Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by buena chica from ohio

Wish it were better

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Close to mercado del puerto, for the best parilla ever.
Cons: Turn off the perfume!
Location: Unsafe to walk at night, but highly recommend mercado del puerto during the day.
Highly perfumed, even the bed! No coffee for breakfast, because the machine was broken. Plumbing has problems. This hotel has a great idea, but it is poorly executed. And way too expensive for what it delivered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by sjtews from Washington, DC

Great Hotel, ok location

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Don Hotel has great rooms, a very nice small breakfast space that doubles as a bar. The bathroom towels and robes are fluffy and a great part of the amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Brad from South Florida

Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Pros: Pros: Friendly staff, clean, near port and a great breakfast.
Cons: Cons: Small rooms, sketchy neighborhood and weak wifi.
Location: The Babieca across the street from the hotel is a fun place to relax. A two minute cab ride away is the Locos De Asar for excellent food and wine.
We stayed here for two nights before we took the ferry to Buenos Aires. The hotel is a little gem stuck in a bad neighbor hood.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Fairfax VA from Fairfax, VA

Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Since its located near the port, the neighborhood caters to the cruise ship day trippers and shuts down around 6:00pm. Not a complete drawback but just be aware. The only gripe I had about this place is we arrived around 12:30, knowing that it was before check in time but tried anyway and the woman at the front desk could not care. Didn't ask our name, didn't take any info. Simply said check in was 1:30. ok - No worries - checked bags and went about for the afternoon. When we returned at 6:30, we were told our room was not ready. It needed to be cleaned. Seriously? They had not touched it. We saw the cleaning crew head up and the 10 minutes we were told was more like 30 minutes. Not sure how this came about but if the woman had taken our names at 12:30, could have easily been avoided. That was the most frustrating part. Easily avoided if she had cared.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michale from LA

Nice Hotel in the Old City

Posted Oct 30, 2013
There was plenty of activities and people during the day, but in the evening it was pretty quiet so you needed to venture away from the area for any evening activities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Janet from Falkland Islands

comfortable hotel in run-down area

Posted Oct 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very clean, modern and friendly. Lovely rooms but a little too small if you need to work as I did, but nice balcony overlooking the port market and the resulting delicious barbeque smells. The old city could be stunningly beautiful, but is dirty, run-down and full of stray dogs (and dog poo). So, on the one hand location is great, but on the other hand because the old city is in such a state, and not really safe at night, location is not perfect unless you need to be close to the port as I did. Only other comment: my room was not cleaned automatically every day - I had to request it; and there is not really any food available except at breakfast. For a 4* I think this needs to be addressed. But lovely staff and lovely decor in the rooms and if you want to eat at the port market you really couldn't get any handier
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Yacine from Barahona, Dominican rep

nice weekend in MVD

Posted Sep 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
nice, tiny but sweet
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bob from State College PA

Charming Inn Near Historic District

Posted Sep 4, 2013
Pros: The convenience of the location and the charm of the facilities.
Cons: I cannot think of anything
Location: It was within walking distance of the historic district and convenient to shopping and restaurants.
It was a very pleasant hotel. The facilities were clean and comfortable. The staff was welcoming and spoke excellent English.
3 out of 5
by Chucho from miami

Desert nights.

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Expedia
Cons: Prepare tours from the hotel
Location: Terrible
Nice hotel if you don't plan to walk around at night. During the day very active. Unless you go for business to the nearby area, I would not recommend it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marcos from Sao Paulo, Brazil

Really nice hotel. Brad new

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Location: The hotel is in front of Mercado del Puerto, nice place to eat, but eaven better to eat is the Mercado Agricola de Montevideo (use the taxi).
Hotel is perfect, but unfortunately in a dangerous area. On night my wife was burgled one block from hotel and we had to come back 2 days before . If you go tho this hotel it is important to avoid walking around during the night.