Ratings based on 72 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lloyd from New York City, New York

Grand old Hotel, historic place in dying town

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Pros: Character, architecture, room comfort and guest services
Cons: The breakfast is good, but could be polished up a bit.
Location: There is a wonderful old restored movie palace, the Stanley, which offers music and theatre regularly. The Utica museum is small but elegant.
The Utica is a delight. Plenty of free parking, a grand hotel lobby with corinthian columns and crystal chandeliers. Very friendly and helpful desk staff, newly renovated or replaced elevators, huge, broad hallways and big, spacious rooms. Each room is well designed and has excellent heating--I was there during a minus eleven degree blizzard and was warm and toasty. The management was very friendly and even offered an informal tour of the older, unrenovated parts of the hotel which most people dont see, but which was of interest to me. Probably not many others. The manager even arranged to have my car dug out of the snow by a very helpful young man. They had luggage/bellman service. They offer an included breakfast, and it was all right, but needs a bit of polish. The problem with buffet service is that the stuff gets cold easly. But, the bread was exquisitely fresh, the bagels tasty and chewy and the coffee excellent. The bacon was overcooked and sort of folded together and hard to serve. They used to serve sausage every other morning, and that was better. (I have been here many, many times.) Utica is a sad, dying town with an interesting past and some nice scenery to check out. There is a tourist railway up to the mountains, and the Erie Canal is fascinating. If you need to go to Uita and enjoy historic hotels, this place is your place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
They could not find my reservation when I had arrived. Apparently no one had updated the online reservations.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Megan R from New Rochelle NY

Perfect location for a Comets game

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
Beautiful historic hotel. Walking distance from the arena. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was really nice. Decore is dated and the heat/cool system was more roadside motel then modern hotel. It was on or off no thermostat control. I would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2013
Pros: great location
Cons: better food service variety
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Fine for an overnight

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Rooms were clean and comfortable.
Cons: More attention to details by staff especially with elderly customers. The restaurant needs better management.
Location: Convenient to I-90.
Nice vintage hotel - like the idea of keeping the d├ęcor in the original period. Rooms were pleasant, clean and comfortable. Desk clerks were pleasant enough but not well schooled in hotel customer service. We overlooked a lot of rookie mistakes. Fine for an overnight stay and an improvement over the budget inn we stayed at on the first leg of our trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robin from Hudson Valley NY

Hotel Utica Aug2013

Posted Aug 22, 2013
Pros: Old style character and charm
Cons: Lighting in the parking lot and door access from outside (swipes)
Location: I had to attend class. My fiance visited local shops, cafe and drove 20 to a casino and Reminton Arms.
We had a lovely 2-day stay at the Hotel Utica. It is not much to look at on the outside but inside was surprisingly nice. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean and comfortable. I will definitely stay there again when I return to the area. Thank you.
2 out of 5
by Tom from Rochester, NY

Hometown disappointment

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: The period elegance in the lobby and mezzanine area. We got a replacement iron without delay.
Cons: Soundproofing, Extra attention to the continental breakfast dining room.
Location: We arrived late, so were not able to access much in the area, though there were some interesting bar/restaurants like Swifty's to enjoy.
Growing up around Utica, we were excited to experience the refurbished Utica Hotel. We appreciated the overall grandeur of the restored lobby and common areas, but the room was a disappointment. The AC unit was noisy. The room was adequate, but nothing special. The problem was the soundproofing, or lack thereof. We were awakened at 2 AM by the incredibly loud noise from the adjoining bathroom plumbing that wasn't much minimized by closing the bathroom door. Needless to say, our sleep was not restful. We had to return the iron and get a new one because the water compartment cap was missing. That was the easy part. Then at breakfast, either there weren't enough staff or they were overwhelmed by the numbers, but there really weren't that many folks eating. No one was clearing the tables, and practically every table had dirty dishes one had to either clear or eat around. Staff were restocking the continental breakfast, but not cleaning up after departed guests. All in all, it was not the elegant experience we expected for the hype and the money. Next time we need to stay in Utica, it won't be there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ronnie from New York

Surprisingly beautiful

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Pros: cleanliness
Cons: breakfast happened to be off that day
Location: lots of good restraunts, lots of history, Erie Canal
Pleasant atmosphere, helpful staff, the rooms were large and nicely decorated