Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Royal Oak,MI

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was excellent.
Everything was fine. Staff was very helpful., especially in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ms Meg

Relaxing, quiet hotel

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The location. It was in the woods, yet I would feel safe walking around by myself. It was quiet.
Checking in was quick and easy, hassle free! This hotel allows pets, and we were not stuck in smoking room! Our room was clean, welcoming & cheerful. After dinner we walked around the grounds, there was a pond with ducks & geese. The grounds were clean and well kept. We did not hear the other guests. It was quiet relaxing. Breakfast was wonderful! The service was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tami from maine

One night.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Cons: I had a room with only shower, I like to take baths.
Room was clean and staff was friendly. The turn down service was a nice touch.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: Staff was nice
Cons: Needs a face lift.
Location: Nothing.
It was not clear to me that this is really a motor lodge. Your front door goes out to the parking lot. I don't really like that and don't feel very safe in this type of lodging. Things are clean but not updated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Graceful setting and welcoming and helpful hosts

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Definitely worth a stop en route, either a break from the train or car between New York and Niagara Falls. This is a grand historic estate, with a more modern section of accommodation built on the grounds, down a lovely winding road with picturesque ponds and gardens separating the hotel area from the conference and main restaurant.building. The breakfast room is worth the trip itself, with a humming atmosphere full of locals meeting up, many seniors enjoying the local hopsitality and reasonable prices in a lovely light and airy room, and welcoming and happy country style service. If you arrive in Rome by train, best let the Beeches know what time you are arriving, and then someone will be there to pick you up from the station as a courtesy - withut fuss, and in a welcoming country style, you feel looked after straight away. There is no phone, and no staff at the Amtrak Station, and it is far too far to walk. Don't let the edge of town seting of the rail station put you off from visiting the Beeches - it is a world away from the semi-truck stop feel of the transport hub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Non-cookie-cutter motel.

Posted Aug 12, 2013
Pros: See above.
Cons: Wi-fi without asking for it but not a bother now.
Location: Erie Canal Village an interesting nearby attraction. Tour the F.W. Matt Brewery in nearby Utica.
An oasis of older motel charm in a desert of sterile modern chains. Obviously kept up from 60's heyday with modern fixtures and conveniences but retains the feel of a unique facility that actually cares about hospitality without being obsequious. Very quiet and clean with a delightful restaurant and park-like grounds. Prices were competitive with chain motels. Very helpful staff (provided Wi-Fi router on request even though each room has ethernet cable). Pairs up with an impressive conference center across a pond and up a hill but no conflicts in service or attention (or noise). Not many of these types left.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Acceptable Basic Room in Nice Setting

Posted Aug 20, 2012
Pros: Pretty scenery and pleasant service. Glad they did have microwave and fridge also.
Cons: Bed was not the most comfortable or luxurious but was okay, room a bit small and microwave was small also but at least they did have one.
Location: Just about 10 minutes outside the city of Rome, NY so was easy to get back into town for shopping or sight seeing.
Stayed only one night as we extended our stay and had to get a room quick. This hotel is just outside of Rome but not more than a ten minute ride and is a rural location. The hotel is more of a motel style (single floor side by side rooms) but it was acceptable, just an older establishment that could use some updates and repairs. Still, for the price and the beautiful surroundings it was a good option at the time. I would have liked to be in a room facing the Beeches conference center building (with ponds, fountains and geese) but instead we were placed in the back section facing the highway. I heard that the restaurant at the Beeches is great although we didn't get to dine there. We did eat breakfast in the the area provided at the hotel area. It was good food at reasonable prices and even though the place was very booked up and many taking the opportunity to eat breakfast there, the wait to get served was not bad at all.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by JW from Adirondack Mountains, New York, USA

Good Value, clean accommodations....

Posted Jun 19, 2012
Overall, decent accommodations. Housekeeping staff do an excellent job at hospitality....even turn down service....a little word to the wise, use the"do not disturb" if u wish not to be woken up by an eager housekeeper.....Overall, very happy with the stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from middletown ny

enjoyed our one night stay

Posted Nov 14, 2011
Location: do not know
will stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TExas

too much money for an old space

Posted Sep 27, 2011
dated; quality of La Quinta chain; stale cigarette smoke stink in the hallways; very nice grounds; very nice dinner specials at great price in the conference center dining room; good location for where we were visiting.