Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Room was clean & pleasant. Staff turned down bed @ night.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Staff was friendly and accomodating.

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Pros: Good location for my needs
Cons: See above
Location: Neither Rome nor Utica have any inherent charm or memorable buildings. I went there to run the Boilermaker, the largest 15k race in the USA.
The room was clean but small, the bathroom very tiny and cramped. The entire hotel is in need of and update. Since the grounds are wonderful, updated rooms with larger windows and baths as well as a lighter touch would really make this place much more appealing - it still has a last century motel feeling, without any charm.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Nice motel. Beautiful setting. Avoid Room 33!

Posted Jul 16, 2015
Pros: Reasonable price for a sell-out weekend like Boilermaker. Turn-down service. Friendly staff. Gorgeous setting. Large room. Nice bathroom.
Cons: Glass in outside door has a cheap, white Venetian blind which does nothing to keep out the bright light which shines in all night long. Kept me awake
Visited on Boilermaker weekend and not too, too far from race course. Nice large room -- 2 queen beds, but it smelled damp and was right off lobby. AVOID Room 33! There are three doors inside the room leading to two other adjoining rooms and to the sometimes-noisy lobby. Yes, the noise travels through. Neighbours had a yappy dog. Glass in main door means the room not darken-able. Bring your eye-masks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very quaint older property.

Posted Jul 12, 2015
Pros: Quaint, not cookie-cutter.
Cons: Breakfast service time.
Different from a chain hotel in a good way. Very clean. Well-maintained. Breakfast was not included with the room however it was very reasonably priced. The room had a refrigerator and a microwave which was a very welcome bonus. Only complaint is that service for breakfast was EXTREMELY slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from rural PA

Very nice area quiet in wooded area

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: friendly staff, no traffic noise, close to city but seems like country
We enjoyed our stay very much, The rooms are small and provide basic needs
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Like the hotel from the Shining, but more run down

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Water stains, a drape from the seventies that looks like fire retardant material, a tv from the nineties, no wireless internet, few outlets. And then the power went out: no backup generator and zero attempts at customer service to help us with the blackout. Just terrible.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Royal Oak,MI

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was excellent.
Everything was fine. Staff was very helpful., especially in the restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ms Meg

Relaxing, quiet hotel

Posted May 28, 2014
Pros: The location. It was in the woods, yet I would feel safe walking around by myself. It was quiet.
Checking in was quick and easy, hassle free! This hotel allows pets, and we were not stuck in smoking room! Our room was clean, welcoming & cheerful. After dinner we walked around the grounds, there was a pond with ducks & geese. The grounds were clean and well kept. We did not hear the other guests. It was quiet relaxing. Breakfast was wonderful! The service was excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by tami from maine

One night.

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Cons: I had a room with only shower, I like to take baths.
Room was clean and staff was friendly. The turn down service was a nice touch.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: Staff was nice
Cons: Needs a face lift.
Location: Nothing.
It was not clear to me that this is really a motor lodge. Your front door goes out to the parking lot. I don't really like that and don't feel very safe in this type of lodging. Things are clean but not updated.