Ratings based on 10 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Dave from Thames Valley, UK

Average hotel, tired decor, ripoff charges

Posted Mar 7, 2014
Pros: Staff were very friendly, beds comfortable.
Cons: Don't rip off your customers by hiding additional charges on the bill and indicating any additional costs up front. Fix the heating in the hotel.
Location: Courmayeur is a nice, pretty alpine village with good intermediate skiing. Would recommend the area highlynas an affordable ski resort.
Hotel is an average comfort ski chalet hotel, very tired decor, wood & fake wood everywhere makes it look like a set from an Inspector Clouseau film from the 70s. Rooms so hot that you could roast a chicken in them, with the thermostats not working so not a comfortable sleep. Good parking available (€15) but hotel is quite a way from the town & skilifts.We were also ripped off for €60 worth of additional charges (sauna) which we were told on checkin were available to us for free, & at no point we were told we would be charged even when we went into the facility. The sauna/wellness area is very poor, a nice outdoor pool but no changing facilitites, 2 of the 3 showers not working and the place generally quite tatty. We were not the only ones there with issues on our final bill, seems that a few people on our checki & /checkout were also disputing numerous additional charges on their bills too so be wary if you stay here. Breakfast also below average too. I even had to change 2 of the lightbulbs in the room myself (out of 3 lights) since they had blown. Overall an average hotel that I can't see why it has such a high rating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jack from England

Friendliest hotel I've ever stayed in.

Posted Mar 5, 2014
My stay at Gran Baita was absolutely fabulous. From the moment I walked in I was greeted by friendly staff and given all the information I needed for my ski trip right there at the front desk. The breakfast buffet was superbly varied and could accommodate for my large appetite early in the morning! Room was just what one person needs for a comfortable stay with a comfortable bed, great shower and a high standard of room service. There was a free shuttle to the slopes which basically revolved around you as you could request when you wanted to be picked up, either at the slopes to the hotel or vice versa. The evening bar staff were also very kind and social giving you a warm and cosy feeling. Overall a fantastic little hotel, I will be going back there one day next year!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jonathan from surrey

Charmed to death!

Posted Jan 19, 2014
Pros: The warm atmosphere, the helpful staff and the excellent spa facilities. The room was very comfortable - all you need after a hard days skiing
Cons: Speed of wi fi. The waiting staff at breakfast a bit supercilious.
Location: Slightly out of town and away from the Dolonne gondola but made up for by the prompt shuttle both to and from the lift
To arrive in a minor blizzard to a warm welcome when nothing is too much trouble , is the best way to start a holiday. The staff,especially on reception,could not do more to make my stay totally wonderful. Shuttle bus to the ski lift - here in a few minutes. Coffe in the lounge with cake after a hard ski - just what we wanted. Call the shuttle from the gondola -there shortly. The pool was a James Bond sensation , swimming out into the open freezing air with the mist rising,but fortunately no sharks - must be too cold! Breakfast an Italian speciality - thank goodness we were skiing and not swimming straight after otherwise a body might have been found on the bottom! And very good value for the high standard of accommodation . Although not dead central, everything is done to make it convenient. A definite place to return too
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from London

Nice hotel in Courmayeur, Italy

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: Convenience to center of town and hotel provided transportation to the ski area.
Location: Within 5-10 minute walk from the pedestrian only zone of Cormayeur, Italy. Hotel provides free transport to/from Courmayeur ski area.
Used this hotel for a short (4-day) ski break. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very varied and very nicely presented. Would stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

excellent

Posted Dec 25, 2011 on Hotels.com
We went there for the open air swimming pool, but it ended up just being the cherry on top! Nicest staff I've seen in a very long time, they helped us pull our car out of the snow, and made us feel at home
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mpls. MN

MUch more than expected

Posted Jan 31, 2011
Fantastic. This Hotel is a true gem, right under Monte Bianco. Great service, friendly, convenient, relaxing. Delivered a lot more than I expected.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from England

Stunning Views

Posted Jul 30, 2010
Hotel was booked on the basis of other Expedia reviews. The views from our room's balcony was stunning. Rooms were well furnished and really well maintained and clean. Breakfast was fine and typically Italian. Didn't try dinner although the menu looked good although their was no price which wasn't helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Perfect get-away. Amazing staff - high level of professionalism, very dedicated to ensuring our stay

Posted Apr 7, 2010
Would strongly recommend this hotel. Very classy. Very cozy. The staff were very helpful and dealt very gracefully with all our needs and special food requirements. Nice decor, particularly the lobby, and its log fire. Slightly off the beaten track but still within walking distance of town. Shuttle service available for free whenever you want to town or the slopes. Nice indoor/outdoor pool too!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from guernsey

exceptional service, great hotel

Posted Jan 1, 2010
Hotel staff really helpful and friendly, spotlessly clean room serviced twice a day with turndown service each night and chocolets on the pillow. Excellent breakfast and again waiter service was superb, worth thinking of half baord as food is very good ut can be expensive with current euro rate. great indoor/outdoor pool and sauna. hotel was almost exclusive to us before christmas and even when busy between christmas and new year servce was exceptional. would definately use this hotel and expedia again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from midlands

Long Ski Weekend

Posted Apr 5, 2009
Ideal hotel for short break, weekend skiing. Clean, comfortable and easy access to Courmayeur, although you need car or take advantage of courtesy bus (8:30am to 7:30pm, later?). Only complaints are the hotel is too hot and the bread at breakfast is stale. My complaint of being too hot was met with "thank you sir" - obviously did not understand.