Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Freq Traveler from Tennessee

Great views, Friendly Staff

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Super friendly and helpful staff
Cons: The wireless service was fast. However, it required you to log in every single time you shut off your device. It was quite irritating.
Location: Zugspitze, Oberammergau, Neuschwanstein and Linderhof castles, too many other things to list. You dont be disappointed!
The room we had was spacious and offered nice views. The breakfast was typical German fare and it was excellent. The staff all spoke good English which was a plus. And, I can't say enough about how nice and friendly the staff was at the hotel. The hotel's location was a short walk away from quite a few things to do and places to eat. Parking was free on the street in front of the hotel. The dinner we had there was one of the best we had in Germany. The only negatives were the bed was a little too hard for my taste and the problems with constantly having to log into the wireless service. Minor annoyances that might not affect other people. Overall, I would recommend this hotel for anyone from single travelers to families. The family that runs the hotel are super friendly and I would stay there again anytime.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bruce from Ocala, FL, USA

Room With A View

Posted May 31, 2013
Pros: The restaurant is great.
Cons: Nothing to mention.
Location: The location is fabulous. If you get a room on the 1st floor, on the south side of the hotel, you get a patio with a great view.
Garmisch and especially this hotel, was the best experience of our vacation in Bavaria. The restaurant has great food and the continental breakfast buffet in the morning was very good. The hotel is right in town. Parking is on the street or in a parking garage under the hotel so there is no parking problem. We parked on the street. Staff was very friendly and there are enough English speakers so language is never a problem. The room was very clean and comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Central location

Posted May 1, 2013 on Hotels.com
Room opened to deck on back yard area, to a stone patio deck. Nice, clean restaurant. Friendly staff. Would return, anytime!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Neil from Scotland, UK

Delightful Hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2013
Pros: Location, lovely room and superb breakfast
Cons: Restaurant in the evening
Location: Lovely part of Partenkirchen, with splendid views
Very good hotel tucked away in a delightful street in Partenkirchen with lovely views. We arrived early evening and took a taxi to the hotel, walking is possible but after traveling all day we were keen to get to the hotel. The room was warm and welcoming although nothing too fancy, it was our 33rd wedding anniversary and the hotel had put rose petals on the bed with handmade hearts on the pillows, great start to the holiday. Bar and restaurant are set in a traditional room, very cosy and just right for a draft of lager or a light bite to eat. The staff are all very friendly and we felt at home straight away. Awoke next day and opened up our curtains to a fantastic view of the German Alps, blue sky and snow covered mountains, just wonderful. Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice, very fresh and assisted by very friendly staff. We were sad to leave and we will definitely return, Hotel Schatten helped make this holiday very special and I have no hesitation recommending it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 20, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by randb from North Yorkshire, UK

Great place.

Posted Jun 23, 2012
The Hotel was very traditional. Staff were very friendly and the service was outstanding. Breakfast and evening meals were excellent, both for quality and value. Would highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel excellent location

Posted May 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is ideally situated to a lot of excellent restaurants. Very nice location to a lot of things. Very clean hotel with excellent staff. Continental breakfast was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by NB from Florida, USA

Comfortable hotel room with beautiful view

Posted Apr 3, 2012
Pros: The room space and the view.
Location: Further walk to the main downtown area. Quite area.
Spent late January at this hotel. Fairly small, but extremely comfortable. Family owned and it was reflected in their friendly service. Great breakfast with a variety of meats, cheeses, pastries, hard boiled eggs, tomatoes, yogurt, cereals, and fruit. Also excellent dinner if you just feel like having "dinner in" which was perfect after a long day of travel into GP. Within walking distance of a shopping/dining area. A bit farther from the main "downtown" shopping area, but still walkable. Has a parking garage in the basement, which was a lifesaver for native Floridians spending winter in the German Alps, who are not used to scraping snow off of the car. We stayed in the Junior Suite, which is pictured as one of the gallery photos. The room and the view were incredible. The bed was so comfortable, and the room had enough space to spread out.