Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location!

Posted Jan 3, 2015
We were in town for a wedding. The location was great, room was clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was DELISH!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wendyfrom Eugene, OR

Beautiful decor but service needs more detail

Posted Nov 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is a beautiful property and the rooms are decorated in true Victorian style. There were a few problems. The tea things were laid out in the lobby but the water was lukewarm and there was nowhere to heat it. Half and Half would be lovely in the mini fridge as well. The king bed was an air bed and half of it kept losing air and had to be reblown up several times. The breakfast was good but not superior. One of the best part of our visit was our hostess. We had a wonderful chat about the world and local politics and we liked her very much. This way my second stay. It is quite interesting to stay in a B&B right out of the Victorian Era. Getting totally comfortable there is another story. Still, would recommend the experience.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Janfrom Vermont

Okay but not great

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
This B & B is okay; adequate. It fit the bill for a place to stay for two days while visiting but it's not one I'd return to. Overall it's just a little old and needs some work. No choice in what to have for breakfast and the food was only okay--re-heated and not hot enough. The claw foot tub in the bathroom was very difficult to get in and out of and the after-market shower addition is not well designed. It would be very hard for many people to navigate. No TV in the rooms meant it was just not as comfortable a place to stay. The neighborhood is okay but not great. This is not one I would recommend or use again.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Huntsville, Al

Awful neighborhood

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was wonderful. The rooms were very quiet.
Cons: I would make bathrooms nicer with showers, toilets, fix the windows, better a/c. Better TV with extended cable.
Location: Only restaurant in town worth visiting that we found was Del Monico Italian Steak house. Fantastic service, great food, good prices.
The owner's were very nice and made a wonderful homemade breakfast. They were hard to connect with and did little to cultivate a relationship. In my opinion, they need to cultivate relationships to make this experience is worth it. The property is in a very slummy part of the city. I was concerned about my vehicle outside. The room was very nice and comfortable. The window was undersized for the room and had a hard time keeping up and it was not very hot these days. The bathroom was very large but had an undersized toilet and a small antique tub that was nice, but impossible to take a shower in due to the wrap around curtain. Won't be a problem if you are a small person. A window was propped open with a piece of lumber and the window frame appeared rotten. This made the bathroom a little damp and allowed some street noise in. The TV operation was a little difficult to understand with extremely basic cable with very few choices. The house was very quiet and we were not disturbed at all with other quest noise. The place was full with some families yet still it was very quiet and could not even tell anyone else was there. This is a BIG plus compared to some B&B's. I feel it was a bit overpriced but it was a huge event weekend which may have raised the rates. If I were staying in Utica again, I would not shy away from this B&B but I would look and consider other properties including nicer hotels just to make sure there were not other options.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Robert

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Marcus

Not What I was Hoping For

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: It looked nice.
Cons: Internet. If you have to access the internet while you travel, don't expect to do it here. Pages loaded incredibly slow and forget about uploading.
Everything was a little less than I expected. Breakfast was uninspiring, but decent. No one was ready for us when we arrived. We were given a room with known internet issues, and never informed. The shower was simply awful, lovely club foot tub with a small hanging shower enclosure that clung to me and I never felt clean. The faucets were on the outside of the enclosure, so you had to get out with the shower still running. There was nowhere to put soap or shampoo except on the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chrisfrom Oregon

Not much to do

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was visiting New Hartford and Utica to research family history. Otherwise, there wasn't much to do in the area in April
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Regular NY State Travelerfrom Cleveland, Ohio

Wonderfully pampered, authentically historic..

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
My hosts couldn't have been better, staying at a hotel seems silly when this is available. Room was warm, luxurious and actually romantic. Price was same as a Hilton, and about two stars higher in quality. Home-made breakfast in mansion dining room...All I could think was "Aaaah, this was nice."
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Pfrom South

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked a queen ...got a double. The room was not big enough for a queen. No ice or TV in room. Hostess was nice, food was good. The whole B&B needs updating. Could be a great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by GHfrom Canada

A beautiful B&B

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a pleasure to stay in a Victorian B&B in Utica -- a great surprise.