Ratings based on 428 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

sigh

Posted Mar 25, 2015
no coffee in room. mix of rude staff and helpful ones...obviously depending on their personal traits not a consistent training program. not terrible, but not great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

Glamourous room

Posted Mar 16, 2015
It was very comfortable and the queen size room was very well set out for one. Brilliantly designed small bathroom It would have been good to have someone to show me the room - it took me too long to work it all out including the lighting! And I was surprised by the scaffolding outside the window - all these things just needed an explanation
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Location was in good proximity of what we needed.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Pros: Only 5 star (?) hotel in this area.
Cons: Lots. See above.
Location: Not much unless you need to be close to where you need to be. Union Square Green market is interesting. Close proximity to South Broadway and Villages
Stayed in this hotel many times. Hotel lacks accessible for a hotel guest bar, restaurant or coffee shop facility. Restaurant at the hotel is always jam packed with people from outside of hotel who had preference over hotel guests. You can never get in to dine and will be forced to go and search for a meal somewhere in the neighborhood not rich with great restaurants and not existing coffee shops. This is especially difficult in a bad weather. You confined to average room service menu. Restaurant management is rude and arrogant. The hotel is decorated in bohemian style which can forgive wear on the interior, but still needs renovation. Shower fixtures attached so high that if you are not tall person forget to access it. Bathtub and tile need renovation. Towels need to be according 5 star hotel quality. This room had ultra small closet. Maid service was excellent.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom London

Stylish hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Cons: wifi
- great crowd - slow service - busy bar - slow internet
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location in Manhattan, beautiful room decor!

Posted Jan 26, 2015
Pros: the staff, the decor, and the location.
Cons: nothing, all great.
Location: Perfect. Close to the good stuff in Union Sq. etc
So great. Perfect place for a time to relax with my wife.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Moscow, Russia

Stylish hotel at Gramercy Park

Posted Jan 15, 2015
Nice experience overall, professional staff. Some things have gotten worse compared to my previous stay, such as the breakfast on top of the hotel is no more, as that area is now for private events, and full breakfast is not served until 10 am weekends at the restaurant on the first floor. The gym has always been a joke and remains so.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location but weather frigid.

Posted Jan 11, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Front staff was erratic but to be honest I had more than one dumb question
Location: I know the location but weather stopped me from wandering.
As someone who lived in a house in the W. Village for 55 yrs, ran a B&B there for 22, staying in a hotel was so strange. This was my first time in NY since selling (came back for closing) and I was apprehensive. Wanted to be out of Village but not Uptown. Weather horridly cold (as I now live in CA) and may come back for the location in the fall. Personally, everything was so dark. I am just too old to be in the dark...elevators all black and could barely find the floor! But this is an age thing. Ugh. As someone naive about hotel life, I had some problems but most of the staff were very nice. Room not my style (my opinion as an ex interior designer)and bathroom tiny. Will not go into that. Thought 16th floor, wow, but looked out on...what was it? ... and I had a problem figuring out/setting the heat/air. Strangely enough, if I felt I could afford a Room With A View in a Good Season, might very well come back. Morning coffee ordered in room every morning was EXCELLENT as was the mattress. Will be replacing mine ASAP. For the mattress epiphany alone I am grateful. I guess I am just not chic enough and too old to appreciate your special style. But depending on life's surprisesI may be back...asking that one nice young man on your staff multi times to help me get into my room. (I did ask how much it would cost to buy one of the goblets in the bar. $80 seemed steep for a memoir. How many just take them I wonder? I took all bath products. Thank you
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Good hotel well positioned for shops and transport

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Likes & well recommended: Location, top Concierge staff, Housekeeping staff, lobby staff, local shops for breakfast & dinner, tube station close by.
Cons: Dislikes: Surly reception staff engrossed on computers, reception desk used as a gathering post for hotel staff to natter, regardless of guests.
Location: Gramercy Park Hotel is well situated for tube or cab rides directly to Times square and surrounding tourist attractions.
We booked into the Gramercy Park Hotel for a well deserved Christmas break from 23rd December - 30th December. Arriving at JFK airport, we hit delays with the Expedia-arranged car transfer company, with the driver venting down the phone to his superior about his wages, we arrived at the hotel 1.5 hours late! We were warmly greeted by the hotel lobby manager. We had requested a quite room but were disappointed to have a room almost directly opposite the lift! Although we had a superb room with modern features, the main door isn't sound-proofed enough, and noise from outside is constantly heard, particularity late at night with returning guests. I'm not sure if the hotel has a policy informing guests to keep the noise down as they enter and exit the lifts? They also have a late-night bar playing music which closes around 2:30 am and can be heard as high as the 11th floor! Bizarre for a 5* hotel Gramercy Park Hotel is well situated for tube or cab rides directly to Times square and surrounding tourist attractions. As we didn't use the hotel restaurants (£45 each for a basic continental breakfast is awesome) we found some delightful alternatives not too far from the hotel, used by locals and professionals alike, and excellent value. Gramercy Park Hotel is a old fashioned type of hotel with lots of dark wood, heavy curtains and mood lighting. You practically require night-vision goggles as the lighting is very dim, but this adds to the general feel and style of the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom r

Gear hotel and good location

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Had a terrific time at hotel. Beautiful rooms nice staff. Very comfortable and efficient staff made stay sweet!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Chapel Hill, NC

Nice hotel, but I got an uncomfortable room.

Posted Dec 23, 2014
Room was too hot, mini-bar fridge did not keep things cold. After repeated reports of thermostat difficulties, it was obvious the problem was unfixable. Asked to be moved, but no other rooms available first night. Not a great experience for the money spent.