Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ralph Lafferty from Corte Madera, CA

Wonderful Boutique

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
My wife and I stayed recently for a baby moon and it was an amazing trip. The staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The hotel is situated a short walk from the busy town center (ten minutes) which gives it a nice feeling of tranquility. Views of the Matterhorn are incredible from the property. 5 star employees. Very clean and well appointed rooms with attention to detail and great products. The breakfast was top notch as well and they keep it out late for people that wish to sleep in. I would suggest to request a room in an upper floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Skiing

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Beautiful hotel with a view of the Matterhorn along with amazing skiing
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

good service

Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
good
1 out of 5
by Todd from Philadelphia, USA

Posted Dec 17, 2013
We didn't get to stay at the hotel. They put us in the wrong dates when we were not even on the continent and refused to change the reservation or give us a credit at the hotel. They kept our money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent cozy hotel!

Posted Oct 2, 2013
Cordial staff since lift us from the Zermatt station to hotel. Lovely and very comfortable room provide us a very good experience during the stay. I would like to recommend this hotel to every one.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachel from Cardiff

Walking in Zermatt

Posted Sep 17, 2013
Pros: The Hotel was more than I expected and I would look to stay there again.
Cons: I would have a mirror placed in the bedroom by the dressing table.
Location: The hotel was on the edge of the main town but it was a very pleasant 20min walk with wonderful views.
I booked to stay in the hotel during a walking weekend. On arrival we were greeted by the Hotel Taxi Man who was very enthusiastic and gave us a lot of information about walking and the sights etc. The Hotel was beautifully decorated and the Spa was very clean. The food was excellent as was the service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Goof hotel to stay

Posted Sep 16, 2013
Very good hotel in Zermatt with excellent staff, enjoyable stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by fran from Surrey, Uk

Lovely hotel with excellent staff.

Posted Aug 26, 2013
Pros: The staff, the chef, the design and saw a couple of pets staying. Lovely Spa.
Cons: Not great for unfit slobs who don't like walking up hill but they do have an electric car and will pick you up.
Location: Is close to the hamlet of Winklemattern, 15 mins walk into town, on the bus route, Zermatt has no end of shopping, restaurants and a lovely museum.
Really enjoyed our stay. Slightly out of town but lovely and quiet and a 15 minute walk into the centre. Very spacious and stylish room. Would come back in winter, definitely ski in if not ski out. Food in the restaurant was excellent as was breakfast, very good coffee and smoothies.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Dawn B. from San Francisco, CA

A Gem in Zermatt

Posted Aug 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
I have and will continue to highly recommend Hotel Matthiol. It was my first stay at the hotel and I couldn't have been happier with my choice. Although the hotel offers a pick up shuttle from the Banhoff to their location, I opted to make the mile trek through the town of Zermatt. I am glad I did...because the scenery is absolutely fantastic and I was able to absorb it all in as I made my way up to the hotel. I will say...if you are carrying a lot of luggage, I would opt for the shuttle. One thing to note...when I made the reservation, there was a note that if I wanted the shuttle I had to coordinate that with the hotel and inform them of my arrival time. That isn't necessary...there is a call box at the Banhoff which is connected to most of the hotels in the area. So you can just ring them up on your arrival and they will come down to pick you up. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. I enjoyed one of my favorite meals of my trip that evening in their restaurant. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly only adding to the overall charm of the hotel and the Zermatt experience. I am guaranteed to make my next visit to Hotel Matthiol, the next time I am in town.