Ratings based on 201 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central NSW

Surprised at how good it was

Posted Dec 16, 2014
I was stuck for somewhere to stay in Sydney, most hotels were booked, found a room at the Aspire. Enjoyed the night, decent room, quiet location.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom United States

Disgusted

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Hotel charged $50 for each additional child. Roof leaks had rotted the wood in the closet. It was in repaired. Foldaway bed had unwashed yellow stain on sheets. The worn out sofa cushions had crusty stains from someone's dirty romp. We were thoroughly grossed out. I complained. They verified my claims and returned the extra kid charges. This place should be $80/ night or less. My worst hotel stay so far.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Total disappointing initial reception

Posted Dec 3, 2014
Pros: None
Cons: The free wifi was so difficult to configure that we skipped using it most of the time. Other hotel guests also had the same problem.
Location: Okay
When my wife and I check in to the hotel, we were asked to pay in advance all the eight days we have booked for our stay. When we pay with our credit card, we had to pay an additional 1.5% on the bill for using our Visa card. We were decently dressed and made our reservation with our credit card details. This was the worst reception we had ever received in all our years of travels. We were given a double bed that was so soft they we literally sank into it. It would be very uncomfortable and probably cause a backache. The reception said the hotel was fully booked and there are no other rooms available. Any staff offered us two pieces of firmer mattresses and it had to be laid on the floor since they don't fit into the double bed. Imagine we had to sleep on the hotel floor for four of the days and later transferred to a proper hotel room! The shower head was misaligned and we could not have a good flow of water for our shower. It was fixed on the next day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Newcastle

Nice hotel, close to Darling Harbour with Parking!

Posted Nov 27, 2014
Clean, quiet and available very happy with our stay over the two nights
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom South Coast

Easy access to all city amenities

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Staff were more than helpful with everything, they provided a room upgrade when there was an issue with the booked room and provided additional service for the inconvenience
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Devonport Tas

A clean room and being able to park car

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: Handy to the city, knew the hotel as the Lawson when I lived in Ultimo-Pyrmont
Cons: The maintence to the rooms and public areas
Location: VG for location
VG it was used as a room for the 2 day visit to Sydney over the w/e
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom victoria, australia

Very average hotel but location suited our needs.

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. Love the location (for our requirements) Shower was exhilarating.
Cons: The whole hotel needs an upgrade. Management needs to spend a night in each room and have the same experience as the guests.
Location: China town, Paddy's Market, Powerhouse Museum. Walk to Central Station, light rail, all lead to all everything and everywhere in Sydney.
Stayed there about 20 yrs ago and it does not look like any maintenance has been done since then. The layout of the room is fine, but every aspect needs updating or repairing. The dining room is open for breakfast only and we had to ask for cutlery and crockery. The food is basic and boring, but well cooked. What was the delightful bar is also closed. Drinks are available in the lobby at a dispensing machine. On our first night we chose to go to the nearest pub, which was not that pleasant, but provided food and drinks. China town is a much cheaper and more pleasant option and only about 6 mins walk away. Housekeeping was very ordinary, with our used glasses not being washed on the first day and the bed making was just a "pull up" with lots of wrinkles in sheets and pillows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth

Location, Location, Location: Superb!

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Efficient staff
Cons: Dining facilities
Location: Location - superb!
The Hotel is Ok. Staff very helpful in giving us access to our room at 9.30am. No complaints at all...but is all about the excellent central location and nearby facilities. We walked to Darling Harbour, Paddy's Market, Chinatown... buses, light rail and central station nearby. Will certainly stay there next time I am on holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom b

NRL grand final

Posted Oct 13, 2014
I was only staying one night. I found the hotel closer to transport and the city. Out was clean and neat and comfortable.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Richardfrom Warrnambool

Value for money

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is a little tired but the staff were good and the value for money excellent when staying in Sydney. If you simply need a place to sleep on a budget then this fits the bill.