Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Huntsville, Al

Awful neighborhood

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The breakfast was wonderful. The rooms were very quiet.
Cons: I would make bathrooms nicer with showers, toilets, fix the windows, better a/c. Better TV with extended cable.
Location: Only restaurant in town worth visiting that we found was Del Monico Italian Steak house. Fantastic service, great food, good prices.
The owner's were very nice and made a wonderful homemade breakfast. They were hard to connect with and did little to cultivate a relationship. In my opinion, they need to cultivate relationships to make this experience is worth it. The property is in a very slummy part of the city. I was concerned about my vehicle outside. The room was very nice and comfortable. The window was undersized for the room and had a hard time keeping up and it was not very hot these days. The bathroom was very large but had an undersized toilet and a small antique tub that was nice, but impossible to take a shower in due to the wrap around curtain. Won't be a problem if you are a small person. A window was propped open with a piece of lumber and the window frame appeared rotten. This made the bathroom a little damp and allowed some street noise in. The TV operation was a little difficult to understand with extremely basic cable with very few choices. The house was very quiet and we were not disturbed at all with other quest noise. The place was full with some families yet still it was very quiet and could not even tell anyone else was there. This is a BIG plus compared to some B&B's. I feel it was a bit overpriced but it was a huge event weekend which may have raised the rates. If I were staying in Utica again, I would not shy away from this B&B but I would look and consider other properties including nicer hotels just to make sure there were not other options.
2 out of 5
by Marcus

Not What I was Hoping For

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: It looked nice.
Cons: Internet. If you have to access the internet while you travel, don't expect to do it here. Pages loaded incredibly slow and forget about uploading.
Everything was a little less than I expected. Breakfast was uninspiring, but decent. No one was ready for us when we arrived. We were given a room with known internet issues, and never informed. The shower was simply awful, lovely club foot tub with a small hanging shower enclosure that clung to me and I never felt clean. The faucets were on the outside of the enclosure, so you had to get out with the shower still running. There was nowhere to put soap or shampoo except on the floor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Chris from Oregon

Not much to do

Posted Apr 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was visiting New Hartford and Utica to research family history. Otherwise, there wasn't much to do in the area in April
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Regular NY State Traveler from Cleveland, Ohio

Wonderfully pampered, authentically historic..

Posted Feb 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
My hosts couldn't have been better, staying at a hotel seems silly when this is available. Room was warm, luxurious and actually romantic. Price was same as a Hilton, and about two stars higher in quality. Home-made breakfast in mansion dining room...All I could think was "Aaaah, this was nice."
3 out of 5
Recommended
by P from South

Posted Oct 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
We booked a queen ...got a double. The room was not big enough for a queen. No ice or TV in room. Hostess was nice, food was good. The whole B&B needs updating. Could be a great place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by GH from Canada

A beautiful B&B

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
It was a pleasure to stay in a Victorian B&B in Utica -- a great surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Betsey from Maine

Convenient for personal business

Posted Aug 8, 2013 on Hotels.com
Lovely facility, friendly and helpful hosts, congenial other guests, very nice breakfast
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Female from Utica, NY

Mother visiting to watch a college baseball game

Posted Jun 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
I was a single female traveling to watch my son play a college baseball game with a nearby college.I booked online based on the picture and reviews. When I got to the hotel, I was scared to drive into the parking area in front of the hotel. The surrounding neighborhood ,specifically in front of the hotel had "homeless" looking people hanging around staring at my car. I felt VERY unsafe. I called the hotel multiple times to talk to the owners and no one answered their phone no one called me back. I left messages and waited for them to call me at a nearby cofffee shop for about 1.5 hours but no one called back. I had no choice but to find another hotel in another part of town. The pictures regarding the clanliness and maintenance of the hotel appear to be VERY misleading. The neighborhood appeared VERY UNSAFE and the management VERY unresponsive.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rosemont

Posted Jun 12, 2013
Pros: The inn is very Victorian.
Cons: Customer interaction.
The Inn is lovely. My room was nicely decorated. There wasn't anything in the front hall or room about the local area - where to eat or what to see. The host gave me a quick run down of some places to eat. It would have been nice to have a map of where to find the places. In the morning when I went down for breakfast, I could find anyone. When the the other guest came down, the hostess came in the diningroom, offered coffee. When I asked for tea, I was told that it was in the front hall & that she would get me some. The meal was good. The host & hostess/owners were not very engaging. Staying in a B&B is about connecting with people. The other guests were delightful. The host & hostess/owners did not chat with us but were more like staff. Too bad because the inn is delightful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Judy from Minneapolis

Posted May 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Rosemont was clean and the owners friendly, although we didn't see them much as we arrived, left for dinner, then went yo bed. There was a nice breakfast in the morning and the room was very cozy and the place was well furnished, quaint and clean with tea served in the lobby.