Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bryan from Stuttgart, Germany

Beautiful view close to everything

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Pros: Friendly staff, delicious breakfast, and free wifi.
Cons: Add air conditioning.
The hotel itself was great, the staff were friendly, the restaurant had delicious food and house beer, and it was close to everything. The view of the mountains were breath taking. Definitely recommend staying here, but maybe only during cooler months where you can leave the windows closed. The only real complaint I have about the hotel isn't really something they can do anything about. The hotel, like a lot of places in Europe, does not have Air Conditioning. This past weekend when we stayed it reached 33 degrees (91F), so without A/C, the only hope of staying somewhat cool was to keep the windows and balcony door open. But in doing so, the road right in front of the hotel was heavily traveled. We were kept up all night by loud cars racing down the road, and what sounded like 18 wheelers coming through. There was also loud music being played somewhere. When we closed the windows, it was dead quiet, but the heat became too much. So if you are staying in cooler months, opt for the beautiful mountain view. If staying during warmer months, opt for the walled off garden view so you can be cool and have peace and quiet at night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Such nice people in such a quaint little location

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: The location is excellent as it's within walking distance to both the main train station as well as the Zugspitze Bahnhof.
Location: It's right next to a ton of little shops which my wife loved.
We had room 203 which is a corner room with a full bathroom with shower. The view was outstanding from both sides, the espresso machine was a nice perk, they greeted my wife with a flower upon arrival, their breakfast was outstanding (yes you can order eggs and such, but go try those meats!). I'd go back in a heartbeat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by cory from italy

Posted May 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel, highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carol from Seattle, WA. USA

The BEST!

Posted May 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at many nice hotels during our three-week vacation in Europe, but this one is TOPS! They are the ONLY hotel that offered us real feather/down bedding, which was great. The buffet breakfast was the BEST of all the many hotels we stayed at -- and that includes upscale hotels in Munich, Prague, Vienna, and Budapest. REAL Muesli -- OMG, my childhood came back to me as I tasted it! And incredibly fresh farm eggs! And the view from our third story room (310?) was second to none! All in all, Hotel Zugspitze exceeded our high expectations -- and all for a reasonable price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by ALFIE15 from Haynes

Comfy bed and excellent staff

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a wonderful stay and would stay again soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by karen from michigan

Zugspitze is great

Posted Oct 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel and the staff was remarkable! I cant say enough good things about it! Very friendly and helpful. Very close to the main square. Love, love, love the Zugspitze Hotel. I will definately return there someday!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Norman from Washington, DC

Superb Hotel!

Posted Oct 4, 2013
Very nice hotel with a distinctly Bavarian feel. Complementary breakfasts and afternoon snacks were excellent, and the staff were all very friendly and very helpful. The hotel features a superb health spa. The next time we’re in Ga-Pa, this will be our first choice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Very Nice, quaint hotel

Posted Jan 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very nice. Great breakfast, dinner and drinks very resonably priced. The quality of everything was very high. The rooms were spacious and very nice and cozy. The pool/spa area was also very nice. The hotel staff were also both friendly and responsive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel, marvelous setting, friendly staff

Posted Jul 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
This hotel is conveniently located in the heart of Garmish within easy walking distance to shopping, entertainment, and food venues. Wonderful views of Zugspitz from room balcony. Lovely spa facilities and off street garage attached to hotel. Exceptionally outstanding restaurant and bar - staff went out of their way to handle every special request.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great Service, Wonderful Breakfast

Posted Oct 22, 2011
I checked into my room, to find a snack of apples, kiwi, and cookies waiting. In the room was a push-button espresso machine, which ground the beans, and heated water from a reservoir, ready at any time. The room was up to date and comfortable, and slightly different from chain hotel rooms. It had a corner table with built in wood seating; the toilet was in a separate (tiny) room from the shower/bath; there was a french door to an small outside seating area, all of which added to the charm and comfort of the room. Breakfast was stupendous Bavarian buffet of yogurts, meats, breads, eggs, juices, coffee/tea. I did not use the spa facilities, but these seemed popular, as I would spot guests popping downstairs in robes. Internet connectivity is important to me, so I was a tiny bit disappointed that instead of WiFi, there was only in-room V-DSL (the desk gives you a power plug out of which comes an ethernet cable, which works for a laptop, but not for my tablet computer or my smartphone). The service was extremely helpful, friendly, and deferential; my German isn't up to it, but their English was. The hotel location was easy walking district to a boutique/restaurant area, which had great dining options, to the Congress/conference hall where my conference was located, and to the rail station (although not too close that you would hear trains at all; and, if you have more luggage than you can easily carry, you'll need to get a cab anyhow).