Ratings based on 120 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom LI

No Lights?

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Hotel Verite is a decent place to stay. There were much better hotels for much less with last minute booking deals. None of the lighting fixtures were plugged in. Not sure why the bathroom lights didn't turn on either, but I didn't bother to have them fix it since I only used this place to crash on Halloween night. It was overall clean, but the carpets definitely need a deep cleaning. Bed was comfortable and bedding materials were nice and spotless. Attractive lobby. Staff was friendly and helpful during check in and out. Room was quite small. Overall, it's a decent place to crash, but not worth the rate. I would not stay again unless I had no choice based on value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Amandafrom Melbourne

Great finish to a family trip

Posted Oct 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
My 2 sisters and I were visiting NY following a family wedding in DC. We shared the room with the 2 double beds and 1 sofa bed. The room was large, clean and modern with a large bathroom. Wooden floorboards instead of carpet added to modern look and is a big improvement on dodgy carpets most hotels have. I was expecting the web photo to have been misleading to give the impression of a bigger room but the room was even bigger than it seemed on the site photo. The window looked out onto Broadway but due to the double glazing the traffic noise was pleasantly minimal and we loved the occasional rumble below us of the subway train. (we were on 3rd floor) The bedding was very comfortable with the only drawback being the sofa bed was a fold down the middle style and not a pull out style and there is always a ridge down the middle of these type of beds which makes them a little more uncomfortable. The location was fantastic and within walking distance of most sights and easy access to the subway. A 5 minute walk to Eataly was an absolute bonus. The staff were friendly and very helpful. There is no refrigerator in the room but access to one is provided downstairs along with coffee and tea facilities also downstairs. It would have been nice to have this in the room but no big problem really.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Buenos Aires

Hotel en el Flatiron District

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Hotel boutique ubicado entre Union Square y Madison Square, excelente comunicación. Personal atento y amable. Muy buena limpieza. Habitaciones amplias con camas de gran calidad. Es una pena que no sirvan desayunos en su bar restaurante. En síntesis: muy recomendable, volvería.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Dr Eileen Epsteinfrom Baltimore MD

Hotel Verite

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was very disappointed with my room. When I booked it thru Hotels.com there was no indication that the room had no windows and no bathtub. They changed my room to one with windows, but for a bathtub I'd have to pay $125+ more. The hallways were dark and dingy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: That it was clean.
Cons: They could improve on transportation information and be able to offer a different mod of transportation instead of the cub. Offer a car service.
Location: There are a lot of things to do in NYC but you have a long walk to get to things you have to us some kind of transportation and you can get anywhere.
The Hotel was nice and clean could be a little cheaper. The only complaints I have is we got woken up at 7:00 AM by the someone up stairs above us it sounded like the where bowling up there. It lasted for about an hour. It is very hard to get a cab from the hotel and the desk person wasn't helpful in getting us transportation to Penn Station. We even asked them about calling a cab and he said you have to stand outside and hold one. It toke us about 15 minutes outside the hotel to move to the end of the block to get a cab from there with 4 heavy bags with 2 of us doing this and then had to wait there for another at lest 20 minutes to get a cab. When we asked about transportation bus where would could get it. The people we asked a the desk said they didn't know anything about the bus only the subway. I was traveling with a couple of friends that have had problems on the subway and wasn't comfortable riding them again. So my suggest to anyone that stays here is plain a head and make sure you know where the bus stops are and get the Metro card early. One of the people I was with knew the city well and could get us to the buses but it would of been a lot easier if the hotel knew this information.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Hotel in guter Lage

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Cons: neuer Fußbodenbelag im Zimmer, Regal
nichts für Leute die Zeit auf dem Zimmer verbringen, da unsere Suite nur einen Lichtschacht hatte, das Hotel ist ruhig gelegen (Flat Iron Distrikt), in Park nähe(Union Sq), in 15 min läuft man zu Fuß zum Empire State Building, 30 min zum Busbahnhof 42 Str, die Zimmer waren groß, der Bodenbelag müsste ausgetauscht werden, das Bad war neu und groß, es gibt in der Lobby den ganzen Tag Kaffee und Tee inklusive, Preisleistung für NY gut, Free Wireless Internet
3 out of 5
Recommended
by kenfrom toronto

Posted Sep 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location. Great staff. The fact a number of rooms don't have windows is a bit of an issue. Was very strange to be in a room with only a small skylight. TV channels very limited with terrible reception on a few channels. Only stayed 1 night so not a big deal, but would not have liked to stay in a windowless room 2 nights or more. Staff are great though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom pittsburgh pa

quiet hotel with good restaurant

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: quiet not busy
Cons: couldnt fill coffee cups all the way because of spout
Location: close to union square
the staff was pleasant and courteous. coffee was good. coffee station was clean and filled.