Ratings based on 181 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom colorado

Nice place

Posted Jan 16, 2015
Will stay there again. Clean, comfortable, quiet. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It's great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. We truly appreciate your comments about your clean, comfortable, quiet room. It is also great to know that you appreciated our convenient location. Thank you again for your review. We look forward to hosting you again in the future!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Union City

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: Centrally Located!!!!
Cons: Cleaning List
Location: Shopping
Public Areas were Very Dirty!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom SF Bay Area visitor

Good price for a short stay in that area.

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Price and availability on short notice in the location we needed.
Cons: Cleanliness is always something hotels can improve on.
Location: Location is within an sprawling outdoor suburban-style shopping mall surrounded by housing tracts. Near freeway exit
Nothing to complain about given the affordable price and geography. Interior is cheaply done and simple, but was in good repair, reasonably clean, and secure. Only surprise was that hotel parking is not restricted from surrounding mall parking except by a signs. Reservation and price honored perfectly! Staff polite and attentive. Cancellation deadline was useful for tentative travel planning. Location is within an sprawling outdoor suburban-style shopping mall. Off a busy street serving the mall and neighborhood traffic. Many stores, fast food, and chain restaurants within the same mall. Close to chain grocery store, and even a cinema.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 30, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with polite and attentive service provided by our staff; however, I am sorry for the parking experience you had. I will work with my staff to ensure that only guests are parking in our lot. Once more, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again, as your travel brings you back to our area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place

Posted Dec 19, 2014
Better than expected. Next to Union Landing with tons of options such as restaurants, movie theater, super market. Great area
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 26, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and the great service provided by our staff during your stay. Its great to hear that you appreciated the proximity of our hotel to to shopping and dining. Once more, thank you for your review. We hope to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom 広島

いつもの定宿。

Posted Dec 16, 2014
悪くもなくよくもなく。近くにスーパー、飲食店があるのは助かる。少し値段が高いかな。SFOから遠いが、OAKからは近い。ロス経由なら楽かも。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Bed was very terrible. Very time you move . It making sound.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Campbell, Ca

Good Location

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Location: There are plenty of resturants around this hotel whatever you are in the mood to eat they have a resturant, movie theater is just a short walk.
This was my second time staying at this hotel. The first time was a good experience, this time i was very upset with the hotel staff and the accomodations. When I booked a room at this I did so because I had a really good experience the first time I stayed here. I booked a smoking king size bed. When I arrived for check in i was informed that the smoking room was not available due to maintenance, I was not informed by the hotel by email or hell a phone to let me know they had no smoking rooms available beofe i got there. I said okay fine, then i was informed the King size bed that i paid for was also not available either. the last room that was available was a Queen size bed in a very small room. The king suite that I paid for is a much bigger room and this room was so small I could barely move around in this room.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Union City, CA

Not for an extended stay

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Stayed for 3 days because of house being remodeled. Had to request everything needed for the kitchen. We received a toaster, a couple plates, a couple dish rags, 6 knifes, ONE FORK, and ONE CUP. The coffee maker, forks, and cups were not sanitized yet. We ate at restaurants. Pool was being fixed and hot water was shut off for 6 hrs because of leak. We didn't qualify for housekeeping because we weren't staying 5 days. There were many more little upsets that all together made our stay unenjoyable. Not a hotel I would consider for an Extended Stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 8, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am sorry to hear that your dish pack was not sanitized. I can assure you that I will discuss with my team about all issues and will re-train them on the sanitizing procedure to ensure your experience is not repeated. I do apologize that the our pool was closed due to maintenance work and also water supply was shut off for 6 hours. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience at our hotel the next time you're in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom CA

Nice hotel. Good size kitchen.

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Good. Close to lots of restaurants, walking distants if you don't feel like cooking your self. Also close walking to two grocery stores if you do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 10, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear your comments about our hotel where you enjoyed everything including our nice kitchen. I'm happy that you enjoyed our location as well. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with another enjoyable stay in the future
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom st

Rhis hotel is close to restaurants and stores..

Posted Nov 16, 2014
Our experience in this hotel is terrible! Me and my husband reserved for our room a week ahead, and we chose to be on a non smoking room, but when we came in the lady said they dont have any available non-smoking room.. I didnt complain because my husband is tired and wants to sleep.. When we came inside the room, the pillows are not comfy, towels are not in place.. Looks like it was used.. I dont know.. And the room looks dirty.. I dont wanna come back here anymore.. Id rather go to motel 6..
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 26, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I sincerely apologize that you have been given a smoking room instead of a non-smoking room, and that your room was not properly cleaned before your arrival. In response to your review, I will be meeting with my team to review our reservation procedures and our cleanliness standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you for providing us with your feedback. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.