Ratings based on 212 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.8 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
2.9 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The only reason to stay here is to save money.

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Central location,
Cons: Buy new beds, sheets, towels
Room was warm and bed was old and soft. There was hot water
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walls are paper thin

Posted Mar 17, 2014
The walls are paper thin. I could hear the people in the neighboring room just talking at a normal level. Also you are right next to the highway. So you get to hear cars all night long. For 190 dollars I except better sound proofing.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

The roof leaked. The linen did not feel clean.

Posted Mar 14, 2014
Pros: The price in location relationship to Vail.
Cons: The entire building needs so much work it would be easier to knock it down and have it rebuilt.
Location: Ski
Oh yes, the roof leaked. The roof leaked. The roof leaked. The roof leaked. The roof leaked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kelly from Snowmass, CO

Most affordable hotel in Vail during peak season

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Plenty of hot water and the cold water was ice cold.
Cons: The whole hotel could use a remodel. The rooms are tiny and the beds are even smaller!
Location: On the bus route to Vail & Lionshead Village, takes about 20 min to take the bus to/from the mountain. Skiing, shopping, restaurants are easy access
We live about 2 hours from Vail and were trying to meet a friend who was coming in for a conference for the weekend. The Roost is the most affordable hotel (although it is by no means cheap) in the entire area, for good reason. The hotel is pet friendly but when I tried calling to find out if there was a fee, there was no answer and I could not leave a message. I e-mailed but there was no response. When I finally got through 3 days later, I was told there was a $50 pet fee, but I may not be charged, depending on who was working. I decided not to bring my dog. Upon arrival, the rooms are tiny and the largest bed they have is a double/full, not a queen. The room was barely big enough for the bed, TV, table with 2 chairs. The hotel is definitely old and tired. We paid for Friday and Saturday night in a room that anywhere else would have been less than 1/3 the price we paid. It offers free parking and is on the bus line which made it a little more convenient. It is the most affordable thing in the area and hopefully you'll be out on the mountain most of the time, not in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect for a quick trip to Vail

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Cheap and easy! A quick shuttle ride to the gondola. If your on a budget stay here. It was clean and the beds were comfy.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from Fayetteville, Arkansas

Best prices in Vail. Friendly staff. Convenient.

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: Cheap, cable TV, hot tub, right in Vail.
Location: Awesome location. Shuttle right up the street that takes you to Vail. Grocery store and food nearby (same side of highway).
It was good. Nothing fancy, but I saved hundreds of dollars. My girlfriend wasn't with, but if she ever comes.. I will probably have to dish out at least twice as much money to stay somewhere else where she will have more luxuries. I ride hard and sleep hard. The Roost is a favorite with me and my buddies because we're cheap and we aren't here to be fancy. Just ski/ride and sleep. Most of the staff is good. There was a foreign guy there this time that was kind of clueless about how to work the hot tub and didn't really seem to care. Patrick and the other lady were awesome.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by jessica from clay springs, az

Located next to Vail skiing

Posted Jan 8, 2014
The location was nice, can walk a few minutes to the bus stop. They had a friendly staff and nice little coffee area with muffins and bagels in the morning. The room was teeny and the bed was very old and sagged in the middle, not cfortable at all. :( this was the cheapest place to stay in Vail so if you don't mind a crummy bed, it was probably worth the stay.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Brian

Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was friendly breakfast was as advertised, the hotel was in a great location and the shuttle was close by. However, the room was small the wifi worked at a crawl and even though daily maid service was a listed amenitie I was the only person who entered my room for 5 days. With a daily rate as high as it is in ski season I expected more service and a cleaner establishment
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from albuquerque, new mexico

Stay at Roost Lodge

Posted Dec 29, 2013
The price was the most reasonable in Vail. The room was somewhat comfortable, but could not get the shower to work. I was told the water pressure was not high enough to push the water through! We were there for only one night, and this hotel did the job!