Ratings based on 248 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disappointed

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Pros: Staff very friendly and helpful.
Cons: restaurant not very good food for dinner.
Location: Very handy to the freeway.
pet charge is to high. we were charged 20.00 per pet, per night. my dogs together weigh less than nine pounds. Rooms are very thin walls, can hear all the noise from hallways and adjoining rooms.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to where we wanted to be at that visit

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: They allow dogs
Cons: Staff communication with their guests
Location: Close to malls and freeway
They neglected to tell us the hotel was undergoing renovations until a few days into our stay!!! They tried to move us to a dog room where the beds were really sacked out and very hard, and tried to say there were no other dog rooms available. They said the move was because of the renovations that a pipe could burst above us!! And then suddenly they did have a dog room available after I complained that I was not staying in the room they wanted to move us to. The chambermaids seemed to avoid our room because they claimed our dog growled at them, our dog is extremely friendly and I've never heard him growl and he wasn't left alone during the time the maids clean up the rooms, we were out with him every day several hours a day giving them plenty of time to clean our room. The room keys started not working kept having to get them to rekey and then the underground parking became inaccessible because of renos and they failed to communicate that to us
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nicole from Vancouver Island

Clean rooms, comfortable beds and bedding.

Posted Feb 16, 2014
Cheryl at the front reception desk was very welcoming and informative on the area. She offered great advice on our house hunting in the area. Rooms were also good, loved the bedding.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Front desk lady upon arrival was barely pleasant. We used this hotel for a place to crash after a New Years party. It was worth the bed (forewarning: the pillows are really really FAT, I tried to form it a bit flatter... not great success) but that's it. Place is really going downhill, rather disappointing, used to be so nice once upon a time...
3 out of 5
by Eric from San Antonio Texas

This hotel has seen better days

Posted Dec 31, 2013
Pros: In the end we had a great room but I doubt we would get it if we didn't protest. We got it because the hotel was empty.
Cons: They need a major upgrade to compete with the Holiday Inn Express across the street.
Location: Good location
The staff was wonderful. The hotel is old and needs a major upgrade. Across the street was a new Holiday Inn Express. They charged the same price but the hotel is new and you get a hotel full breakfast. The Holiday Inn Express parking lot as full all during our 2 week stay while the Coast Hotel only had 3 cars in the parking lots for most of our stay. The room we were given was pretty bad. The electric plugs wouldn't hold our electric plugs. The shower only had a drip - absolutely no pressure. The room was small and dingy. We demanded a better room. We were offered a better room but the curtains were off it's curtain rod and the show had no pressure. We pressed further and finally they gave us a decent room. It had a fire place and a separate sitting room and separate bedroom - it was very nice. Again the staff was very good - zero complaints there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jack from Powell River, BC.

Dog froiendly

Posted Nov 29, 2013
Pros: Very easy access from freeway and convenient location for vet hospital.
Cons: Unfortunately the restaurant and lounge were closed.
Location: Great location.
2 out of 5
by Ali from BC

A disappointing experience, but friendly service

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Our room had a funny smell so we asked to change rooms. On our way out of that room we noticed that the carpets were stained and some of the furniture had some very noticeable damage. The staff were friendly and accommodated our request without delay. We were put into the room across the hall. There was a different funky smell, stained carpets, but not as in poor condition as the last room. The drinking glasses had smudges on them and did not appear clean. Although the room was cleaned, it just didn't have that clean feel. We were not aware of the restaurant closure until our arrival, but there are many restaurants down the road. If we didn't have a car we may have been extremely disappointed with the extra costs for taxi fares to eat at the other restaurants. All in all we were satisfied with the friendly service, but disappointed in the room and lack of amenities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very clean hotel, quality staff.

Posted Nov 17, 2013
Restaurant was closed. No comp breakfast. A nice clean, safe hotel. No frills. Did not use the outdoor pool or hot tub.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Paul from Okanagan

Overnight Business Stay

Posted Nov 15, 2013
Pros: Close to Highway 1. Good area in Surrey. I did not have to worry about items left in my vehicle.
Location: A little off the beaten path if you are walking. With a vehicle, you are 5 minutes away from anything you may want.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NICE PLACE VERY CLEAN AND QUIET

Posted Nov 7, 2013
Pros: CLEAN AND QUIET
EXCELLENT PLACE TO STAY WOULD USE IT AGAIN