Ratings based on 24 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom s

Good value stay

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Good value breakfast basic but wholesome evening meals very limited and expensive but close to Usk and Newport
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Abingdon

Lovely stay

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: The location, breakfast, the room/bathroom were very tidy and modern.
Cons: My only complaint was that the wi-fi didn't stretch to my room, and tv reception wasn't great.
Location: Raglan Castle, Usk village, Abergavenny
It was a really nice hotel, away from the city life and well run by the staff there. The breakfast was good, as well as the evening meals.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Golf
by Anonfrom North West England

Attractive area

Posted Sep 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was going to watch the Wales Open Golf at Celtic manor. Inn provided good value accommodation only 15 minutes from course. Surprised it was so quiet.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by suefrom london

no hot water, motel feel, bad management

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
although room comfortable, and view out was nice, when window opened the ground below strewn with rubbish., no hot water in the morning, breakfast pretty below average, all seemed to have been left to warm, but also seemed to be no manager around. My partner finally tracked him down and complained about the hot water but just got rude response, claimed we were only people to complain about it, but we overheard a large party at breakfast asking who managed to get hot water, so obviously an issue. Later, when trying to get a refund, the manager called my partner 'a stupid old man. All a bit Fawlty towers although not very funny really! very shabby decor in public areas,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good standard for price

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was clean and of a good standard but in the middle of nowhere. Nice place to stop off on route to another destination. The service from the bar staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay again if I needed to be in the area again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Zealand

Got Great Potential

Posted Sep 18, 2014
Pros: Staff, Rooms clean and tidy, nice and Quite, Parking, Most of all the Price £55.00
Cons: The Whole place needs a good Maintenance job outside and revamp inside. Dinning Area's made more private Etc.
Location: Monmouth, Forest of Dean, Chepstow. We wanted to visit Cardiff without having to stay in the City.
We found the Staff to be Great and Helpful but in the need of support from Management. i.e. better facilities and tools to do the Job.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom london

clean hotel with confortable beds

Posted Sep 11, 2014
Pros: clean comfy and if im honest it was the cheapest when needed to find quick accomodation
Cons: im sure theres always something but i cant think of one
Location: only room wanted for overnight as wedding was local so no comment on this one
really pleasant stay clean comfy and a great cooked breaky quiet and peaceful surroundings dont go by the name i know its catchy and sticks out but im sure most would be put off. and thats a shame
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Awesome place

Posted Sep 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We had a great night at the Rat Trap - the room was very comfortable and newly refurbed. Staff were fantastic - the bartender and chef were both so friendly and accommodating.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Cheltenham

A hotel with lots of potential

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Pros: The location and the building are very good
Cons: See above. A look at the interior design of the bar and dining room and a few menus would I am sure transform the business.
Location: Usk is a lovely town. There are good places to eat, Usk castle is a beautiful, peaceful place to visit.The folk museum is worth a visit and free entry
The hotel has a lovely outlook and with a little attention would be wonderful. For example the car park was tatty with leaves etc. uncleared; paint was coming off the door to the rooms and the signing was very amateur though otherwise it was clean and tidy; a notice on the bag of the room door saying that food and drink not bought in the hotel should not be eaten in the room was annoying and discouraged me from eating in the hotel; breakfast was fine but no options were offered e.g. for scrambled rather than fried eggs; one day they ran out of tea bags at breakfast and for a while it seemed that tea was not going to be on offer that morning; toast was put on the same plate as the cooked breakfast - a side plate would be a great improvement! the shower heat control wasn't working in our room; there were no menus to show what was on offer for lunch or dinner. The lounge and dining room didn't feel homely though the area should be wonderful. The experience was spoilt by things that could so easily be solved. It would take very little for me to recommend this as an ideal holiday retreat.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom plymouth uk

pleasant pub accomodation

Posted Jul 31, 2014
Pros: cheap accommodation, people, breakfast, and safe parking of car.
Cons: massive improvements to be made all round though moving in the right direction.
Location: village of usk is nearest , bit far and dangerous to walk on narrow roads, no footpaths.
new chef, food is brilliant, including the excellent breakfast, now please note this is a very cheap pub accommodation that in my view you get more than expected, its fair to say you get what you pay for , though friendly staff, clean accommodation and premises with a fair choice of drinks makes it fine for a stop over in a country pub with nothing really close buy, nice view from the room we were in off hills and fields, room small though all you need tea/ coffee en suite, do not expect five star for your pennies and you will not be disappointed.