Ratings based on 387 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom St Annes, UK

Good value for money hotel in expensive resort.

Posted Mar 5, 2015
Pros: Cost, location
Cons: Only two lifts service the hotel, they are old, slow and for some reason seem to be permanently occupied by cleaning staff. Internet needs modernising
Location: 5 minute stroll to Lionshead and gondola / chair mountain access. Very frequent shuttle bus service to Lionshead and Vail villages operating nearby.
As a single skier I'm used to some pretty awful cramped hotel and chalet rooms. My room however was huge, 2 double beds, armchair, desk, loads of hanging space and drawers. A good sized bathroom with the absolute necessity of lashings of hot water. Room was clean and the beds comfortable, heating thermostat kept the room at the temperature I like. The room was advertised as having wifi and ethernet connection, however, wifi was not usable as signal was so poor and the ethernet port did not work at all. Although I complained about lack of connection, nothing was done to fix it. Even the wifi in the lobby was of fairly intermittent quality. It would have been better if the hotel charged for a good internet connection, rather than give away a non-existent one. I booked a room with a mountain view as I did not fancy looking out over the freeway. However, the mountain view looks out over a hospital where when it snows, they begin snow ploughing the car park at 5 in the morning - the glazing does nothing to suppress the noise. Car parking at the hotel is free. Altitude Bar is ok but there are far better drinking and dining locations in Lionshead and Vail just a few minutes away on the regular shuttle buses.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Def would recommend the location! The hotel is little outdated and the rooms need to be upgrade but that is the price you are paying for.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Marin, California

Close to lifts but very tired decore.

Posted Feb 22, 2015
The only positive aspects of the lodge is it's proximity to the Lionshead lifts (1 shuttle stop away) and price but the overall appearance of the hotel was a little bleak. Our room facing the highway was dark, in need of a renovation, and a little smelly. It might have been the cleansers the cleaning crew used or just old carpeting. 2.5 star at best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Esta muy bien ubicado

Posted Feb 6, 2015
Es un hotel viejo, le falta un poco de mantenimiento, esta muy bien ubicado
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel in a good location in extortionate Vail

Posted Jan 22, 2015
Good hotel, good staff, good value in comparison
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Temple, TX

Good location

Posted Jan 21, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: A little dated
Nice convenient location to Vail and Lionshead Village. Nice restaurant/pub in hotel. Staff friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel is in the center of Vail

Posted Jan 15, 2015
This hotel was great for the price. It has a cool bar downstairs with great food. Also it is exactly 5 mins walking distance to both Lionshead and Vail village. Me and my fiancée had a great time.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

If would had been OK if it wasn't for...

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Location
Ok, the hotel by itself is OK, specially for the price and location; it is near to lifts and restaurants. On the other hand, we had a situation that wasn't pleasant to us; one of the persons from our group lost a pair of headphones (Beat studio wireless/brand new). The "funny" thing was that when this person realized that she didn't had her headphones, we asked to the receptionist if somebody had turned back the headphones to them, they said that they did not have them, after that, one of the other persons from our group heard what was going on and said that they had turned back a pair of headphones the night that we did the check in. Of course, the receptionist in turn the night the headphones got lost, was not the same person that we were asking if they had something in their "box of lost things". They actually confirmed that other people was working that night and call them to ask them about the headphones to which they responded that nobody turned them back to them. Lame!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: front desk staf
Location: Good
Hotel ok, but very nasty staff. Not helpful at all, especially front desk service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Lovely hotel. We especially liked the the altitude Bar and Grill