Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from london , UK

Fantastic location and views

Posted Sep 16, 2014
A location (about 900m in altitude and about a 2 hour walk from hotel ) underneath the eagles nest - when the skies are clear you get magnificent views in all directions. The spa area is extremely good and choice of restaurants works as well. The only thing that takes a slight edge off the hotel is that it feels ( a bit ) like a good business hotel located in a resort area. Parking is an added extra if you want to use the garage - but they have a decent free parking area a bit further away from the hotel down the hill - not sure if this would be so good if you were there in winter. All staff are friendly and efficient - although they appeared to be a bit short staffed in bar area at night time with timeliness of service not what you would expect in this rank of hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

An amazing hotel, in an amazing location.

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Location. Detail. Build quality and furnishings. Very special pool and spa. Most of the customer service. The porter who helped with luggage.
Cons: High speed internet free. First class customer on every interaction; no inconsistency. Treat customers like you really care about them.
We booked a suite for 3 days at the end of a Germany/Austria holiday, with two young children. The hotel is wonderful; stunning location, and a very contemporary, well detailed hotel. Our suite was perfect. The spa and pool area is probably one of the best I've visited. The one area where we felt let down was the customer service. It was inconsistent and varied from first class service to pretty poor. Our last night in the restaurant was probably as bad as it gets. Main courses brought to the table before starter plates cleared, generally inattentive. On our first night in the restaurant, the service was brilliant, as was the bar area. We notice from other reviews that we are not alone in experiencing inconsistent service from the F&B staff. Our room rate was unclear; we believed breakfast was included, the hotel believed otherwise. We attempted to resolve this with the reception staff (Michael, with glasses) but he was indifferent, to the point of arrogance, said he'd refer it to his manager, but nobody ever came back to us. I would expect some form of response, even if it was negative. Likewise, we reported that the cooling didn't seem to work in our room, and the reception staff pleasantly listened. But we never got any feedback to say it was fine, fixed etc. On checkout we were charged €3 for misplacing a discount card, we spent over €2,000 on our stay! Not the best.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome!

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Location: Read any history book and figure it out.
Exceptionally nice hotel and international staff. Superb view. Outstanding customer service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by isabella from london

Excellent location in mountainside

Posted May 29, 2014
This was one of the best hotel stays we have had. The breakfast was excellent, staff were lovely and very helpful. My husband loved the modern high tech hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Smileymiley from Barnet

Wonderful hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at this hotel with my family. The rooms were very clean and spacious with beautiful views of the surrounding mountains. The facilities were excellent, particularly the indoor and outdoor swimming pool. The restaurants in the hotel served good sized portions at reasonable prices. There is lots to do in the surrounding area, with the salt mines in the local town a must visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Wizz from manchester

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Location Rooms Food Staff Spa. - everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Beautiful scenery of course! Salzburg The drive up the mountain think it's the National Park route Berchtesgarden itself
We have stayed here three times now and again an excellent experience
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Nikki from Washington

Wonderful Hotel, Beautiful Area

Posted Oct 15, 2013 on Hotels.com
My husband and I were traveling around Germany via train. We stopped in the Berchtesgaden area to see the Eagle's Nest and Documentation Center. We chose this hotel to have one night of a more resort-type experience. Although it was mid-October, it had snowed several inches prior to our arrival which we were told was unusual for that time of the season. We took a bus up to the hotel from the Hbf. The bus stop for the hotel is clearly marked on the screen on the bus you take to the hotel. After getting off at the bus stop you walk down an incline, cross a street, and walk up a hill to the hotel. Since we packed boots and only had backpacks, the walk was easy for us. (Those who had rolling luggage struggled a bit with walking/dragging their luggage all that way in the snow). The hotel room was roomy and comfortable. It's an easy walk to the Documentation Center from the hotel. (The Eagle's Nest was closed due to snow while we were there, but I'm told the bus stop for it is at the Documentation Center). After touring the town of Berchtesgaden and the Documentation Center we had a nice time reading and relaxing at the real fireplace in the bar area. There are also several restaurants to choose from downstairs. Staff was friendly and helpful. I think the only drawback I can think of for this hotel would be the limited bus service off of the hill. Sometimes it only ran once an hour or so. Other than that, great experience and would definitely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Mesmerising view from the hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Although not directly in the town of Brechtesgaden, this hotel guarentees a special and amazing experience because of its 360 degree views of the Alps. We ate dinner outside at the hotel's restaurant while watching the Alpine sunset and then relaxed in the heated, outdoor pool watching the moon rise over the Alps. Definitely one of the most beautiful places I've been to.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ms Y from Dubai

Great Views

Posted Jul 22, 2013
Pros: The views from some rooms are absolutely stunning.
Cons: The hotel should improve the dinner menu and service.
Location: Lake Konigsee is beautiful
There are stunning views from some rooms and the hotel is peaceful and well appointed. An enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by JT from Houston, Texas

Magnificant hotel with spectacular views + history

Posted Jun 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
This one gets 5 stars all the way around. Very close by to the Eagle's Nest, it is actually on top of Göring's bunker system. You can explore the hillside and discover for yourself all kinds of cool things (I won't ruin it here but be on look-out for hidden bunker entrances and similar things)..... and be sure to catch the views of the Kehlsteinshaus and surrounding countryside as well. Extremely friendly staff and super clean rooms accented by great service ... The ambiance of this hotel cannot be beat.