Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 20, 2014
Great attention to customer care. Ryan - the evening manager Saturday evening offered superior service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice facilities close walking distance Vail

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Great location
Location: Great walking distance to shops and restaurants
Enjoyed all facilities and staff very hospitable .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palisade, CO

Nice, but nothing special.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: It was a nice place. The staff was friendly. Our little room had a small balcony that you could sit on.
Cons: For the money, the room was small. It was nicely furnished, but nothing special. I recently stayed in a better room at a Super 8 in Fort Collins.
Location: Good. near bike trail and gondola up the mountain.
We went for the 4th of July weekend. The location was good. Everything in Vail is pretty close-in. The weather and fireworks show were great! This was probably a pretty peak summer weekend there. Everything in Vail is expensive, so we figured we would have to pay over $200/night. The Marriot was rated high, so we booked there. Once taxes were tacked on, it came to $273/night. Oh, but there is also a 'resort' fee of $15/night during the summer ($30 in the winter). You have to pay this directly to the hotel upon check-in (why don't they just bundle it into the total price?). Oh, it turns out, they had valet parking. Nothing unusual there, except, guess what? It's mandatory at $21 extra per day (plus tips). They also had to store the bikes that we brought along. Once they had our car, we had no access to it. Everytime we found we had left something in the car that we needed (hat, water bottle, tire pump, etc.) we had to have someone fetch it out of our car for us. This took about 10-15 minutes each time. Highly inconvenient. They slipped the bill under our door on the second night. It showed that we had been charged for the resort fee and valet parking, about $75. Okay, but when I got home, they actually charged $116. So I don't yet know what the additional costs were so will need to call and find out. Granted, Vail is the playground for the rich, so most people are not going to blink an eye at the costs. We live in Colorado and thought it would be fun to check it out once.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by V3STG from UK

Great hotel, great resort.

Posted Apr 20, 2014
Lovely hotel, great rooms, lovely staff and facilities (especially fantastic the associated Charter Sports ski hire & shop). Keep an eye on additional charges, breakfast is 47usd for two and there is a resort charge of 30usd per room per night as well as 30usd parking charge per night. No different to any other good quality hotel in the area I'm sure but worth considering along side room booking fee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Service inconsistent for a 4 star hotel

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: The ski shop was convenient and staff was very helpful. Hot drinks and cookie in the afternoon. Knowledgable and helpful concierge staff.
Cons: The beds were not very comfortable. Clean glasses that has actually been washed using a dishwasher.
Location: Central to everything. Bus top right in front of the hotel.
We just returned and had an enjoyable time. Housekeeping was very inconsistent. Little things like not having sugar packets and stirring sticks for the coffee restocked. I saw the cleaning person spray and wipe the glass cups in the rooms. I was not sure if it was with the same towel she used to clean the bathroom. Most places I've stayed at previously would actually exchange the glasses each day with clean ones. One evening the beds had not been turned and water stocked until we had returned from dinner which was late. Newspaper was available on certain days and not others. It was the small things that you would expect from a 4 star hotel that was lacking. The ski shop was excellent and it was nice to be able to store the skis there each evening.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2014 by Brian, Hotel Management
Dear Anonymous, Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your recent stay. We are glad to hear you had an "excellent" experience in our ski shop, we feel we have the best in the Valley! I am very sorry you experienced such inconsistent housekeeping service during your stay. Additionally , please be assured it is our standard to wash and replace dirty glasses each day. Please know I have personally shared your comments with our entire housekeeping team as we review our standard regarding this. I would certainly welcome the opportunity to recieve more specific feedback regarding your stay. If you have time you may contact me directly. Best Regards, Brian Hunt Director of Room Operations brian.hunt@marriott.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kris from Mpls

Nice hotel close to gondola

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Great location, great ski check ans shuttle service at the door.
Cons: The pullout sofa mattress was very worn and you could feel all the springs! The bedroom mattress was also dated and very uncomfortable.
Location: Marriott at Vail is close to shopping,restaurants,bars, shuttle and the ski hill.
Timberline Suite was spacious but room was very dark(on ground level 104). Room was also above the Ritz's delivery entrance so each morning between 7 and 9 you heard the air brakes and backing up beeping sounds from the trucks. The hotel staff were all pleasant and helpful. Housekeeping was slow with several days not having been in the room until after4pm when we are returning from the mountain. Kitchen was adequate was plates,cups, silverware along with large fridge/freezer and microwave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by adventurer from Key Biscayne, FL

Nice hotel close to the lifts and Lionshead square

Posted Mar 29, 2014
The hotel was great the amenities were excellent great bar great service. The only thing that was terrible was the housekeeping they never had shampoo never had soap and towels on the floor. They didn't clean the bathroom either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the slopes

Posted Mar 3, 2014
Small room and smaller bathroom although comfortable overall, on the down side cleaning was not thorough... On a crowded weekend, it was a good value.
3 out of 5
by Robin from Arkansas

Convenient hotel to skiing, but not worth price

Posted Feb 23, 2014
I am very familiar with Vail ski area. The location is great, but the hotel rooms are outdated and musty smelling. For the price, you can stay in a 5 star hotel that has much better service and amenities. You don't get the personalized service and charm when you stated here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to ski lifts.

Posted Feb 1, 2014
The hotel staff was friendly and always able to answer any questions I had. The hotel's location was convenient with a great view.