Ratings based on 28 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, UK

Good location but quite dissapointing standard!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Many things - the rooms, the service, the customer service, the bathrooms, the breakfast.
Location: The location is perfect!Everything is nearby. You are in the heart of Zermatt. 5min walk from the train station.2min to the museum, lifts&restaurants.
Hotel Helvetia is situated in the heart of Zermatt. Great location. But that is just about it..... Cheaper than most hotels, but still whoever owns it, needs a lot of updating. The rooms are small and dark. Very unpleasant feeling. The breakfast is quite "boring" for this part of Europe. We all know that Switzerland is one of the countries with the highest standard, so in my opinion the customer service should be almost if not the same. The staff feels hectic and like you are left on your own. We had to ask constantly for refilling for simple things - the toilet paper, tea sachets (they don't offer coffee sachets) and so on. They were quite friendly to us, but unfrotunatelly I was a witness of not so much friendliness towards other customers. Where is the rule "The Customer is the KING":) It is OK to stay there but not for too long. And better have a lot's of enetartainment ready, so you can be out of the hotel for most of the time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel close to amenities and quaint style.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: No lift would make staying on upper floors a little difficult
Good location for hiking and trip to mountains and summer snow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location, Location, Location & Affordable

Posted Jun 27, 2014
Pros: Location, Breakfast lady, Affordability
Cons: Better Wi-Fi access
Location: Matterhorn Glacier Paradise and too many other things to list.
Overall: An affordable 'crash pad' after hours of hiking/exploring in a very pricey/touristy area. Don't expect an amazing view but do expect a clean room, good breakfast, and convenient location in the heart of Zermatt. Pros: 1) The lady who serves breakfast was amazing; she also performs other job roles at the hotel/restaurant too. She was very cheerful and on top of things. 2) Location. 3) Affordable/ideal location in the heart of town if you're not worried about a view. Cons: 1) Wi-Fi was only available in the restaurant/lobby; couldn't use it from the comforts of my room. Good to know: No lift/elevator - didn't bother me but I could see where this might bother some who don't like stairs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Average stay. Nothing fantastic
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Classic Hotel

Posted May 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Classic hotel with with an older more traditional look. Very spacious room with a large flat screen tv but decorated with both modern and antique furniture.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by fred

Amazing location

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Cleaness
Cons: Staff
Perfect. Very clean room. Great for low budget. Lot of TV channel and free wifi
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sg

Nice hotel close to station with superb breakfast

Posted Apr 4, 2014
The hotel does not have elevator and hence need to carry heavy luggages as we came from Italy. However one of the male staff was very friendly and helped to carry up to my room. It's very nice of him and I appreciate it. Room was clean, cosy and have everything you need esp in the cold environment. Breakfast was good as well :) I m quite happy that I managed to experience two nights in this hotel
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Zermatt

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Hotel is in a prime location! Maybe a 5 min. walk uphill from the train station on the main street. The staff is very helpful with directions and recommendations. NO elevator which most people have commentated about. Our suitcases were large and the tiny, circular staircase was difficult to maneuver. Check-In is on what we would consider the 1st floor. Check out time is 11:00 and the suitcase area (to leave your suitcases) is not secured at the hotel. Or, you can go back to the train station and use the luggage lockers at your own expense. Breakfast is minimal. It looked like it was picked over and we ate at around 8:30 am. It did include breads, cereals, yogurt, and cheeses. You can cook your own hard boiled egg if you wish. Our room for 3 people was VERY small! Suitcases had to go on the floor and we had to scoot across the bed to get to the bathroom. We only found 2 working plugs for electricity and 1 lamp was out. It did have a lovely balcony that overlooked the town but you share it with the neighboring room. No way to control our room temp as it was only heat, which was too hot, or open the door to the balcony which made it noisy. There is a lovely old church very near and the church bells ring often which is quaint but they ring til late and start early the next morning. Old furniture and dated hotel. The bed for the 3rd person was a chair that folds out to a twin bed. Not very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Joshua W from Chicago, IL

Great Central location in the Heart of Zermatt

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I got in and found the hotel room very neat and clean. The rooms are a bit small but we expected this in a ski town for such a great price. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful and the staff at the restaurant on the 1st floor was very kind each morning we came down. Our 3rd floor room had a wonderful balcony overlooking the busy Bohnhofstrasse and Gornergrat side of the mountain. LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! Can't say enough about it. Steps from three really great bars and Papa Gi's restaurant/pizzaria. Easy 10min walk (with gear) to either Matterhorn gondola or Gornergrat train. Loved the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Tv and Internet was not working. The room temperature control system is how much you leave the window open. Other wise everything was as expecting.