Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Great Views of the Mountains and a Beautiful Lake

Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is a great place to get away and relax. It is a little bit outside of the town of G-P so if you want to make lots of trips into town it would be best to stay elsewhere but if you want a place to get away there are few better hotels for that. They have several restaurants on the property but some are closed occasionally or seasonally. It was beautiful outside but unfortunately the beer garden was closed both nights we were there. The second night we were there only one restaurant was open (the one we already ate at the first night) so we were a little dissapointed but the food was great both nights.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Jinglebell from CA

Restaurant service sucks!

Posted Jul 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
We wanted to enjoy an evening without driving to city center so we went to the restaurant in the back that oversees the lake and the mountains. We sat down for more than 15 minutes without any waiter/waitress greeting us. After we finally caught a girl who seemed busy walking around without seeing us each time she walked by, we got a menu but no one checked on us afterwards. We finally left hungry and angry, untolerable service!! We drove to the city center and ended up in a Irish pub on the main street and had wonderful fish & chips instead.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2012 on Hotels.com
Staff did not welcome. Service not as good as my previous visits.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Bavarian vaca spot

Posted Oct 26, 2012
Beautiful location,great amenities and wonderful breakfasts. Unfortunately,no wifi
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ryan from USA

Not the best!

Posted Aug 16, 2012
Pros: Location
Cons: Smell
Location: Great
The people at the front deck were rude and not wanting to give out information, it was like I was always bothering them. The hallways always smelled of BO, and they would pile up the dishes and dirty sheets etc in the hallways to be left all day. Hallway was only clean after 18:00 and still stunk. The mountain view is over a parking lot and the lake view is over a road, very decieving from their add. But the location out of town was great and I would stay there again only because of the location.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 28, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Monterey, CA

Two thumps-up!

Posted Dec 29, 2009
A Great experience. We will be back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Germany

Garmisch

Posted Sep 19, 2009
I had stayed here once before on a business trip, but I did not have the chance to fully appreciate this hotel and it's fine ammenities until I returned for my recent trip. Nestled on a hill overlooking Garmisch-Partenkirchen, the hotel is quaintly situated on the Riesersee (the Rieser Lake) and houses two good restaurants. The Mediterranean Restaurant sits on the lake with a perfect, picturesque, and sublime view of the Alpenspitz and the Zugspitz (Germany's Highest Point). The view is breathtaking and the food is excellent. We would wake every morning to a generous breakfast buffet (by European Standards), friendly and hospitable staff, and a glorious view of the Alps. We would walk 40 feet from the hotel to the Lake, enjoy the view, feeds the ducks (with our 1.5 year old), and start our day. The hotel has a nice pool, exercise room, and Spa. Hotel staff are multi-lingual and spoke excellent English. This hotel used to be owned by Marriott, so the size and room ammenities are generous (By Euro standards). The hotel is near many attractions in the area: the Zugspitz cable car/train are within 5 minutes driving, the famous Bavarian castles are within a 30 minute drive, and many other sites are within a reasonable driving distance (less than 45 minutes). Since we live in Germany, we are definitely planning on staying here again. We had a fantastic and relaxing experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Beautiful location

Posted Sep 2, 2009 on Hotels.com
This hotel exceeded my expectations. The location was excellent with one of the most beautiful views I have seen. The staff was friendly and this is the same hotel that Larry Hagman got married in 1956.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Surrey

Run Down, Poorly Managed Hotel, Swindled to stay in 'Duplex Suite'

Posted Apr 19, 2009
Location: Idylic location overlooking Garmisch not suitable unless you have a car. Front Desk: Some friendly staff let down by poor management. Limited availability to cash travellers cheques due to 'long easter weekend' Room: We paid for a duplex suite with additional balconey as desribed on the hotels website. The room was identical to a maisionette suite, we were fobbed off by management about the differences saying we had a better view (of the car park) and the room was bigger which they later agreed was not true. The manager said the pictures of the rooms 'were too good'. The furniture is outdated, threadbare carpets, outdated small bathrooms with rusting radiators, limescale and showerheads not working properly. Even the toiletries were not replenished. Despite it being 25oC for the previous week the aircon was off. We asked for it to be turned on for the first night and was told that it was off for winter and we should sleep with our balconey door open. Uncomfortable night. Aircon turned on next day but not working in our room so had to change rooms. Breakfast: Reasonable breakfast but since our visit 3yrs ago choice and quantity has reduced. This hotel needs a refit asap and needs new management, do not stay here until this has been done. I cannot see how it justifies its 4 star rating.