Ratings based on 11 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by rr

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Chris from Toronto

I will be back!!

Posted Feb 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel was very comfortable. Staff was friendly and efficient. Location for access to Zermatt lifts was excellent - 100 meters to the base.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Dan from Ashburn, VA Jan 2014

Very Nice Hotel: 5-7 minute walk to train station

Posted Jan 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel. I was staying by myself so I had a very small quaint room. The only issue was that the room was very hot and could not control the heat so ended up having to open a window to cool it down. The bathoom was ok for me since I am 5' 7" tall but anyone else would not have liked the vaulted ceiling above you when showing. My head was touching the ceiling when showering. Not the end of the world but worth asking if your going to stay here and your 6' tall. I am assuming this is because I was on the top floor. I would recommend this for its overall great qualities including being quiet at night so you can sleep.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jenn from New York, NY

Cute rooms, good breakfast

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was spacious and well-decorated. The bathroom, however, was a bit small and shower was difficult to use at first. Breakfast was excellent! The hotel is located a bit far from the train station and central area but we enjoyed the walk. As we are not accustomed to nude spas, we did not use the one at the hotel but the pool and spa area looked very nice as well. Staff was welcoming and spoke English very well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Visitor Zermatt from UK

Good location for Sunnega access

Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com
Good location but hotel is in need of some refurbishing as it feels like a trip to the 70s, still nice service and very close to the train station and Sunnega ski area. Being older than it's surrounding hotels does make it cheaper and refurbishing the bathrooms (very old) shouldn't be too complicated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Bed…

Posted Jul 16, 2013
The only drawback was that the bed was 'twin' rather than double, other than that, splendid.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from Bournemouth

Cosy rooms and great staff

Posted Jul 4, 2013 on Hotels.com
If we had known how good this hotel was going to be we would have booked more than the one night. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. The room was a very good size and very cosy with wood panelled ceilings and rich, warm decoration. Indoor pool looked very inviting. The hotel is a five minute walk from the station and centre of town. Definitely going back to Zermatt and when we do it will be to this hotel for a longer stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A Fabulous Hotel!!

Posted Jun 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very friendly & helpful staff! Had a memorable stay at Alpenhof hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

NICE!!!

Posted Jan 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
Just a nice place to stay. Very nice people rooms are fun and very clean. Maybe the fact that you cannot control the heat in the room was a drag. As long as you keep the balcony door open to cool down the room you will be ok. Great spa and outside jacuzzi. Good ski room with boot heater in each closet nice touch in the morning before you go to ski. Just don't go ski in the Italienne side. We got stock there 1 night in a unconfortable hotel. They close the gondola for no reason ( nothing to do with the hotel) and if you dont have 700 euros to go back via taxi to zermatt you are done!!!! great hotel. We will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norway

Great hotel for skiing and relaxation

Posted Jan 20, 2013
Pros: Breakfast and SPA
Cons: Bed
Location: Perfect if skiing is the focus
Alpenhof Hotel may not be 5 star in all, but the short walk to the nearest lift, ski rent and ski bus, in addition to a very good breakfast and SPA made my stay very good in January 2013. With sun almost every day and good conditions on the slopes, the hotel may not be that important in determining that the week was fantastic. But sitting in the Sauna and steam bath every day to unwind an starting with the abundant breakfast made for a good start every day. The hotel is 50 yards from the Sunegga lift. And from this system you can access all other by means of travelling up and down mountains. At the same time it will take you 5 minutes to walk to the city center shops and restaurants. There is a very good dinner offer at the hotel as well. The one thing I noticed what that the mattresses are not very thick, and this may be my only thing I would have improved if I could. But all in all, if skiing is important, this is a very good and well placed hotel.