Ratings based on 869 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location for SF!

Posted Mar 24, 2015
Pros: Staff was extremely courteous and helpful.
Cons: Noise
Location: Shopping!
Very friendly and helpful staff. Room was next to utility room so a bit noisy. Great location, close to shopping and dining. It was nice to come back from a long day to a complimentary glass of wine.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad smell

Posted Mar 18, 2015
Bad smell all over the place. The AC is noisy. Find a better popular brand that has high standards
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Tolles Hotel mit sehr hilfsbereitem Team. Schön gelegen, 2 Minuten zum Union Square zur Fuß. Nette Restaurantes in der Nähe, gerne weider.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, amazing staff!

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Proximity to everywhere we wanted to go; walking distance to great restaurants, the farmer's market down at Ferry Plaza, Union Square.
Location: Being next door to Café de la Presse is a bonus, but eat lightly as there is such delicious eating in San Fran you will need the extra room.
I booked through Expedia and had no reservations about choosing this Hotel as I had stayed there before. The mistake I made was in consideration of bed size. I thought I had booked 2 queen rooms but they ended up being full beds which are quite the snuggle for 2 adults :). I admitted my error to the check in staff and while he did need to confirm availability, he upgraded all 4 of us to a king room at no additional charge. That was really appreciated! We were very comfortable in our rooms and had a nice view, too.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 11, 2015 by Nikki, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Thank you for the great review! I am delighted to read that our staff took such great care of you, that type of feedback never gets old. Our location and neighborhood is very centrally located to many different neighborhoods, attractions, and you mentioned it great dining options! Come back and visit us soon. Cheers, Nikki Carlson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London, UK

Boutique hotel in a great location

Posted Feb 28, 2015
We stayed at the Triton for five nights on our holiday in San Francisco, and it's in an excellent location right next to the Chinatown Gate. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and happy to help booking tours and giving directions. The hotel definitely had a boutique feel - I've never stayed at a hotel before where they offered a goldfish in a bowl for our room! The bed was very comfortable and the room clean. Although we were on the second floor, the noise from the street didn't keep us awake. The air conditioner was on the loud side, luckily the temperature in January meant we didn't need it running very much and opened the window instead. Could the hotel do with a little bit of renovation? Yes, almost certainly, but it didn't detract from a brilliant stay and was good value overall. I'd stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Nikki C., Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Thank you for the great 4 star review. We are delighted that you enjoyed our style, and that our staff took such great care of you! As you mentioned our location is premiere close to many different neighborhoods, attractions, and dining options. Glad you holiday was most enjoyable. Come back and visit us soon. Cheers, Nikki Carlson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location - city centre

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Great experience. Air con was loud but a blessing to have if. Despite being in the centre if SF the room was very quiet.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Nikki, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Thank you for the review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Come back soon! Cheers, Nikki Carlson
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom uk

Great city location

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: Style and location
Location: Chinatown , Union square
Great location in Central SF. Just about squeezed 2 beds into room for kids but suspect families not target audience for this hotel. No worries from us though, excellent location, staff, and we had a great time
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Nikki, Hotel Management
Hi Stephen, Thank you for the great review! We are glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the location and staff. Come back and visit us soon. Cheers, Nikki Carlson
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Christchurch

Two thumbs up!!

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Hotel is in a great location. Only a few minutes walk to Union Square for the shops, bars, and restaurants. Fishermans Warf and Pier 39 are also within walking distance if you feel like braving some of the hills! Hotel staff were amongst the friendliest we have ever encountered. Nothing was too much trouble and they all had good knowledge of the city. Rooms were clean and comfy and come with a stocked mini bar!! We particularly liked the free tea and coffee every morning, complimentary cookies at 3pm, and the hosted wine hour in the evening! We loved our stay:)
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Nikki, Hotel Management
Hey Traveler, Wahoo! Thanks for the great review. I may be biased but I think our staff is amazing also. You really can't beat the location we are in either. It's great to read that you were able to enjoy some of our Kimpton branded programs such as wine and coffee. We hope to be your hotel of choice next time you are in SF. Cheers! Nikki Carlson
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Singapore

Perfect location

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: Nice location, very near Market Street and Chinatown.
Great stay. Room was well equipped, but a bit small. There was no bathtub, but the room had air-conditioning, and good views of chinatown. Safe area, and good shopping all around the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Nikki, Hotel Management
Hey Mahesh, Thank you for the 4 star review! We a delighted that you loved out location, and that you found the room comfortable and "well equipped." We look forward to have you back next time you are in San Francisco. Warm Regards, Nikki C
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Baton Rouge

Great location in the heart of SF

Posted Jan 29, 2015
We love Kimpton--great courteous staff, comfy beds and pillows and always some water or wine or coffee in the lobby!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Nikki, Hotel Management
Hi Karen, Wahooo! Thank you for the great review. We love our loyal members. Can't beat a great night sleep, great staff, and of course wine hour. Come back and see us soon. Cheers, Nikki