Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Hobart

Quiet and peaceful. Close to the centre of town.

Posted Jul 13, 2014
Pros: Free wifi, balcony, lift as well as stairs, bath tub.
Cons: I would love it if the hotel provided a coffee plunger in the room.
Location: The Dom Tower, cafes, bookshops, canal tours, etc. while Utrecht Station connects you easily to the rest of The Netherlands.
The hotel itself is very appealing and its quiet leafy surroundings make for a very pleasant stay. The service and the room were both excellent. The bus is very close and makes trips to Utrecht station regularly but it is an easy walk to the Dom Tower from the Malie Hotel. Would definitely stay there again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Sharon van der Burgh, Hotel Management
Dear Nadine, Thank you for your nice five star review! We highly appriciate your kind words. We certainly hope to see you again in the future! Kind regards, Sharon van der Burgh Assistant Manager Malie Hotel Utrecht
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Quiet hotel within walking distance to city center

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Extremely friendly staff. Very quiet room, quiet neighborhood. Still only five minutes to cafes and restaurants and 15 minutes to downtown walking.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2014 by Sharon van der Burgh, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review. We highly appreciate your kind words. We hope to see you again in the future!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Despite the rain....

Posted May 28, 2014
We were so glad to find friendly, professional staff and a very comfortable room. We didn't have a car, and it rained on and off the whole time we were there, but the location of the Malie meant we could get out to shopping and sight seeing whenever the weather permitted.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2014 by Sharon van der Burgh, Hotel Management
Thank you for lovely review. We do hope to see you again in the summer for example, so you can enjoy the sunny Utrecht with the terraces along the Old Canal! :) Kind regards, Sharon van der Burgh
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a quiet neighborhood

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Clean comfortable room with upgraded bathroom. Free wifi.
Location: Very quiet neighborhood somewhat removed from the city center
Very Helpful staff. They went out of their way to assist us order in a takeout meal when sick.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 10, 2014 by Sharon van der Burgh, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are happy to hear that even you were sick, you've enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Hope to see you again, so you're able to enjoy the city as well!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Malie Hotel Utrecht

Posted May 16, 2014
Pros: Very clean room.
Hotel in walking distance of old city. In nice and quiet neighborhood.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 11, 2014 by Sharon van der Burgh, Hotel Management
Thank you for the four stars you've given us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Quaint and comfortable, friendly staff

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Pros: Nice quiet simple place to stay. Very comfortable.
Location: Conveniently located in Utrecht within walking distance of most of the city but in a quiet neighborhood.
Nice hotel quietly located on a quiet street. Convenient for walking around town. Cozy and freindly.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2014 by Sharon van der Burgh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind words and for the amazing five stars!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Tom from Worcester, MA USA

Great bed Good location No breakfast No parking

Posted Apr 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The bed was one of the most comfortable I have slept in with a foam top on the mattress. The location was within walking distance of the central square but we never found it, The breakfast is 10 Euro extra, a bummer. The parking is another 20 euro a day. We parked on the street and got a ticket for an unknown sum. We will find out after Dollar rental tacks on their fee. No signs to indicate any issue but there was.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Sharon van der Burgh, Hotel Management
Dear Tom, Good to hear you appreciate our MLine beds in the renovated rooms! The costs for the breakfast are € 16.00 per person indeed and in case we do have parking permits available at the desk (we only have a limited amount of permits) the parking costs are reduced to € 12.50 per day. If these permits are not available any more it is possible to buy a ticket at the machine for approx. € 23.00 a day. It is necessary to get a permit or a ticket, since it is a paid parking area around the hotel. Kind regards, Sharon van der Burgh Assistant Hotel Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marion from Aberdeen

Central hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Central
Cons: Beds were very soft.
Location: Central
Booked hotel as attending conference at Children's hospital and university,hotel was short walk to bus.Breakfast was served but no other meals available at hotel,but lots of lovely restaurants just a 10 minute walk away in the centre of the city
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 16, 2014 by Sharon van der Burgh, Hotel Management
Dear Marion, Thank you so kindly for your lovely review. We do hope to see you again when you have to visit the WKZ or the University. Kind regards, Sharon van der Burgh Assistant Hotel Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DT from Yorkshire, UK

Enjoyable stay...couple of niggles...

Posted Jan 5, 2014
Liked the style of this hotel and our balcony room was nice...aside from being freezing when we arrived! Later we found one of the pillows smelled strongly of BO and there was gunk clogging up the sink. Staff are lovely...pleasant and helpful. Got charged for four breakfasts when we had none...it was immediately refunded when I pointed out their error. Bought a bottle of sparkling wine before we went out one evening...I asked what they had and they said just one bottle. It said Processco on the bottle but, when we found it undrinkable a Google told us it was a €6, 10% frizzante...really the worst €37 I have ever tasted. Should have complained but went and got a €25 bottle of fair champagne from the offie. So, great location for us and balcony was pleasant...be great in summer. We would stay again as we're forewarned and forarmed about the niggles.