Ratings based on 146 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rochester NY

Disappointed this time

Posted Sep 6, 2014
I have been staying at the Herkimer Motel for over 20 years as I travel Upstate NY for business. They have made wonderful improvements over the years and I have always been quite satisfied staying there. This time I can say the same thing. The room was dirty. Long black hairs on the bathroom floor, tub did not drain when I took a shower so I was standing in water up to my ankles and the room had had a good cleaning in awhile. OK I get it, it happens but what really made me mad is when I went to the front desk in the morning to alert them to the problems the young lady behind the front just giggled at me. Didn't say, Oh I'm so sorry or let me write this down so I can tell someone or let me get management or let me refund some of your room charge. I don't have time to go track down a manager when the front desk person is improperly trained when a guest has a problem with a room, so I doubt I will be staying there again...which is a shame.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Loved it!

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Cons: Breakfast could be more extensive.
Staff was most accommodating and friendly. Great location, right off the Thruway. Pool is neat. Everything was designed to bring you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oswego, NY

Beautifully renovated

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Location: Glimmerglass Opera and other Cooperstown attractions are about a half hour southeast.
This AAA motel has been tastefully renovated with high-quality materials -- granite sinks, tile floors, dark wood furniture. Everything was like new in our room in August 2014. In addition to the king-size bed, our room had a desk with lamp and wheeled desk chair, two bedside tables with lamps, a separate dining-type table with two straightbacked chairs, a comfy leatherlike chair, wood-slatted blinds on the two windows. Good free wifi, a nice pool (though the weather was too cool for us to use it in our 2-day stay), included continental breakfast in a small separate room off the lobby that never got crowded in our experience, though looks like it could. The living-room-like lobby includes a computer station for guest use. Easy on/off to the Thruway, a Denny's across the parking lot and the fine Waterfront Grill within walking distance on the other side of the Thruway overlooking the Erie Canal/Mohawk River.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from long island

Posted Aug 24, 2014
Pros: The room size and the value.
Cons: The blinds and the sconces need to be dusted.
Location: Cooperstown is approx 40 minutes away
The facilities were great. The friendliness of the staff was awesome. It was a little farther from Cooperstown that I hoped.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Warwick, RI

Wonderful experience

Posted Aug 23, 2014
I was pleasantly surprised when we entered the lobby, beautifully appointed, the room was spacious and also nicely decorated. Everything about this motel was well done. The grounds were manicured and we enjoyed the pool. I would definitely stay there again when traveling. The continental breakfast had a good selection of foods to pick from, all in all a great experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect and I will be going back

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Excellent place. Great suite, very roomy. Good wifi signal and bandwidth. Great ac and control. Very quite day and night regardless of being near railroad tracks and a highway. I loved it and will be back. Hope the owner or manager opens more places.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

You don't need a big name hotel or big prices!

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: It had everything we needed at a reasonable rate.
Cons: The sink area was a little crowded for two people getting ready, but no big deal.
Location: There really is nothing to do in Herkimer but it is a good stopping point on the way to Cooperstown, Niagara Falls, etc. Good enough places to eat.
I was a bit hesitant in the beginning when I saw the roadside motel but I read the reviews and trusted them. They were absolutely correct. These people took an ordinary motel and added all of the amenities that the big name hotels include, in a nice homey way. So clean and perfect for that night between attractions on a road trip.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dunkirk, NY

Excellent place to stay!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Location was perfect, rooms were clean and comfortable. Pool was open early so we got to enjoy it as a family in the morning before check out. Awesome experience and will plan to stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cleveland oh

Close to herkimer and ace of diamonds mine

Posted Jul 25, 2014
Pros: Close to mines
Cons: Nothing
Nice staff gave excellent recommendations for the area clean, nice pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston, ma

Big modern room. Very clean. Friendly staff

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Excellent location halfway between Toronto and Boston. Comfy and large room. Free HBo and wifi. Excellent lighting and plug placement. Clean and kept continental breakfast room. Lobby had books chess and computer. Outdoor pool looked nice. Big room. Got excellent rate booking on Expedia in advance !