Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, nice to stay with family

Posted Jan 20, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by s uzanne gaumond-begin from hudson, quebec

fantastic location

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Unfortunarely the outside pool and bar do not open before 1st of december
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Maximiliano

Close to the best beach in Punta

Posted Jan 29, 2013 on Hotels.com
The best beach in Punta del Este is Playa Chihuahua. This hotel is located just 5 minutes away by car. The breakfast is very good. The pool area is very nice and has a great snack bar. The parking is free as well the Wi Fi. I booked the room # 406 on the corner. Beautiful view, but a litle noise from the street. I recomend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Elizabeth from Iowa, USA

Great Family Hotel, just outside Punta del Este

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Pros: Staff
We visited Hotel del Lago in Dec. 2013 for 2 nights and found it a unique and charming place. It offers lots of great amenities for a family get-away: golf, mini-golf, outdoor pool, indoor heated pool, jacuzzi, sauna, game room, playground, beach volleyball, kayaking, bikes, beach chairs/umbrellas, etc. We took advantage of the $5 shuttle to the beach, which usually runs directly to Punta del Este, but the driver was willing to drop us at another nearby beach & arranged to pick us up there later. We found all of the staff friendly & very helpful. We speak a bit of Spanish, but noticed an English-speaker could almost always be found among the desk staff. A taxi into Punta del Este is approx $40 U.S., so you may want a car if you plan to spend most of your time in the resort town. We ate at the hotel's restaurant one night & had a fantastic meal - delicious and beautifully presented. Overall - highly recommended!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Big room, terrace and superb view

Posted Jun 25, 2012
Big and comfortable room with a small terrace and a wonderful lake view. The hotel is isolated, you will need a car. Lots of paintings in the wall, some from the finest Uruguayan artists. The decor of the restaurant and the public areas is not sophisticated. We did not use the restaurant, the menu seemed very limited.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jean

Posted May 1, 2012 on Hotels.com
Good hotel but far from downtown and therefore really no choice but to eat at the hotel. Limited menu, very pricey( $22 for a small bowl of pasta) and poorly cooked. Cocktails were between $12 and $15 each, again very expensive and for that price I would have expected a few little nibbles as an accompaniment but nothing doing. Also, slightly peeved after asking for a taxi to have a chauffeur driven Merc turn up and being charged $15 for a 3 minute ride.
3 out of 5
by Cass from San Diego, CA, USA

Better options in Punta

Posted Feb 8, 2012
Pros: The pool and the peacefulness
Cons: The customer service and the distance to downtown
Location: Like you are camping in the woods
My first trip to Punta del Este with a friend and a bit last minute. Checked out my options on Expedia and found this hotel. Checked in late (like 11:30pm) and was unaware there was a one hour time difference from Buenos Aires (one hour later). The kitchen was closed and the closest restaurant was a 20 minute drive to town. We had no car so eating was not an option which was disappointing. The hotel is kept clean and well maintained but a bit on the older side. The carpets were old and needed to be replaced. The standard room was quite large (definitely enough for 2 people) and the beds were top notch. The biggest down fall to the hotel was definitely the customer service. There are only 2 people on staff who spoke english and I felt like when myself or my guest called the front they would get annoyed at us and sometimes just hang up the phone! They definitely had an attitude and seemed annoyed if you asked them for anything. The breakfast was good, the pool is amazing and the view of the lake is peaceful. It's a good hotel for families but make sure you speak Spanish! I think there are better options if you want to be close to the beach and in walking distance to town. There is zero tolerance for drinking and driving in Uruguay so it's better to stay where all the action is in town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Dunedin, FL

Posted Apr 1, 2011 on Hotels.com
The Punta del Este Golf and Art resort Hotel is about five minutes from downtown Punta del Este. But for all it has to offer (pools, bars, restaurants, activities {golf, tennis} game rooms, childrens center) it can't be beat. If I ever go back to Punta del Este, I would stay here without a doubt.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bogotá DC, Colombia

Absolutly satisfied

Posted Mar 31, 2011
Very nice, a relaxing experience...