Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by H

Great location, facility okay for India

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Room facility and amenities are outdated
Location: City palace hotel
Location is great, it's inside the city palace walls. For a person not too familiar with the neighborhood and the general environment/surroundings in India, feeling safe and relatively clean with hot shower was much appreciated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Richard from UK

Best description is 'faded glory'.

Posted Nov 24, 2013
Pros: The setting as part of the palace made the place special
Cons: The bathrooms need a major upgrade
We really enjoyed our stay but after staying in some 5 star hotels this was not up to the same standard. It is a great setting and it did meet our expectations as it is a genuine palace that has been converted into a hotel rather than a custom designed hotel hence, not being up to genuine 5 star standard. If you want to stay in a palace as we did then, this is a good experience but if you want luxury there are other hotels in the city. Spa treatments were excellent, restaurants pretty good and the bedroom were ok...clean, comfortable and practical with dated bathrooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ronald en Ineke from Gurgaon

Posted Nov 16, 2013
Pros: Great place to stay next to the old city and the city palace. Nice comfortable rooms with heritage. Very friendly staff and good restaurants.
Location: Old city on walking distance. Boat tour is a must.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Kalsay from London

Stay at the Palace as a King

Posted Aug 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
Hotel Shiv Nivas Palace, Udaipur gives you the feeling of staying at a old style Kings Darbari Fort. The hotel is next to the kings palace and all the sightseeing places of Udaipur city. Within a walking distance you are in the shopping market spaces where all the traditional Rajasthani items can be purchased (dont forget to bargain - around 30-50% face value). Room services, the breakfast, and the meal options were adequate and well served with good taste. At times, they spoil you with the options you could chose from. My checkin was done in less than 7 minutes and luggage dropped straight to the room. Overall, a great experience. There are limited rooms so need to book early.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Traveler from USA

Fine but some dark unviting rooms

Posted Jul 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel, its architecture, and its overall sounding is spectacular. The location is also great. Just make sure you get the right room. Some rooms are dark and not very inviting. I've stayed at this hotel a few times, and I had never seen some of these ugly and uncomfortable rooms. So when I was given one of these rooms during my last visit, I simply asked them to move me to a different room. You could probably do the same.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waste if Money

Posted Mar 3, 2013
Pros: Adjoining Museum
Cons: Rooms
Location: Ok
It is absolutely no point to stay and pay them such royal room tariff , as they don't bother for Indian guest and service is very poor. Their was no comfort in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Avanish

Shiv NIWAS

Posted Feb 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
We had a pleasant stay and The history of palace, especially the light n sound show was wonderful.
2 out of 5
by Penny from West Yorkshire, UK

Most unfriendly hotel in India

Posted Feb 26, 2013
Pros: The bar man in the hotel bar
Cons: The staff in the sunset terrace and reception
Location: Great location
Reception staff were unhelpful and bordering on apathetic. We went to the sunset terrace for drinks and dinner but the staff refused to take any food order and we spent an hour and a half there and all we got was a drink that I had to go to the bar myself to collect. Such a shame because it was prime location and the sunset was fantastic looking out over lake pichola. We left to eat in the hotel restaurant by the pool and thankfully met the most helpful and friendly staff member who worked behind the bar. He was the only staff member who actually made us feel welcome which is a crying shame because the hotel is in a great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by maria s

lovely stay, but a bit tired

Posted Jan 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
it was a special treat staying at the shiv niwas given its history. kids will love watching james bond's octopussy and seeing so many familiar sights. the service was excellent and 2 of us were ill. they did everything from finding a doctor promptly to making us special foods. our room was lovely and the view spectacular. the bathroom needs an update and the outside looks like it needs a huge renovation and there were a few language issues, but all in all, the shiv niwas is a gem.