Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by JD from New York, NY

Great for one night

Posted Apr 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel Rivera is two blocks from the bus station, so it's very convenient if you're taking a bus into Colonia from Montevideo. The hotel is small and the room itself is no bigger than a hotel room in NYC. In short, it's small: bed, TV, closet, bathroom. If you're looking to spend a lot of time in the hotel room, this is not the place for you. However, Hotel Rivera is a short walk from historic district and the water. The sunset was beautiful. If you're staying in Colonia for one night and just want to drop your bags and explore, this hotel does the trick. They also serve breakfast in the morning which was a nice perk. I had no problem paying with a credit card, there were no additional fees. My only concern was that you have to leave your room key at the front desk when you leave, so hypothetically the hotel staff could come into your room at anytime (although that didn't happen to us).
2 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Close to the port

Posted Nov 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a little disapointing. The price of the hotel and the quality of the rooms do not match. The rooms need updating. The shower head was leaking pretty bad. Upon check-in the front desk wanted to charge us 13% extra since we were paying with credit card. At the end she did not charge us but still was not a pleasant experience. The breakfast was nice. They set us up in the courtyard with coffee, juice and some pastries. The service during the breakfast was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by ho

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Laurie from London

Colonia hotel

Posted Jun 19, 2013
Pros: Easy to find
Cons: Nothi to comment on
Location: Convenient
3 min walk from coach station and 5 mins from ferry. Also only short walk to Main Street into town. Hotel small and pleasant with nice character.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by geoffrey from UK

Posted Jun 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good location near the ferry port, but actually in the town. Minimalist breakfast, and small rooms.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Robert from Boston, MA

Travelers beware

Posted Mar 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is a block away from the ferry terminal. The facilities and breakfast were very basic, and found the building walls to be thin. When we were checking out, the front desk said that if we paid by credit card, we'd be charged an extra tax. I had the confirmation documents from Hotels.com, which said nothing about that. The employee showed me the listing from some Spanish travel site that had a blurb on the additional credit card tax. Though I showed her the confirmation documents from Hotels.com, she insisted that the quoted price was only for cash. I asked to use her computer and showed her the hotel information pages on Hotels.com, which had no mention of the different rates of cash vs. credit card payments, and ultimately she relinquished. I would not return to this very mediocre establishment with unfriendly service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Lindsey from Rapid City, SD

Nice, clean, good service, good location

Posted Mar 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay here because it was very close to the boat and bus station, walking distance. We arrived from Buenos Aires via Buquebus, the boat, and could just walk to this hotel to drop our luggage and check in. We stayed 2 nights and really enjoyed Colonia. This hotel was on a nice, quiet street and walking distance to shops and restaurants. The breakfast is simple but it is free. On one of the days the maid had accidentally thrown away my razor and the manager promptly purchased me a new one (of the same brand), I'm pretty sure he actually went to the store and bought it for me, so it was very nice of them to take care of me like that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pablo from Buenos Aires, Argentina

Small, cozy hotel, close to all local amenities.

Posted Jan 14, 2013
This is a very small, nice, family-run hotel, with all the minimum you need for a short term stay in Colonia. It is close to the port (two blocks away) and not too far from the historical centre (around 6-8 blocks away) and the beaches. They provide you with a regular breakfast, and the overall service is pretty good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by PC

Excellent choice

Posted Jan 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
We were lucky to have gotten room 107 off the back patio. It was clean and comfortable with a nice shower, comfy bed and a flat screen tv. Good choice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by RIta

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2013 on Hotels.com