Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chile

Nice hotel, no bar or restaurant

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Free internet,nice bed
Cons: A bar or restaurant
Location: I will not return to Montevideo, not my favorite city. In summer the beach is probably nice. During Winter there is not much to do or see.
The hotel is quite nice, but we paid for a suite but only got a normal room. Late check-in, no bar, no restaurant are downsides. The location is not too fancy. The staff was very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good bang for your buck

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Hotel design and location
Cons: Cleaner towels
Location: Old town El fogan parrilla Loco del Asar parrilla
We had a great time at Esplendor. The room was spacious and clean. My only gripe was that the towels did not appear to be cleaned well or bleached. Staff were friendly and helpful considering we did not speak Spanish. Breakfast buffet was plentiful with excellent choices. However I did notice an odd individual who did not appear to be a hotel guest walking with no shoes and grabbing food with his bare hands and eating while in line. Hotel security could have been a bit more concerned about thse individuals. We did not get a chance to take advantage of the amenities but they were well kept and modern. Overall would recommend this hotel, great location!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by greg from Porto Alegre

Excellent Staff in downtown Montevideo

Posted May 7, 2014
Pros: Big rooms and a real tub! The first hotel I've found in South America with an actual tub.
Cons: The pool and spa area closed at 9pm. WAY toooooo early.
Location: Very close to Independence Square and the Theatre. Good Location.
Just stayed one night in Montevideo and got this hotel on Expedia at the last minute. Excellent Deal! Great Staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient location to Old City and City Center

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Cons: wifi strength
Location: Old City, the port, Indepencia Plaza, Puerto Mercado. Main bus line.
Hotel had a good breakfast on the top floor. Good location. Clean, comfortable bed. Quiet room. We were completely happy except wifi in the room was slow/weak.
2 out of 5
by Francisco from World traveler

Hostile staff and

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Cons: Staff needs a major training in customer basic service and needs to get rid of the actual staff which could not be asked to take care of the front des
Location: Location is a major plus, but again, there are other options with same location and much better and attentive service ... even for less money !!!
I have stayed in the past in this hotel. Nothing extraordinary, but a convenient location must be recognized for this property. Nevertheless, it is clear that the actual management is not concerned about its guest and the actual female receptionist, is not only rude to guests but simply is not qualified to be responsible for guests services in anyway. She was not only rude and hostile, but was much interested in her chatting session in her mobile phone, than providing a reasonable and at least acceptable service to guests. On the other hand, if you need to have internet connection, stay somewhere else ... their internet service provider is poor and I was unable to have a good quality and continuos connection to take care of business and had no other option than to go downstairs to the reception area to get a good connection. If you need internet STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE .. Last but not least, I asked several times to have someone to facilitate the safe box and nobody ever came, not were faxes sent to me from overseas ... Conclusion: Staffs attitude and lack of attentive and basic professional service is the best motivation to never come back to this hotel. It is obvious that the actual hotel management is not interested in fulfilling essential guest needs and services. Again, you will all be better off, staying somewhere else. Trust me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by robert from Boston

Hotel in downtown Montevideo

Posted Jan 27, 2014
Overall, it was a pretty good hotel. Friendly staff, rooms were good size but basic in amenities. Pool was very small along with fitness center. Very near Praca Independendia in safe (but boring) neighborhood
2 out of 5
by Sergio

Terrible Service

Posted Dec 15, 2013
3 days without room clean service, poor reception service, dirty walls.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by m.wienema from Holland

Nice hotel in the wrong neighbourhood

Posted Nov 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel looks beautiful and the breakfast is great. The roomservice is terrible and the mini bar very expensive. The neighbourhood is not save and unattractive, other parts of Montevideo are much better (pocitos).
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Marvina from Phoenix, AZ.

Great Staff

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was basic. But service was great. We stayed in a suite. Wonderful staff. Breakfast was not good, but juice and toast was fine.