Ratings based on 78 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Realitas

Oberammergau w/o frills. Charges/guest not room

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Location, rustic atmosphere
Cons: CLARIFY charges and better communication with Expedia
Location: Oberammergau: attractive hand carved toys Region: driving distance to Alps, King Ludwig's castles
Make sure you verify if reservation through Expedia or other agency that they back up the price. Surprised to find out that we had to pay another 161.80 euros extra at the hotel despite the WRITTEN guarantee from Expedia of their final price for all the guests ! Apparently Expedia calculated per room/night while the hotel charged per guest/ night. Off beaten path location and plenty of parking. If you like rustic...check! Quiet! Nice view if room faces the Ammergau Alps. Rooms adequate if traveling lightly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

My favorite hotel in Germany!!!!!!

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: The nice staff, the food, the VIEW!!
Cons: I hope this place never changes
Location: Hiking, biking, swimming, zugspitze
Driving through Germany, my wife and I decided to give this place a shot. As soon as we walked in the front doors, we fell in love with the atmosphere. The staff was very nice and personable and the dinner and breakfast were unforgettable. The view from this hotel is something most people would pay top dollar for in the states. Breathtaking!! We stayed 2 nights at the hotel and couldn't get out our room because of how comfortable it was. If I ever come back to Germany, Im planning more nights in this town and hotel because it was the best part of our 3.5 week Europe tour. Thank you for the wonderful time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Justin from US/Italy

No frills hotel in a gorgeous scenery

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Great hotel, perhaps needs a little updating in the rooms but we didn't care. Beautiful scenery and excellent food at the restaurant enclosed. We will be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Portland oregon USA

Very , very nice place to stay.

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: Location, friendliness and the dinner.
Location: A 2 minute drive to the center of town. Very convenient. Our room looked out on a green field and snow.
A really refreshing change from chain hotels. Dinner is excellent! Very peaceful. Everyone a perfect host!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Superb

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Could not ask for a friendlier staff and a more idyllic location. Next time we will stay longer.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jerry & Pam from Enterprise AL

Eric and the staff are great

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: the people and the view of the mountain across the meadow from our room and the restaurant
The staff make you feel like you are family or old friends. Upon arrival , Peter arranged reservations for Neuschwanstein which we didn't realize we needed. When we arrived at the castle the crowds and line were very big, but we just breezed through. Eric helped us extend our stay for one day to see the annual fire on the mountain celebration by personally calling the next hotel. Breakfast and dinner were included and were very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good friendly hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2013
Pros: friendly staff, good shower and lovely balcony
Cons: room was a little small with not enough places to put personal bits on
Location: excellent
The staff here are helpful and excellent. The room was very nice, but a little small for two people. The shower was good and the view from the balcony excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Canada

nice stay

Posted Jul 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice hotel, the owner maps an area for you to see and is worth while doing. The food very good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent value Hotel Friendshohe

Posted Jun 20, 2013
Pros: friendly staff
Location: Excellent
This is a family run Hotel in an excellent location. Erik and his family are charming. The food is suberb and we had a positive experience.