Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.2 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Southern California

I would NOT take a complimentary night

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: The location is the only thing this place has going for themselves. It's close to restaurants and stores. Lots of places within walking distance.
Cons: Fix the windows so that we can actually open them. Clean your carpets.
Location: TGIFriday's, Walmart, Buffalo Wild Wings, Lucky's.... lots more.
I got placed in a smoking room because supposedly, "I requested it." The very rude receptionist was unable to accommodate us in a non-smoking room so we were stuck in a stinky room, with dirty carpet stains and non-working windows. We had to use the shelves in the cupboard to hold up the windows so the room could air out all weekend. We also febreezed the place and bought a candle next door at Walmart to alleviate the stench. There was a roach in our restroom and we also saw another one in the hallway. We asked for an extra pillow and blanket (since we were sleeping with the windows open because of the smell) and the night receptionist was extremely rude and said they didn't have any clean ones... How does that even make sense in a hotel chain of this size? Overall, it was utterly disappointing. The location is the only thing working in its favor. I would not stay in this establishment even if were complimentary.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am so sorry to read that you were in placed in a smoking room and that my staff was not accommodating. I will be working with my front desk to review our reservation and check-in procedures to ensure that this does not happen again. As well, I will be working with our cleaning team and maintenance person to ensure that rooms have been thoroughly cleaned and inspected by maintenance before check in so that your experience is not repeated. I will also be working with my staff to review our customer service standards to ensure that we are providing, courteous, attentive and accommodating service. Thank you very much for providing us with your feedback. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The room smelled so bad there was hair all over

Posted Oct 21, 2014
The room smelled so bad it had hair everywhere and the beds were just awfully firm and uncomfortable
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize that that your room had cleanliness issues and a bad odor, and that you found your bed to be uncomfortable. I will be working my housekeeping staff to review our cleanliness standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. As well, your comments about the comfort of your bed will be helpful to us as we continually work to improve our guest experience. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share you feedback with us. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2014
weekend stay ... although there were brouchers in the room telling you about the FULL kitchen .. there was nothing there ... and the kitchen towel was dirty I exchanged it at the front desk .. they were very nice .. and was told the kitchens were not stocked yet ... then why the brouchers? I was only looking for a plate and would not have used the kitchen but it was a suprise all in all if you are NOt going to need use of the kitchen a good place to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I sincerely apologize that your kitchen did not meet your expectations due to my staff not fully explaining our policies to you. In response to your review, I will be looking into the brochure issue that you mentioned. As well, I will work with my staff to ensure that we are informing all guests of our request policy upon check-in. This feedback will be helpful to us as we continually work to improve our guest expedience. Once again, thank you for taking the time to share you experience with us. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco Bay Area

A good value

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Efficient and quiet A/C. Clean little kitchens w/supplies available at front desk. Good water pressure. Desk, table, and a recliner in room.
Cons: Bedding was thin and the bed was uncomfortably firm.
Location: The location is extremely convenient. A movie theater, grocery store, and about a dozen sit-down and fast-food restaurants within walking distance.
We stayed in at this hotel for a week while waiting for our new apartment to be renovated. It was perfectly fine -- comfortable and quiet. I thought the price was a little high on a few of our nights for the value, though. The carpet in our room seemed like it could use another run over with a vacuum, but it was not dirty. Everything else was clean as far as I could tell. If you're trying to get into San Francisco, note that this is about a 10 minute drive to the BART, and a 40m ride in after that. It's a good 35-45m drive in to the city with no traffic. If you're trying to get into the city on a weekday morning, forget it. Seems like mostly families and business travelers/blue collar workers staying here. There were some kids staying across the hall on our first night with two full trash buckets of beer and liquor outside their door, but I couldn't hear them at all in our room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Jordan - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am glad to hear that you found your stay to be quiet and comfortable. I appreciate your comments regarding the carpet in your room. I will be sure to speak with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not continue in the future. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope that you will stay at our hotel, or any of our other brand locations, in the future.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad stay

Posted Sep 29, 2014
Romm r ok smell of smoke in non smoking room even linen smell like smoke. Ask to change romm not available. First have to wait for roon to be clean..
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I apologize for the unpleasant odor you experienced in your room. As well, I am sorry that you had to wait for a new room to be cleaned before you could change rooms. I will be meeting with our staff to ensure this does not happen in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better stay in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom LA

Good location.

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Great location. Clean room but no water to drink in rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 20, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Tom - Thank you for writing a review of our hotel. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your clean room and our convenient location. Thank you again for your feedback. We hope to see you again soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom oakland ca

Enjoy

Posted Sep 2, 2014
I wanted to relax and enjoy myself. And that's what I got there..
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Darryl - Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We are so glad that we could provide you with a relaxing stay. Thank you again for your kind review. We hope to provide you with another comfortable stay in the future.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Union City

This hotel is ok !

Posted Aug 31, 2014
This hotel is near a major plaza giving convenience to moderate shopping or meals. Aside from the lack wash clothes and the smell of cigarettes in the hall way it was an ok stay considering the other hotels in the surrounding area were either enxspensive or in povered areas.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 24, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am glad that our location was convenient for you; however, I apologize that you were not provided with adequate linens and that there was a smoke odor in the hallway. I will be working with my staff to review our cleanliness procedures so that we can work to prevent odors in the future. As well, I will be working with my staff to ensure that guests are provided with adequate linens. Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better stay the next time you're in the area
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by choosyfrom hayward

changes

Posted Aug 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
how come this kind of hotel will take out all the kitchen equipment, and the front desk never told me anything of the kithchen set up, that we need to request it...why nt, when the person cehck in,its an autoatic option to offer.second, in this branch of extended stay, the pool was close. 2 days we stayed and we never saw anyone used the pool..because its closed.the guys who are in front desk are not so nice to answer query. hmmm..better to have a girl in front..
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. I am sorry to hear that you were not informed of our new kitchen policy upon check-in. We now keep our kitchen equipment behind the front desk to ensure they are properly sanitized, and we provide them upon request. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are making sure that we communicate this policy to all guests at check-in. As well, I regret to read that you received poor service from my front desk staff. I will be meeting with them to review customer service standards to ensure that your experience is not repeated. The staff and I appreciate your comments, as it will only help us to improve. Thank you for choosing Extended Stay America. We hope we have the opportunity to see you again in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by isabelfrom alameda

surprised!

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
well, i was surprised on few things. first, i was surprised that the kitchen stuff are not in the kitchen anymore,and you have to request it.like,you will be given a paper to circle what you need. the reason why we used to stay in this kind of hotel is the convinient of feeling like youre in your own house. second, i ask for the wifi password, which the guy gave me as soon as i checkd-in, to found out,wrong password...then i asked for a hair dryer( which i remember thay have before) the guy said they dont have hair dryer...im not happy..but, i have to used my booking.