Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff but needs to finish its construction

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Hotel needs to take it up a level ie finish construction , do detail cleaning etc And Please stop using the horrible overpowering laundry detergents staff is really great Food a winner too especially the pre fixe tasting menu at lunch
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bruno from Miami Beach

Finally a palace in Montevideo

Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
After so many stays in Starwood properties in Montevideo, Sheraton + Four Points, who kept getting worse year after year, I was overwhelmed by the quality of the Sofitel who offered top-notch service in a much needed Montevideo. The spa + restaurant were outstanding. Strongly recommended.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Sofitel Montevideo 3/9 - 3/13/2014

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was under some repairs while we were there (3/9/2014 - 3/13/2014). Certain aspects of the common areas were disruptive. The room was not replenished properly. The general manager listened to our issues and was very gracious. He compensated us adequately for the inconveniences.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Kevin from Baltimore, MD

Rooms need better lighting but otherwise are good

Posted Feb 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is nice and was recently opened about a year ago. My only complaint is that the lighting in the room wasn't good. This made getting dressed more difficult because the area is dark around the full body mirror and the light by the sink is overhead rather than next to the mirror. Otherwise this is a good place to stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erica from Sydney

Posted Jan 22, 2014
Pros: The exceptional breakfast, beautiful room and charming staff.
Cons: Nothing.
Location: In a lovely suburb across from the Rambla and innumerable gorgeous beaches.
An exceptional hotel, staffed by lovely and accommodating people and located in a beautiful city in a charming and super-relaxed country. Go there. Go there now!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alicia from Rio de Janeiro

Gorgeous!

Posted Nov 30, 2013
Absolutely beautiful! The building is gorgeous and incredibly tasteful. The rooms are a bit small, but the quality of the furniture/decor and the bathroom make up for it -- get a river view if possible. Best breakfast I had in years!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jan from São Paulo, Brazil

Beautiful landmark hotel.

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: Recently re-opened after restoration. Lovely main hall, bar and restaurant in rotundas on opposing wings of hotel. Helpful and welcoming staff.
Cons: Wireless internet is a bit cumbersome to use - would be better if it were automatically accessible. The bandwidth available free works well!
Location: Located in Carrasco, lovely neighborhood with restaurants, cafés and shops in immediate blocks around hotel. Just a short 10-minute drive from airport
Welcoming staff, beautiful public spaces. Rooms well appointed and very comfortable bed. Tea, coffee available in room. Did not try breakfast, but dinner in restaurant was very good and wait staff and sommelier very professional with warm smiles and prompt service. Bathroom architecture could be better. Sink is very lovely, but too small and therefore splashes go everywhere. Only one towel hook - so no reasonable way to hang two so as to re-use (and we would be willing to re-use both towels!) Need a shelf near sink and mirror on the side or higher for personal toiletries. Would appreciate a hand-cream or body lotion in the amenity kit - there was none. Good ventilation and huge windows are a positive - nice to be able to open to enjoy the fresh air and take in the dramatic sky of Montevideo. Water view rooms face the Rio de la Plata - although it seems like an ocean in Montevideo. Neighborhood view is also nice - lots of green and no heavy traffic or noise problems at all. Neighborhood side is slightly less windy. Did not visit Casino, but there is also a Spa on property. Very kindly staff. On arrival tried to book a manicure but there was no availability. As I had a dinner appointment, the attendants offered to remove old polish and apply clear - wouldn't even accept a tip for this! On a longer stay I will plan to book ahead!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel.

Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
a bit pricey. buy very nice hotel. service at breakfast must be inproved waited 20' for a latte. indoor pool was not working properly. Rest of services were perfect. Kindness of staff was surprisingly good. Guest relations was superb! they organized everything for our anniversary!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Francesco from Brazil

Great hotel, but still working out some issues

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: The classic architecture and luxurious amenities.
Cons: Fix the shower drain system and let us go into the pool
Location: Far from the Ciudad Vieja (15 min taxi ride) but located in a very charming neighborhood.
We stayed for two days at this gorgeous hotel last weekend. We had one of the special suites, with a living room overlooking the Rio de la Plata. Room decoration and amenities were fabulous, including a huge bathroom, illy espresso coffe maker, two separate sinks and toilet bowls, a closet, etc. The hotel has been totally renovated, while keeping the classic architecture. Hotel staff was very friendly and corteous. Breakfast was amazing and the restaurant is stunning. However, we found it funny that the shower drain system (although architecturally beautiful) did not work properly, and water would tend escape and wet the bathroom floor. This was brought up by some reviewers previously and the hotel staff was aware of that. They told me it was a known issue which wil be taken care of. Also, the indoor swimming pool was under maintenance. Apart from those two issues, the overall experience was very luxurious and relaxing.
3 out of 5
by Eduardo from Sao Paulo

Arrogant hotel staff. The waiters have NO idea of

Posted Aug 18, 2013
Pros: Facilities and room are very good
Cons: Service at breakfast, hotel needs to train the waiters. Also the bartenders, it took more than 15 minutes to get a glass of sparkling wine
Location: Nothing nearby other than a couple of so so restaurants. The hotel has a casino but I don' t gamble
Some waiters at the incredible expensive breakfast have NO idea of how to treat customers. Some are arrogant and forget about serving coffee and serving water. Basic things which are unacceptable for such a price, $30 Dollars for a breakfast with bad service is just a bad deal for any traveler.