Ratings based on 17 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Better options available

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Not much
Cons: State of rooms
Location: Zermatt is a neat little town to visit and the Matterhorn is impressive. Take the Gornergrat-Monte Rose Bahn.
It has been quite a few years since we last stayed at the Julen, and although our room looked basically the same as the last time we visited, it was not fresh. My pillow reeked of perspiration, and I left a note on it for the maid to replace it. She removed the note from the pillow and put the pillow in the closet with my clothes. It was not replaced. The mattress also felt as if it needed to be replaced. The front steps were in a state of decay with missing mortar between the bricks. In fairness to the property, the room has good space and plenty of storage space. The bathroom was clean with a nice selection of amenities. The bar area is very comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in Zermatt

Posted May 25, 2014
We enjoyed this hotel tremendously. We had a balcony over looking the Matterhorn. The room was large with plenty of storage space, the staff were friendly and helpful and the restaurants at the hotel were very good. All in all a wonderful experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Alexander from Moscow, Russia

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel !

Posted May 27, 2013
Excellent hotel. Rooms are clean, comfortable. Hotel staff are fery friendly. Breakfast is very good, plenty of food and lot of choices. Not far from the train station, I enjoyed the nice walk to the station. Also they have complementary pick up and drop off to and from the station. I will definitely with to stay there again and strongly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Haque from california

Posted May 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very helpful staff;Superb cuisine (5 course dinners for 35 franks and we had desert delivered to our rooms). Breakfast was excellent. Cozy room and our had a great view of the Matterhorn.Pickup and dropoff from train stations very helpful. Pool well done and a refreshing experience. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by David

Excelolent hotel in Beautiful Zermatt

Posted Jan 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Every aspect of the hotel was excellent. Only negative I had was the heat of the rooms at night, I found it hard to sleep and the pillows were to soft.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved it!

Posted Nov 10, 2012
Pros: the character and personality
Cons: none
Location: middle of everything
My favourite hotel ever! Been to 16 countries... people are so personal and great sense of humour
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 14, 2012 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kimberly

Delightful stay

Posted Jun 23, 2012 on Hotels.com
The Julen family is wonderful and the restaurant in the basement is very good and quite charming with a wonderful staff as well. Daniella was a great server as well. If you take a helicopter tour beware of the length of the flight. I paid for 30 minututes and we were only up for 21 minutes. Also make sure to request English narration of the flight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Aaron from Tel-Aviv

Pleasant hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2012
Pros: Great SPA area however in desperate need to change towels - they are almost antique
Cons: bathrooms look way to 90s
Location: 5 min walking distance to main street
The hotel has a great 17 meter pool and very nicely designed rooms. Stuff is friendly and willing to help. For the negative part is not the biggest selection for breakfast and some problems with internet speed and general connection.