Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.1 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
2.9 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from s

No air condition. Bad location

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Bad location. A lot of homeless. No air xonditioning, no clock.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cozy hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Hotel was cute. Close to downtown and Chinatown. Everything was good cept all the hobos. Although I found to be one of the safest areas in the city since the hobos don't attack they r just wierd. Great hotel for someone with a budget.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a good choose for a female!

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Nothing.
Location: It has the worse location ever... I didn't feel safe at all.
It was the first time I would not dare to go out and explore the city. The location of the hotel was disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Other reviews about right.

Posted Aug 17, 2014
The location is a bit long for walking in the summer heat, but the bus is almost at the door ($2.75), so you can avoid the less than savory neighborhood. E Hasting has an appalling situation like NYC decades ago if I can recall. Anyway, the staff is helpful and the bar is surprisingly nice too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler

Hotel convenient to downtown vancover

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: This hotel was well priced for its convenience to Gas town and Canada place and getting downtown.
This is a historic hotel in a skid row type area. Once inside though it is older it has a funky charm. It is very clean and maintained. You have to be able to accept the area to stay here. The staff are very friendly and informative. They helped us learn how to get around vancover very quickly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australian couple

Excellent staff.

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: the staff and value for money
Cons: the ventilation in the rooms but did have a fan
Location: good to walk from hotel to nearby Gastown Easy bus ride to downtown
Location handy to things but also supposedly the worst area for locals living on the streets. I wouldnt want to walk around at night on my own but didnt really feel threatened at any time. The hotel was very good value for the price , clean, safe and wonderful staff at reception ready to help you at any time!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Tennessee

Inexpensive hotel in an expensive city.

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The people.
Location: Near the waterfront.
This isn't a 4 star. But, the staff, breakfast, and bar are excellent. The front desk staff are exceptional.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from edmonton

room condition

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: what I like about the hotel is cheaper price with own washroom/bathroom unlike other hotel near downtown that they have shared bathroom/washroom.
Cons: better room condition. options to have a/c or not at a cheaper price.
Location: location is bad for guests especially the streets have drug addicts, you can smell them smoking, and also there are bystanders, unsafe for guests.
in the heat of summer, the hotel did not have air conditioned room from the room I stayed. it did not give any option if guest would like to have a/c or only electric fan available at a cheaper room price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

awesome motel

Posted Aug 5, 2014
it was a very nice motel with reasonable price. the room which I stay in was clean and comfortable. in addition, the staff was very kind.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Friendly hotel in dodgy area

Posted Aug 4, 2014
Pros: Staff very helpful, pub and brewery and meals handy. Saved going out for a feed and beer.
Location: Lots of homeless and dropouts around. Generally harmless and no hassle during the day. Didn't venture out at night...didn't need to.
Super helpful staff. OK safety-wise during the day, but lots of homeless and drug imparted people about. Clean but small rooms. Value for money