Ratings based on 8,570 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
The hotel itself is nice but the location of the hotel is terrible. It is not safe to walk around night specially if you have kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Dallas

Good hotel in center of everything

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Comfortable rooms
Cons: Pool. More staff at reception.
Location: Too many to mention. You could spend a week here. Bike the Golden Gate Bridge!
This was a good choice for a weekend in SF. Took the BART from the airport - very easy as Powell St station is right by hotel. It is also right by a cable car stop so you could get a 3 day cable car pass and use that to do Fishermans Wharf etc. In the end, we did not do to long lines - we used Uber to great effect. The hotel has no pool which is a little disappointing for a 4 star but is otherwise completely up to standard. Beds are very comfortable. I took advice from previous reviews and got a room high up - 27th floor - which made street noise distant. There are quite a lot of homeless on the streets nearby but we never felt threatened and very quickly worked out where to avoid walking if possible.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle

Not the 5 star experience I expected

Posted Mar 30, 2015
-tissue in window to keep it open upon arrival -bed hurt my back -no bathroom fan so the whole room smelt bad when someone had to go number 2. Very uncomfortable for both parties staying in the room. -the credit card they got from me, they said didn't work so they locked us out of our room on the second night. We had to go back down to give then a second card. -long lines to check in and to get into elevator - no one made us feel welcome upon arrival. -they let the bums roll around outside the hotel so every time you went outside it was extremely uncomfortable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: When we expressed our disappointment over our room, we were offered two days of complimentary brunches & two cocktails which was not necessary.
Cons: One phone did not work, small coffee pot & lousy tasting coffee, no frig, air did not cool well
We stayed three nights but spent most of our time there sightseeing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pretty nice place. Beds a little firm for my liking but otherwise a nice place in a nice location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Convenient enough to the convention center, shopping and good restaurants. Feels a little unsafe outside at night given the neighborhood, but for the most part no problems. Beds are very comfortable, but it is a little dark in the room and the bathroom.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Palm Springs

Great downtown location

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Location!
We arrived very early and they waived the early check in fee. Off to a great start. Valet parking is $51 for the night, with in and out privileges. Well worth the price. The location is fabulous. Near many of the popular sights, including the trolley car. Easy walk to the ferry building and unions square. Loads of great shopping and eating opportunities nearby. The room was comfortable with a large bathroom. We had the buffet breakfast, which was very tasty with lots of different choices. All in all a good hotel and a good price in a very expensive city.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

5 Person Family - Not Comfortable

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: Location, location, location. Right in Union Square and 2 blocks from the cable car turnaround. Awesome. Walk to just about any restaurant or store
Cons: Employees were somewhat abrupt and not up to expected Hilton standards. The lobby is trying to be very "chic" but is not user friendly. Valet $$$$.
Location: Location, location, location. Right in Union Square and 2 blocks from the cable car turnaround. Awesome. Walk to just about any restaurant or store
Hotel had offered a roll away bed with a 2 bed suite when I reserved the room. In reality this was not an option. 2 kids sleeping on the floor each night. $51 per night for valet parking is a necessary evil. The guy that checked me in said because it was a mini-van it would be $59 per night. Had to make sure that invoiced correctly. The room was very small. We found the lobby to be not well laid out at all. We were up early in the morning and wanted to sit by a window and look at the city while we drank our coffee. Nothing even close to that available unless you wanted to get a window seat in the restaurant but then you'd have to buy a $2 piece of fruit to do so.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, fab location!

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Close to BART station which you can take from the airport--couldn't be easier or faster and sbout $8.50 each. Also close to trolley car up to fisherman's wharf, etc! We have stayed here several times and will do so again! Highly recommend this hotel!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great Location and helpful staff

Posted Mar 29, 2015
Pros: Great location and helpful staff.
Cons: Cleaning staff were a little too enthusiastic wanting access to the room at 8am some mornings.
Location: Around the corner from Union Square and shopping district.
We stayed at the hotel over Christmas, and found the staff quite helpful when my husband was unwell, providing us with everything we needed, making an appointment with a local doctor and giving me advice in exploring the city on my own. The location was perfect, just around the corner from Union Square and the shopping, with good transport links to the sites.