Ratings based on 238 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Expensive old hotel and below the Marriott standar

Posted Feb 23, 2015
In comparison to other Marriott hotels I stayed before, this one is too old and below the standards of the Marriott chain. It is too expensive for what the facilities offer.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Miami

Tired and very overpriced

Posted Feb 18, 2015
Pros: Unfortunately I have nothing positive to say about the hotel.
Cons: The hotel frankly needs a complete makeover. It looks tired and the amenities are not good.
This was the President's day long weekend, so the high prices were expected. However the hotel quality did not justify anywhere near the expense. The room was very tired, the view drab and the breakfast overpriced. The room was not even serviced for the first 2 days. The location is OK, however the 150 yards walk to the gondola becomes tiring with boots and skis. Vail is an excellent place to ski, however the Marriott was extremely disappointing, expensive and did not add positively to the experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom Mississippi

Family Ski Trip

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: Location and they stored skis for guest. Nice ski rental in bottom of hotel.
Location: Great location. Short walk to restaurants and shops in Lionshead.
I have been to Vail several times and this was first time to stay at the Marriott. Location was great with kids. Short walk to the gondola and restaurants in Lionshead. Nice ski rental shop in bottom of hotel. At the end of ski day, the hotel had a nice set up of hot chocolate with cookies for guest. The only complaint was the rooms were small for family of 4. Cramped with all the luggage.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Texas

Very Disappointed....

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Will never come back. Was treated very bad by the hotel manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Excellent bar area. Great ski shop too. Everyone very helpful and kind.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not worth the Money

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Expensive for the little you get. Not up to Marriott standards I am used to. Expensive breakfast I would prefer to go to The Ritz Carlton next door.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom nyc

Very Disappointing....

Posted Jan 2, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: They should offer free wifi and improve their housekeeping staff.
We booked the Marriott last minute as our usual hotel was unavailable. We've been coming to Vail for the past 5 years during Christmas and the location of the Marriott is fantastic. But it stops there. Our room was THE worst one (101) in the hotel and we had to wait over an hour (check in starts at 4:00 sharp). To say we were disappointed is putting it mildly. It faced the street and the lovely air conditioning unit and was loud as it was also next to a loading dock. Although the room itself was nice, fireplace and granite countertops. The bathroom had NO heat or radiant so taking a shower was unpleasant . We then asked to change rooms which they did but it was 3 days later. And it wasn't much of an improvement or ready so we had to wait over an hour in our ski gear (although we had received a call saying it was ready). The hot tub was tiny and for a hotel that size we were surprised. After a long day of skiing that is a great way to end the day but it was always crowded. One would think that they would have two or three outdoor ones available. The ski valet was great and the on site ski/boot storage was a plus. However, I felt that we were just a number here. They kept on trying to make all of the issues that we had go away with free drink tickets. You had to pay a fee to use their computer to print out boarding passes and to use their wifi. It just seemed in poor taste to me. We will not be returning here or staying at any Marriott.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Place to Stay!

Posted Dec 30, 2014
Pros: The convenience of this hotel was superb as was the number of internal facilities on site.
Cons: We enjoyed everything about this hotel.
Location: The location is great with easy access to all local shopping, eating. drinking, and ski lifts.
We had an outstanding time here. The local shuttle bus stops right in front of the hotel. (50 steps away) Which is nice when it's cold. The hotel is minutes from all the restaurants and shopping and ski lifts in the villages. The staff is super friendly and helpful and will usually answer your questions before you have time to ask.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Vail Marriott

Posted Dec 25, 2014
Pros: locatoin
Cons: bed comfort.
Location: ski valet at hotel. Close to lifts.
Good experience, the only thing I would say negative about the hotel was the beds were a little uncomfortable. Other than that it was a great vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom okiegirl

Comfortable hotel walking distance to ski

Posted Dec 6, 2014
It's located on the west end of Vail, but you can catch a free shuttle to the main Vail area. It's within walking distance of the ski lift, plus many shops, and restaurants. The hotel itself had many amenities provided but, everything did have a fee to it. The staff is very friendly, helpful, and pleasant. You can reach us equipment right there at the hotel in store for you every night which was very convenient.