Prakash, mais dans un autre qui sont les anciennes dépendances du palais. D'ailleurs la majorité des chambres sont dans ce bâtiment. Et ces chambres n'ont rien d'un hotel de luxe, mais d'un hotel normal, comme on trouve partout en Inde. Deuxième problème, à la réception, le responsable, Mr A, nous annonce un upgrade de notre chambre dans une suite : il insiste lourdement sur l'immense faveur qu'il nous fait. Arrivé à la chambre, déception. la chambre est divisée en 6 parties toutes petites, les deux niches devant les fenêtre étaient inaccessibles pour ma femme, une marche 1m de haut pour y accéder, ni pour moi, car le plafond était à moins de 1,80m à cet endroit. Du coup, on ne peut pas profiter de la vue sur le lac Pichola. Troisième problème, l'unité de climatisation bruyante est à 1m du lit, et elle fuit de l'eau par terre. Quatrième problème, la prise de courant près du lit ne fonctionne pas, et pas moyen de la réparer, je trouve une autre prise et je fais courir une rallonge en travers du passage étroit entre le lit et le mur. Cinquième problème, le package incluait le Wifi. Or il ne marche pas. Je refais venir Mr A qui me dit pas de problème, dans 5 minutes, c'est réglé. Une heure après toujours pas de Wifi. La moutarde commence à me monter au nez. Je demande à changer de chambre pour être relogé dans la 606, dans le VRAI Fateh Prakash.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Incredible experience

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: The view, the location by the palace, the security, the staff, the overall design and individual room detail and maintenance.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.
Location: Close to many attractions including shopping and dining.
The staff is most friendly and helpful, the facilities are beautiful and very well maintained and the food is excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Antalia

Good experience

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Room has a fantastic view of the lake and room size is big and comfortable. Dinner at sunset terrace was very average. Nothing was tasty but very spicy. View from the restaurant is excellent and the breakfast is good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Harshit from Seattle, WA

Fantastic location, great staff, wonderful stay.

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
We had a lovely time at this hotel. The staff was very accommodating as we requested both ab early check in and a late check out. Everyone was very friendly. The only thing we didnt care for was the tv was quite old. Honestly though, with the view we had who needs a tv.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from agra

Not happy

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Reception doesn't know how to handle clients Even though you pay they will not credit it in your account Terrible staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Decent place

Posted Jan 19, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent location. Rustic hotel look. Basic breakfast. Not bad for the price paid for the hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Vijay from Hong Kong

Majestic property, beautiful rooms, pathetic staff

Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels
Considering this property was once upon a time a palace to a King you would expect a grand entrance and treatment of the same, which was far to be seen from the hotel. Upon checking in, the reception area is quite pathetic really. It's a small desk with 3 staff crowded in the back that judge you while you check-in. Fortunately we got upgraded to suites from our 'standard rooms', however we were quite disappointed when one of our suites was almost twice as big as the other. They were both great in their own ways, but the first one had set high expectations for the second one - I guess this was because each suite was different. The employees and staff are unprofessional and taunting. The staff of the hotel expect tips for anything and everything they do. I even had one guy follow me all the way to my car on checking out telling me 'Thank you sir, come back again' and was hoping to receive a tip for that?! Also during my stay we had to request for wine glasses and a bottle opener to be sent to our room 3 times which is quite disappointing for supposedly a 4-5 star hotel. The rooms itself are awesome if you get a suite that is and the interiors of the remainder of the hotel are quite majestic too. The exterior of the hotel however has tarnished overtime and hasn't been maintained. Stay at the hotel if you desire to live the palace lifestyle, but don't have high expectations from service of the staff. They require training to provide customer service and to respect the customer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ashish Reddy from Bangalore

Beautiful views and amazing food !

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels
This place is located within city palace compound and hence an ideal location . The rooms have great views - the lake palace is visible from the hotel rooms. The hotels rooms are clean and spacious and have a royal feel . The food at the terrace hotel is delicious though it is a bit expensive. Only complain we had at this hotel is with the hot water(took a long while to kick in and wasn't that hot) and little water leakage in the wash basin area in the wash room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Régis from Lille

Udaipur

Posted Jan 1, 2015 on Hotels
Situation exceptionnelle dans le city palace. Restaurant sur la terrasse face au lac. Contrepartie de l'ancienneté du palais : quelques difficultés avec l'eau chaude, cependant vite résolues par l'établissement. Plus grave, nous avions réservé avec un enfant de 2 ans, et à l'arrivée, rien de prévu pour lui. Il a donc passé les 3 nuits dans ce palace 5étoiles sur un matelas par terre, après bien des difficultés pour obtenir ce matelas puisqu 'il n'y avait pas de lit enfant...!!! Enfin, dans la réservation, il était bien précisé "vue sur lac". A l'arrivée, plus de vue sur lac, mais surclassement dans 2 suites quasi-royales. En conclusion, malgré tout, aucun regret. Vivre quelques jours dans le palais du maharani d'Udaipur est un super souvenir
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 25, 2014 on Hotels